Tristan Xerri

Re: Tristan Xerri

Brady the nose said...

We were pretty clear with Tristan (Xerri) the whole way along, he understood that he felt he could get more opportunity at another club, he certainly wasn’t leaving because of any ill-feeling with the club or his teammates.

“He’s a very popular member of our team, he’s a 22-year-old fourth-year player that we’ve put a lot of time into, and we weren’t going to give him away for the level the saints were prepared to give, it’s as simple as that in the end.
If we were to let Tristan go, we would have had to replace him … so he’s too valuable to let him go for just a swap of late picks, it just wasn’t a consideration.

Wayne42 wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 6:01pm Brady the nose said...

We were pretty clear with Tristan (Xerri) the whole way along, he understood that he felt he could get more opportunity at another club, he certainly wasn’t leaving because of any ill-feeling with the club or his teammates.

“He’s a very popular member of our team, he’s a 22-year-old fourth-year player that we’ve put a lot of time into, and we weren’t going to give him away for the level the saints were prepared to give, it’s as simple as that in the end.
If we were to let Tristan go, we would have had to replace him … so he’s too valuable to let him go for just a swap of late picks, it just wasn’t a consideration.
He’s so valuable to them that they bought another ruckman in and pushed him down the pecking order?

He forgot to say that he's a valuable contributor and he's a ripper bloke.

Mr Magic wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 6:50pm

He’s so valuable to them that they bought another ruckman in and pushed him down the pecking order?
True. Let's see him spin why they fail to make Collingwood pay Top price for Daicos.

Rawlings also said this:

“As soon as the trade didn’t go down at 7.31 pm on Wednesday night I called him straight away and said, 'Mate, we clearly rate you higher than the other team does.'

Rawlings needs to take his hand off it. They don't rate him at all.

We offered X a two year contract. NM chose not to match it. So he has one year left on his existing contract.

X is now fourth or fifth rated ruckman for NM and will, in all probability, play the entire 2022 season in the VFL. That's how much NM rate him.

His value, if you could call it that, is what he gives NM as a VFL player, which is two fifths of not very much even if he tears it up in the reserves.

We apparently offered a future third round pick for X which is very generous considering where TX is at, on his football journey.

Brady Rawlings is another Adrian Dodoro.

damienc wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 9:38pm

Rawlings also said this:

“As soon as the trade didn’t go down at 7.31 pm on Wednesday night I called him straight away and said, 'Mate, we clearly rate you higher than the other team does.'

We offered X a two year contract. NM chose not to match it. So he has one year left on his existing contract.

X is now fourth or fifth rated ruckman for NM and will, in all probability, play the entire 2022 season in the VFL. That's how much NM rate him.

His value, if you could call it that, is what he gives NM as a VFL player, which is two fifths of not very much even if he tears it up in the reserves.

We apparently offered a future third round pick for X which is very generous considering where TX is at, on his football journey.

Brady is another Adrian closely followed by old man Wells, Jason McCartney is also very hard to deal with along with Jason Cripps. It's a growing band of egomaniacs.

Most of these guys are one way streets, if you want one of theirs you'll have to pay overs, if they want one of yours, they want him for a song.
Last edited by Wayne42 on Fri 15 Oct 2021 11:28am, edited 1 time in total.

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 13 Oct 2021 11:47pm
Archie told Brisbane on the 13 of September that he would explore his options elsewhere and then retired from the game on the 20th.
I didn't know that, sad to hear. Seems like he had the potential to be a very effective starting ruck.

Rawlings also said this:

I think it's fair enough what Rawlings said. If St.KFC were in the same position we'd probably be advocating exactly what Rawlings did. NM have Goldstein, Coleman-Jones , Xerri, Campbell and a 19 y.o ruckman Edwards. Goldstein is coming to the end of his career, Campbell is over 30 - in a couple of years Campbell and Goldstein will be gone. They'll have Coleman-Jones, Xerri and Edwards and Xerri will be entering ruckman maturity time. If they rate Xerri as a second rounder then fair enough.

Wayne42 wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 10:56pm

Rawlings also said this:

Brady is another Adrian closely followed by old man Wells, Jason McCartney is also very hard to deal with along with Patrick Cripps. It's a growing band of egomaniacs.

Most of these guys are one way streets, if you want one of theirs you'll have to pay overs, if they want one of yours, they want him for a song.
I presume you meant this guy.

Jason Cripps (Vic office) List Manager

saynta wrote: Fri 15 Oct 2021 11:24am

Rawlings also said this:

Brady is another Adrian closely followed by old man Wells, Jason McCartney is also very hard to deal with along with Patrick Cripps. It's a growing band of egomaniacs.

oops, thanks saynta :lol:

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 15 Oct 2021 11:28am
saynta wrote: Fri 15 Oct 2021 11:24am

Rawlings also said this:

oops, thanks saynta :lol:
No worries mate. :wink:

I see the Cats grabbed Ceglar - he turns 31 soon...

Faulky63

JUST a week after St Kilda struck out in its pursuit of North Melbourne ruckman Tristan Xerri, the club has turned its attentions towards his former Kangaroos teammate Tom Campbell.

AFL.com.au understands the Saints have remained determined to bolster their ruck stocks after the Trade Period and have homed in on Campbell, who was discarded by the Kangaroos earlier this week, as a delisted free agent.

Why not

I thought they might look at Big Tom.

St Kilda has interest in signing ex-North Melbourne ruckman Tom Campbell as a delisted free agent, reports AFL Media’s Riley Beveridge.
The Saints tried to make a move for young Kangaroos ruck Tristan Xerri during the trade period, and Xerri officially asked for a trade, planning to sign on a two-year deal.

But North Melbourne wanted a future second-round pick for the 12-gamer and only willing to pay a future third, St Kilda baulked and the deal failed to eventuate. That saw Xerri remain at Arden Street and Campbell let go.

Now the Saints are interested in Campbell to back up Rowan Marshall and Paddy Ryder, with Shaun McKernan retired, young Sam Alabakis delisted, Paul Hunter uncontracted and mid-season draftee Max Heath still in year 12.

The 201cm ruckman joined North Melbourne in the 2019 pre-season supplemental selection period, playing 12 games in three seasons, after 42 games from 2012-17 at the Western Bulldogs.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-tr ... face0228b1

He proved, in a short stint for the Dogs, he can get a tap, playing 22 games in 15, 16 and 17 averaging 25 hitouts per game.
Must have a decent engine too having achieved over 30 and as many as 49 hitouts in a good selection of games.

He proved, in a short stint for the Dogs, he can get a tap, playing 22 games in 15, 16 and 17 averaging 25 hitouts per game.
Must have a decent engine too having achieved over 30 and as many as 49 hitouts in a good selection of games.

Wayne42 wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 6:26pm I thought they might look at Big Tom.

St Kilda has interest in signing ex-North Melbourne ruckman Tom Campbell as a delisted free agent, reports AFL Media’s Riley Beveridge.
The Saints tried to make a move for young Kangaroos ruck Tristan Xerri during the trade period, and Xerri officially asked for a trade, planning to sign on a two-year deal.

But North Melbourne wanted a future second-round pick for the 12-gamer and only willing to pay a future third, St Kilda baulked and the deal failed to eventuate. That saw Xerri remain at Arden Street and Campbell let go.

Now the Saints are interested in Campbell to back up Rowan Marshall and Paddy Ryder, with Shaun McKernan retired, young Sam Alabakis delisted, Paul Hunter uncontracted and mid-season draftee Max Heath still in year 12.

The 201cm ruckman joined North Melbourne in the 2019 pre-season supplemental selection period, playing 12 games in three seasons, after 42 games from 2012-17 at the Western Bulldogs.

Seriously underwhelming. Another 30 y.o plus short term mediocre fill in. 9 years at the Dogs and Norf. 54 games. Underwhelming stats. There's gotta be a young fella worth a shot. Seriously, if our powers that be are interested in more end of their career mediocre top-up players then maybe GT and Benge have a point. WTF??????

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 7:27pm He proved, in a short stint for the Dogs, he can get a tap, playing 22 games in 15, 16 and 17 averaging 25 hitouts per game.
2017 he averaged 33 hitouts. At the end of that year WB let him go. Have to ask why.

st.byron wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 7:32pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 7:27pm He proved, in a short stint for the Dogs, he can get a tap, playing 22 games in 15, 16 and 17 averaging 25 hitouts per game.
2017 he averaged 33 hitouts. At the end of that year WB let him go. Have to ask why.
$MILLIONS of reasons caused by his ruck partner

Too old & just a band aide . Have we learnt anything from the McKernan experience :?

st.byron wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 7:30pm

Seriously underwhelming. Another 30 y.o plus short term mediocre fill in. 9 years at the Dogs and Norf. 54 games. Underwhelming stats. There's gotta be a young fella worth a shot. Seriously, if our powers that be are interested in more end of their career mediocre top-up players then maybe GT and Benge have a point. WTF??????
Sounds so obvious. You must be able to name who that player is St B. Who is it? How much does he cost?

I believe Campbell is a slight improvement on Hunter, but the list of available ruckman must be limited. You would think there is a developing/capable state league ruckman some where in Aus?

In 2021 our ruck back ups for Ryder and Marshall were McKernan and Hunter.

In 2022 our ruck back ups may well be Campbell and Hunter.

Ghost Like wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 8:46pm
st.byron wrote: Wed 20 Oct 2021 7:30pm

Sounds so obvious. You must be able to name who that player is St B. Who is it? How much does he cost?
The question shouldn’t be what it costs.

Are we aiming to try and stay off the bottom of the ladder for season 2022 (because that saves someones career and they keep their job safe for one more year) or are we striving to become a top 4 team in season 2023 and beyond?

The question should be; How does getting Campbell fit into our plans? What the f@ck are our plans?
Last edited by Scollop on Wed 20 Oct 2021 11:09pm, edited 1 time in total.