AFL's top 100 earners. 100 to 51.

Re: AFL's top 100 earners. 100 to 51.

79: Brad Crouch
St Kilda
$625,000-$675,000
The Saints didn’t overpay to land Brad Crouch from Adelaide amid only mild interest from rival clubs. It is why the Crows didn't receive a first-round compensation pick in the free agency move last year. It’s flown under the radar, but he’s had a solid first half of the season with St Kilda and has proven to be durable, despite his injury issues at Adelaide. But we can safely expect changes to the engine room for next year.

77: Dan Hannebery
St Kilda
$625,000-$675,000
Hannebery’s career has been stuck at the crossroads all season, with the former Sydney midfielder unable to get out on to the park after another string of soft-tissue problems. The Saints have tried to mix up his rehabilitation program without success. Expect there to be serious talks about whether he wants to go on next year and what sort of settlement could be required. Sadly, the move hasn’t worked.

76: Jade Gresham
St Kilda
$625,000-$675,000
Been cruelled by injury over the past 12 months with a stress fracture in his back and then an achilles setback early in 2021. At his best, Gresham is one of the Saints’ most skilful and exciting forward half players and they’ve sorely missed his burst and nous around goals this season. Signed a four-year deal which locks him away until 2023.

57: Jack Billings
St Kilda
$675,000-$725,000
Big chance he changes teams next season as the Saints aren’t exactly banging down the door with another big contract. The goalkicking midfielder signed a lucrative contract in 2019 for two years but the Saints seem reluctant to hand over big dollars this time. He’s a nice finisher, but he finished outside the top-10 of the best and fairest last year from 13 games after placing fourth in 2019.

It makes sense to reach an agreement with Hannebery and he retires, and to let Billings go.

Where's Brad Hill on this list?

Toy Saint wrote: Sat 03 Jul 2021 6:00pm Where's Brad Hill on this list?
Still to come. In the top 50. (sad face)

gresham and billings should both expect a downgrade in salary to stay at the saints. we need to be careful with our salary to keep better players and attract new ones. no problem with crouch's pay. hill just needs to start playing like he is capable of to earn his, hannebury just needs to retire for the good of the club.

desertsaint wrote: Sat 03 Jul 2021 6:55pm gresham and billings should both expect a downgrade in salary to stay at the saints. we need to be careful with our salary to keep better players and attract new ones. no problem with crouch's pay. hill just needs to start playing like he is capable of to earn his, hannebury just needs to retire for the good of the club.
I have a news flash for you. Gresham and Billings ARE two of our better players. f*** me....shakes head.

when we offered gresham and billings those salaries we didn't have many around to strain our cap - going ahead we'll be paying more to retain the likes of marshall, howard, sinclair, wilkie, etc, plus attract new stars. our cap has already cost us the chance to get treloar. gresh and billings are good, but worth more than all others bar hannas and hill?

If only Billings had a bit more competive beast and onfield leadership about him. He'd be a keeper.

How the hell do AFL players command such a massive paycheck when some of them can’t even get on the park?

With blokes like Hannas and even Gresham and Geary both with long term injuries (2 years running) I don’t see why clubs wouldn’t push for ALL player salaries to be performance based

That’s how it works in the bush or in suburban footy. The club pays you to turn up and play

Imagine in a normal job if you’re seriously ill and your sick leave and annual leave runs out. Bad luck bro!

saynta wrote: Sun 04 Jul 2021 12:04am
desertsaint wrote: Sat 03 Jul 2021 6:55pm gresham and billings should both expect a downgrade in salary to stay at the saints. we need to be careful with our salary to keep better players and attract new ones. no problem with crouch's pay. hill just needs to start playing like he is capable of to earn his, hannebury just needs to retire for the good of the club.
I have a news flash for you. Gresham and Billings ARE two of our better players. f*** me....shakes head.
Newsflash for you. NO they're not! Not anymore anyway. Billings game this arvo typified really where he is at. 14-15 possessions. Cyril Rioli used to get those numbers and could get BOG. Jack waltzes around. Misses goals, does nothing special with his field kicking and yet we pay him as if he's a top 100 player in the competition. I'd be embarrassed if I was him. He's simply an ok footballer.

As for Jade. He can look good but to earn that sort of coin and be able to look himself in the mirror he needs to tidy up his disposal massively

Moods wrote: Sun 04 Jul 2021 7:11pm
Newsflash for you. NO they're not! Not anymore anyway. Billings game this arvo typified really where he is at. 14-15 possessions. Cyril Rioli used to get those numbers and could get BOG. Jack waltzes around. Misses goals, does nothing special with his field kicking and yet we pay him as if he's a top 100 player in the competition. I'd be embarrassed if I was him. He's simply an ok footballer.

As for Jade. He can look good but to earn that sort of coin and be able to look himself in the mirror he needs to tidy up his disposal massively
We can agree to disagree. Billings is still getting jabbed in his foot. Gutsy effort to even be playing.
Coaches more likely to agree with.me than you.😏😏IMHFO,that is.

Once we're mathematically out of contention, Billings will be sent for surgery or rest to start his 2022 pre-season.
Agree that it's a great effort for him to keep playing. We might even have rested him had Jones, Gresham, and Hannebery been fit.

I'd sign Billings to a 1 year contract at $500k and give him another chance to earn a big pay day next year. He started very well but has struggled with injuries in recent weeks. I can't imagine anyone would be offering a long term deal on more than $500k right now

Billings was poor for someone that is in the leadership group. He fumbles way too often when there's opponents close by. He hears footsteps louder than most of our other players. He had 1 tackle for the whole match

Josh Battle took 8 marks, laid 4 tackles and had 20 possessions at 66% DE last week. tony74 reckons he got dropped because of his disposal efficiency

Are they going to drop Mason Wood this week because he went at 54% DE, or maybe Butler at 50% or even Seb Ross at 59%?

Scollop wrote: Wed 07 Jul 2021 11:13am

Billings was poor for someone that is in the leadership group. He fumbles way too often when there's opponents close by. He hears footsteps louder than most of our other players. He had 1 tackle for the whole match

Josh Battle took 8 marks, laid 4 tackles and had 20 possessions at 66% DE last week. tony74 reckons he got dropped because of his disposal efficiency

Are they going to drop Mason Wood this week because he went at 54% DE, or maybe Butler at 50% or even Seb Ross at 59%?
I find your comments on Billings a bit unfair in the circumstances.

Seems we have a new whipping boy.

Freebird

Agree Saynta, Billings has been playing injured, unfortunately not all supporters are understanding because if you play you are considered fit. Billings when fit is consistently one of our better players.
The world is made up of its fair share of rsoles

Especially since he’s one of the few Half Forwards in the league that gets 20 and averages near a goal per game.

HF is probably the hardest position to play in football

HB is probably the easiest

B.M wrote: Wed 07 Jul 2021 6:21pm Especially since he’s one of the few Half Forwards in the league that gets 20 and averages near a goal per game.

HF is probably the hardest position to play in football

HB is probably the easiest
That might have been the case 10 years ago, but with the way the game is now played, with flooding and zoning, I think all positions are equally difficult.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Freebird wrote: Wed 07 Jul 2021 6:20pm Agree Saynta, Billings has been playing injured, unfortunately not all supporters are understanding because if you play you are considered fit. Billings when fit is consistently one of our better players.
The world is made up of its fair share of rsoles
Love your last sentence...so true. :wink: :wink:

Flooding - Rodney Eade introduced that two decades ago

Clarkson introduced full defensive zone in 2008

I can promise you
HF is the toughest position, as far as winning possessions
A lot of unrewarded running

Any time your forward of the ball but not the key target, it’s quite difficult to get a kick - which is why you need to make the most of your opportunities

Look at the data
Our lowest possession earners will be King and small forwards

B.M wrote: Thu 08 Jul 2021 7:59pm Flooding - Rodney Eade introduced that two decades ago

Clarkson introduced full defensive zone in 2008

I can promise you
HF is the toughest position, as far as winning possessions
A lot of unrewarded running

Any time your forward of the ball but not the key target, it’s quite difficult to get a kick - which is why you need to make the most of your opportunities

Look at the data
Our lowest possession earners will be King and small forwards
Data only tells you a part of the picture. You need to look at the data but you need to look beyond the data too. That’s the problems with much of your analysis on the game. It is data focussed and data only tells you a very small part of the game. Does possession tell you who was marking a player, does it say it was either a wet and windy night, does it list other external environmental factors. The answer is no and that is why a blind reliance on data is dangerous.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

I guess your right

Your subjective judgment would be way more accurate

Having said that

Coaches use data to make informed decisions

So I’ll go with what they do

B.M wrote: Thu 08 Jul 2021 10:40pm I guess your right

Having said that

Coaches use mor than just data in their decision making process. That’s how they get to the top of their profession. So I’ll stick with what the coaches actually do.

happy feet wrote: Thu 08 Jul 2021 11:04pm

Having said that

Coaches use mor than just data in their decision making process. That’s how they get to the top of their profession. So I’ll stick with what the coaches actually do.
I think the other thing that’s particularly pertinent is that there is so much data out there that it’s become a real challenge for coaches to figure out what to use, what’s helpful and what’s fluff etc.
Reckon many a coach... not least of all old Richo have fallen victim to using selective data to validate a perception but stopped short at times of just objectively watching a match and the outcomes without the extra info.

Newnes played what... 160 games in a row without ever being dropped (or something like that) and then dropped himself. The stats may show that in terms of possessions he was doing ok, and his pressure acts were great and his disposal efficacy was better then you think... but he was playing freaking terrible with a number of half-hearted efforts and low percentage plays for a good while which is what led the majority of fans to turn on him.

Personally, whatever ppl say... AFL isn’t that hard to understand. You should genuinely be able to watch a player without the stats and have a fairly good idea as to how they performed with stats giving you more info/detail to the specifics.

The problem is that too many ppl have drank the elixir of player X hasn’t really had a good effect on the game but the stats say that he’s run 5th most of all players on the field and his 5 kicks averaged more meters gained then most others, and he was involved in three scoring chains etc and had good pressure acts.
Madness

skeptic wrote: Fri 09 Jul 2021 12:36am
happy feet wrote: Thu 08 Jul 2021 11:04pm

Having said that

I think the other thing that’s particularly pertinent is that there is so much data out there that it’s become a real challenge for coaches to figure out what to use, what’s helpful and what’s fluff etc.
Reckon many a coach... not least of all old Richo have fallen victim to using selective data to validate a perception but stopped short at times of just objectively watching a match and the outcomes without the extra info.

Newnes played what... 160 games in a row without ever being dropped (or something like that) and then dropped himself. The stats may show that in terms of possessions he was doing ok, and his pressure acts were great and his disposal efficacy was better then you think... but he was playing freaking terrible with a number of half-hearted efforts and low percentage plays for a good while which is what led the majority of fans to turn on him.

Personally, whatever ppl say... AFL isn’t that hard to understand. You should genuinely be able to watch a player without the stats and have a fairly good idea as to how they performed with stats giving you more info/detail to the specifics.

The problem is that too many ppl have drank the elixir of player X hasn’t really had a good effect on the game but the stats say that he’s run 5th most of all players on the field and his 5 kicks averaged more meters gained then most others, and he was involved in three scoring chains etc and had good pressure acts.
Madness
I agree with your observation. My reply to B.M or Big Mart was trying to state what you have written so well, but was sarcastically passed off as subjective.