Interesting comparison

The Billings Method

Interesting comparison

My son has a friend who was drafted by Hawthorn last year. The young Hawk is a good friend of one of our recent draftees. I won't name either yet, for fear of causing trouble for one of them.

Somewhat foolishly, our bloke went on an obscure podcast with his hawk's mate and lamented the lack of intensity and workload he's experienced at Moorabbin. He claimed the standard was not what he expected as those itk suggested he'd struggle to keep up. He hasn't, adding that the senior players rarely hang around after midday and hardly any do extra work.

By contrast, the young Hawk complained that even the newbies were being flogged at training and the he, indeed, was struggling to keep up. Perpetually tired is how he described it. Interesting.

I hope our bloke realises that if I got to hear of his comments, someone else from the club did. Which they did. It was quoted on Saints TV for those who are interested in who it was, or doubt me. I suppose most of you would've worked it out by now. It is an insight as to what is wrong with our club. Then again, it might be a case of, "Out of the mouths of babes.........."

<1 week ban for baiting as this OP misrepresents the comments made>

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.

Re: Interesting comparison

So when you say draftee, a player that has never played AFL previously or trained at another AFL club? Just wondering what reference point the young bloke was using other than what his mate at the Hawks might have illustrated?

The Billings Method

Correct, Vortex. My point exactly. Who the F*** does this bloke think he is, dissing his team mates? Could be some truth in it, but stfu until you've proven yourself. I take it someone will have a friendly chat about it. If it hadn't been mentioned on Saints' TV, I wouldn't have believed it.

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.

The Billings Method wrote: Mon 26 Apr 2021 9:53pm Correct, Vortex. My point exactly. Who the F*** does this bloke think he is, dissing his team mates? Could be some truth in it, but stfu until you've proven yourself. I take it someone will have a friendly chat about it. If it hadn't been mentioned on Saints' TV, I wouldn't have believed it.
So come on, who is the player

Is he the same “son of a gun” running around for Sandringham like a chook with his head cut off?

An alternative explanation might be - it's what an extra $20 million in gaming revenue buys a club.

Sounds to me like you're shooting the messenger.

I don't care who he is. It sounds right to me.

Too many smoothies on Church Street. Too much flirting with the girls on Bay Street.

Get back to the ground and prove that you're serious.

MickThomas

What is Saints TV?

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

We're not fit so the young guy must be right.

So drafted by Hawks last year (Melbourne based) was either Seamus Mitchell (Bendigo) or Connor Downie (Eastern) - they were also 2 draftees from WA

None of our recent Melbourne/Victorian based draftees have come from those two TAC clubs

Allison (Calder) - 2020
Byrnes (Sandringham) - 2019
Connolly (Gippsland) - 2019
Bell (Sandringham) - 2019

Though that doesn't mean they cant be friends with those Hawk players ..... assuming of course that the podcasters are from Victoria

Finn McGuiness was a Hawks draftee in 2019 from Sandringham .... but TBM said drafted by Hawks last year

MickThomas

Saints TV have several videos.
I don't want to go thru all of them

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Didn't Blight say the same things as this draftee 20 years ago?
How fast are we supposed to catch up?

The Billings Method

Matt Allison.

The Billings Method wrote: Mon 26 Apr 2021 11:20pm Matt Allison.
Don't trust a fellow with two Christian names!
Especially when one is a female one. :oops: :shock: :?:

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Mon 26 Apr 2021 10:16pm Sounds to me like you're shooting the messenger.

I don't care who he is. It sounds right to me.

Too many smoothies on Church Street. Too much flirting with the girls on Bay Street.

Get back to the ground and prove that you're serious.
Correct whispers also on BF from Saints ITKs at just how “relaxed” this offseason has been down at Moor@bbin with lots of “half days” etc
It’s friggin obvious we are cooked after a half of footy
Corned and Loyd both just said it FC also - we could t go with Ess and had no hope against a fit hardened Port
We are NOT fit and Ratten needs to stop playing the “good uncle Brett” and grow a pair show some teeth ffs
Reason sides are killing us in uncontested ball is cause we can’t cover the ground to create option and run and we certainly can’t chase
I think this lot thought finals last year (in shortened games in an outlier Covid year) was just gonna happen this year utter garbage
Disgraceful to let our club and supporters down with sheer lack of effort and unprofessionalism
Don’t shoot the kid he’s done us a favour

Ahhhh ...... Saints with a classic Rope-a-Dope!!

Start the season slow get absolutely pounded and then gradually pick up the pace/fitness before finishing all over the top of the opposition after we sneak into the finals :twisted:

Can only assume the West Coast game was just a taster of what's to come 8-)

Might have to bookmark the above post ....... just in case

Devilhead wrote: Tue 27 Apr 2021 12:04am Might have to bookmark the above post ....... just in case
Yeah......we’ve won 5 quarters of footy in 6 games so best hurry up on the bookmarks.....should be fit enough to challenge at this rate by December....

Yeah I head a few whispers before the season started.

I heard something like 4 hour sessions, three days per week.

No more detail than that. Now that might be for specific players or something.. who knows.

SaintsTV went with it back after the Essington loss and I cursed because it was the third time I'd heard it.

There is something else as well but I dont have the info.

I cant shake the sense that something is well and truly rotten at Moorabbin at the moment.

bigred wrote: Tue 27 Apr 2021 12:11am I cant shake the sense that something is well and truly rotten at Moorabbin at the moment.

So, whose bright idea was it implementing a half-arsed pre-season?

Allison comes in and runs 8th in the time trial. Interesting to see the changes in the top 10 over 12 months. Aerobic capacity seems to mean more this year than ever.
McKenzie, Steele, Byrnes up - Hill, Butler, Battle down:

Jan-20 - Jan-21
1 Ed Phillips - Dan Hannebery
2 Doulton Langlands - Daniel McKenzie
3 Jack Sinclair - Jack Steele
4 Josh Battle - Jack Sinclair
5 Dan Butler - Sebastian Ross
6 Daniel McKenzie - Ryan Byrnes
7 Bradley Hill - Josh Battle
8 Seb Ross - Matthew Allison
9 Jack Steele - Bradley Hill
10 Jack Lonie - Dan Butler

MickThomas

Zebs match report on Saints App says Matt played mostly wing, collected an amazing 6 touches.
Is that a typo?

SAINT-LEE

I may be missing something...
1st year player b1tching about being required to be at club for the day?

Senior players have always spent 4 or 5 hours at the club and headed off, at every team in every major sport.
A few hours of work out & physio, a team/coach chat, a few hours team work out on field and head home 12-1pm. That's standard.
Do you think they're going to stay on field running around for 5 hours and "get fit"? That's how injuries occur.

The young blokes do skills in the arvo and position specific coaching.

Don't believe the b.s. go sit at a club...Tigers do it, they train 6 am - 12pm - 4 days a week when there's a 6+ day game gap or 3 days a week when there less than 6.

This whole "we're not fit" b.s. are you really buying it? So pathetic. They were fit enough against GWS and West Coast but "lost" fitness inbetween? Moronic!!!

Fitness isn't our problem - key player injury without depth ( a 3-5 year historical error), structures out of whack without these key players, loss of confidence in self & team mates, playing top teams when we ARE mid shelf, carrying a few slackers....

Young morons & old morons.

All the clubs are mostly aware of how each other train including fitness systems. Need to ask the club if we are training at half pace for a reason (unless of course this post is based on a furphy)

The Billings Method wrote: Mon 26 Apr 2021 11:20pm Matt Allison.
f*** him off.