Crab watch

Re: Crab watch

B.M wrote: Sun 19 May 2024 10:01pm Billings
Average game
15 poss
No goals
2 goal assists
I’d have hoped for more. The challenge I see with him is that he only ever has good games when his team dominates. Never see him lead the way in a tough contest.

Not easy as a half forward to lead the way

How many HFs in AFL a dominant leaders?

B.M wrote: Sun 19 May 2024 10:19pm Not easy as a half forward to lead the way

How many HFs in AFL a dominant leaders?
I’m sure plenty have at least the odd good match in tough contest.
No one is saying he has to consistently dominate but let me ask you this. If he was half forward for is last night… would you really have backed him in to be the player that that delivered at a critical moment or stepped up to lead the way when the game was on the way.

Or is he more likely to to have had 12 touches, 3 changers, a tackle and missed a set shot.

The only good games he’s had this year were in dominant Melbourne wins.
Darcy Wilson has lined up at half forward a bit this year… has had a much better season so far. Henry’s game v Collingwood is better than anything Jack has produced this year.

Now its HFFs have it too hard to perform. You can’t keep making excuses for him never delivering

He’d have offered more than Phillipou or Collard

You do realise JB has kicked bags of 5 and 4

And has 30-40 Brownlow votes

He’s not a super star

But he ain’t no dud either - he’s had Best on Ground performances in the AFL

B.M wrote: Sun 19 May 2024 10:46pm You do realise JB has kicked bags of 5 and 4

He’s not a super star

He had a couple of shots on goal. Still hopeless. One didn't make the distance and was a wasted kick. The other was his standard disappointing miss from an easy distance

I'm glad you ....

... and Richo and Goodwin keep backing him in

His shot from 20 out (snap shot) on his non preferred was really poor

He also got monstered in several contests

Doubt he would add anything to our side at this stage

Turns 29 in August ... he will struggle to make it to 200 games (currently sits at 164) .... for a number 3 pick its pretty disappointing ... let's face it . a decent career but never truly hit the heights or made an impact we hoped he would .... injuries didn't help

What?!

Playing 170-200+ games disappointing

Jono Rouke was disappointing
Mitch Thorpe was disappointing

His selection at 3 was the error (in hindsight) not his output.

B.M wrote: Sun 19 May 2024 10:46pm You do realise JB has kicked bags of 5 and 4

He’s not a super star

How many bags of 4s and 5s and how many Brownlow votes do you think he’s gotten this year?
And last year?

When was his last BOG performance.

Nice subterfuge BM but other players not doing better doesn’t answer the question that you sidestepped.

Do you think Billings would have turned the game for us on Saturday?

JB on Clarke hypothetical.
Could probably keep Clarke to just 2 or three goals.

B.M wrote: Mon 20 May 2024 2:05pm What?!

Playing 170-200+ games disappointing

Jono Rouke was disappointing
Mitch Thorpe was disappointing

His selection at 3 was the error (in hindsight) not his output.
After the way he started his career for sure its disappointing

With his last 50 games he has just fizzled out ..... at 28 he should be at the peak of his powers ..... again injuries probably haven't helped

In his 4th year as 21/22 yo (2017) he racked up 508 disposals and kicked 23.36

In 2019 he got 566 and kicked 13.10

It's been all downhill since then

Injuries haven’t played a part??

Did you read what I wrote?

Pretty clearly wrote .... Injuries probably haven't helped

Either way he is now back fit playing on a weekly basis however he is not even close to replicating the form he showed as a 21yo to 24yo

Reckon he will retire at the end of his contract (end of next season)

Billings dropped for the game against us.

Otiman wrote: Fri 24 May 2024 6:31pm Billings dropped for the game against us.
That’s weird. I thought he was vying for the captaincy. Isn’t his nickname the miracle HFF of our times? I mean I thought it was a bit of a mouthful but he apparently hasn’t had a poor game this year for a HFF?

What an odd policy!?

I’m not shocked, but I’m genuinely surprised

Classic coaches reaction

Bad loss - drop one or two of your bottom 6

B.M wrote: Fri 24 May 2024 7:37pm I’m not shocked, but I’m genuinely surprised

Classic coaches reaction

Bad loss - drop one or two of your bottom 6
Seems you’re one of the few that is surprised. Nil impact whenever the game is tough. Exactly like at the Saints. Coaches want players who stand up in the moments. Jack is the opposite of that. Classic grey man, fades into the background.
Need him to kick that crucial goal?. He’s not your man. Need him to make the play? Nope. He’ll kick down the line or chip sideways. If he does attempt something, invariably he skinny’s the ball and it’s intercepted. If he gets his hands on it. I’m afraid he’s nothing more than a fill in type player and he’ll never take your club anywhere.

Does it make anyone else cranky we are paying for Billings to play in the reserves.

I was quoting Dermott Brereton. Jokingly!

He’ll get back in if they have a front half injuries

He’s a fringe player there

Laurie

It was only a matter of time for Billings to play for Casey.
Not really rated by Dee's supporters .
Will only get back in if Melbourne suffer injuries to their injuries to a HF flanker.
He can only play in that position.
BOOM BOOM

That Hind fella has a bit of zip and goes alright…

Vortex wrote: Sat 25 May 2024 8:45am Does it make anyone else cranky we are paying for Billings to play in the reserves.
Not really, our team isn't any more deserving of the cap space.

I find it ironic that JB was a high draft pick.
With all the associated potential (hopeful) upside.
After we got him, he spoke to the club about a schoolmate who could play a bit of footy...and suggested the Saints invite his mate to training.

Fast fwd a few years, and that mate is Ross's 'lovechild' and has deservedly carried a great number on his back, while JB hasn't made any real impact in AFL

Edit
AFL Tables show JB's 2024 average disposals
14.90 (10 games)
Pretty close to his average in 2014, his first year, across 16 games.

His 2 lowest average disposals.
Someone here says he'll be delisted at the end of his Dees' contract.
Not sure whether injuries are hampering his performance, but he's played 165 more games than me and everyone else on this forum (except current and former players that may be hiding here)

Otiman wrote: Sat 25 May 2024 10:08pm
Vortex wrote: Sat 25 May 2024 8:45am Does it make anyone else cranky we are paying for Billings to play in the reserves.
Gee it wasn't that long ago you were full of so much optimism and glowing endorsement for just about everything at the club, look what the club has done to you Otiman, you are a broken man.

Vortex wrote: Sun 26 May 2024 10:23am
Otiman wrote: Sat 25 May 2024 10:08pm
Gee it wasn't that long ago you were full of so much optimism and glowing endorsement for just about everything at the club, look what the club has done to you Otiman, you are a broken man.
I'll be back! Disillusioned but still engaged, usually i'll just switch right off.