We should have given North what they wanted for Xerri. Make Rowan the CHF and Xerri the ruck.Bruce G McAbee wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 8:29pmWe knew we had a problem as Ryder approached retirement and have done very little to rectify it.
I don't know if we did, but,in my opinion, we should have made a play for Grundy.
Match thread. Saints V Bombers
- TheGreatZacsby
- Club Player
Re: Match thread. Saints V Bombers
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Experienced enough and has shown leadership in the off season but not really the point but ok, argue every point you pedant. That along with your continued non quoting comes across as arrogant and tedious.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
You wouldn’t want the club using excuses for that insipid last 20 minutes but the supporters should be able to say whatever the f*** they want.
- Devilhead
- Saintsational Legend
2 losses under 10pts .... could very likely cost us finals
- Ghost Like
- Saintsational Legend
Correct, the players on the field were the reason we lost. We kick goals, instead of points, when on top we win. Then Essendon panic & our exits from the backline are without pressure to wings & half forwards to kick to forwards they trust will finish the job.
We were on top of Essendon & chose to roll over by failing to convert & then pannicking. We were on top with barely any players at their best. Not including Ross or Steele in that summation, they were very good.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Yep
Cooper stays on and kicks a goal in the last and we win. I think he would have redeemed himself for his 2 early misses.
I was pretty disappointed that Sharman wasn't there as a target in that last quarter.
We had 10 inside 50s and only scored 1-1
They had 13 for 2-6.
-
- Club Player
Yep, we lost the 4 points due to errors all over the ground by most of our team but it was the forward line who wrapped the 4 points up and put a ribbon on them.Scollop wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:06pmYep
Cooper stays on and kicks a goal in the last and we win. I think he would have redeemed himself for his 2 early misses.
I was pretty disappointed that Sharman wasn't there as a target in that last quarter.
We had 10 inside 50s and only scored 1-1
They had 13 for 2-6.
- asiu
- Saintsational Legend
u got called a cabbage , pissantYou can’t whinge mate. You might get called a knob or worse… a cabbage
coz like the little sniper u are , you ran in in and clocked an unsuspecting combatant in an argument that had nothing to do with you
even worse , it was /is one of our long term posters
none of the original crew acted like dogs
except a couple of grubs
so if u reckon u've been around here longer than me
that means u were one of those grubs
u pathetic piece of shite
Last edited by asiu on Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:42pm, edited 1 time in total.
- D.B.Cooper
- SS Hall of Fame
Says who?
Says pathetic excuse makers.
We had injuries, the umpires cheated, if such and such plays, we win.
The only people who think this way are people who have never experienced sport at a high level or have no understanding of the game.
I bet Ross is sitting having a beer with Lenny, Harves and Boris and saying if it wasn’t for all those injuries, we win
We had ample opportunity to win the game with the players selected, however we were unable to convert in front of goal and it cost us.
We miss set shots 30M out on minor angles, Stringer bangs it from outside 50 to seal the game.
There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!
-
- Saintsational Legend
D.B.Cooper wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:41pmSays who?
Says pathetic excuse makers.
We had injuries, the umpires cheated, if such and such plays, we win.
The only people who think this way are people who have never experienced sport at a high level or have no understanding of the game.
I bet Ross is sitting having a beer with Lenny, Harves and Boris and saying if it wasn’t for all those injuries, we win
We had ample opportunity to win the game with the players selected, however we were unable to convert in front of goal and it cost us.
We miss set shots 30M out on minor angles, Stringer bangs it from outside 50 to seal the game.
You think that’s true? Doubt it very much but anyway. King plays we win it’s as simple as that.
Like to bet if Henry plays over Byrnes we win also.
One minute people on here are saying we don’t have enough elite players. Then when the ones we have are unavailable it’s apparently no issue.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
All part of the learning curve
RTB will sort it
We still have a young contingent learning the ropes
RTB will sort it
We still have a young contingent learning the ropes
-
- Saintsational Legend
No need for elite talent just pick solid players and kids.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
- TheGreatZacsby
- Club Player
Woah woah woahasiu wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:40pmu got called a cabbage , pissantYou can’t whinge mate. You might get called a knob or worse… a cabbage
coz like the little sniper u are , you ran in in and clocked an unsuspecting combatant in an argument that had nothing to do with you
even worse , it was /is one of our long term posters
none of the original crew acted like dogs
except a couple of grubs
so if u reckon u've been around here longer than me
that means u were one of those grubs
u pathetic piece of shite
He took a snipe at me because I was the original whinger. Then you came in and took a snipe at me so a bit pot calling kettle black mate!
Your grammar is atrocious… who taught you at school Mrs Spud? Can’t even read your insults… THEY DONT MAKE SENSE!
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
All a bit over the top.
Sounds like someone needs a hug.
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
You have no faith in the coach?
In games decided by such narrow margins incidents across the 4 quarters can be identified - and mostly those late in the game are given attention
What you do is learn - and recommit
True, both sides had 23 players on the park - but the fact is we can put a superior 23 on the park from today
Except for King, most are long term injuries
Norwood Oval is a tight playing surface so we will need to address clearances - and contest
Norwood beat Sturt on Thursday night on the back of near 100 tackles to 60
Back in the day, the ground held 20,000 but OH&S now says significantly less
What you do is learn - and recommit
True, both sides had 23 players on the park - but the fact is we can put a superior 23 on the park from today
Except for King, most are long term injuries
Norwood Oval is a tight playing surface so we will need to address clearances - and contest
Norwood beat Sturt on Thursday night on the back of near 100 tackles to 60
Back in the day, the ground held 20,000 but OH&S now says significantly less
From a personal point of view, and from school days, it would be nice to see the Saints honour Allan Killigrew who coached both sides
Allan bought many St Kilda players with him
Past that, a few years later St Kilda played a pre season practice game versus a developing Norwood side and won with experienced players including Ross Smith
So we trust the contest St Kilda brings sees a second win at the historical ground, the Club now 145 years old
Allan bought many St Kilda players with him
Past that, a few years later St Kilda played a pre season practice game versus a developing Norwood side and won with experienced players including Ross Smith
So we trust the contest St Kilda brings sees a second win at the historical ground, the Club now 145 years old
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Not blind faith.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:43pmYou have no faith in the coach?
- The Fireman
- Saintsational Legend
Good on you
I personally think he is a very good coach and will have us playing finals..so keep your bridge you maybe the one that needs it
-
- Saintsational Legend
It's going cheap too. It's second hand but was very reliable and in use for over 50 years....
... in Baltimore
Sorry... couldn't help myself. Tragic event
Back to the coach/coaches.
I feel like some mistakes were made from the coaches, but for a large part of the game today we were travelling well and could have even pinched it in the end.
We needed a goal kicker in that last quarter. Sharman should have stayed on the park imo
Ross set the team up and prepared the players as best as he could. Unfortunately we missed too many set shots.
- The_Dud
- Saintsational Legend
Look at Stringer, the bloke is a flog, but look how he stepped up in the last quarter, the set shot he converted was more difficult than every set shot we missed today.
Our leaders all went missing in the last, very telling.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
I won’t need a bridge, but I do need anti-nausea tablets every time I read your posts about him.The Fireman wrote: ↑Sat 30 Mar 2024 11:01pmGood on you
I personally think he is a very good coach and will have us playing finals..so keep your bridge you maybe the one that needs it
The ground is what it has always been, with the Western Grandstand unique, for the lack of a better description, its brick wall right on the playing boundary
The Wolf Blass Centre has been added recently but not impacting crowd size
The days of 20,000 crowds are long gone from the post AFL SANFL competition, some 5,000 present last Thursday night for the season opener
The narrowness of the wings reinforces “up the guts, Sonny” so the contest and forwards who can contest and mark
The big scores have not been a feature for many a year because of the contested nature of SANFL games and no space being offered
So the chances are a tight, contested game with perhaps 12 goals getting the result
The Wolf Blass Centre has been added recently but not impacting crowd size
The days of 20,000 crowds are long gone from the post AFL SANFL competition, some 5,000 present last Thursday night for the season opener
The narrowness of the wings reinforces “up the guts, Sonny” so the contest and forwards who can contest and mark
The big scores have not been a feature for many a year because of the contested nature of SANFL games and no space being offered
So the chances are a tight, contested game with perhaps 12 goals getting the result
-
- Saintsational Legend