Crowd numbers tonight- any guesses

sell out prior to game from ticketmaster

just heard members closed

so what does that make it?

97,300 is my guess !!

SaintBot

amazing that the MCC gates are shut 30 minutes out.....can't remember that happening for ages, rarely happens even at a granny.

I assume the AFL members has been fully allocated with reserved seats??

If so, 95,000 is almost a definite, and given the MCC is full so early I assume the rest of the ground is at Grand Final type demand - last year's granny got 97,000.....so I'm gunning for 97,000 tonight!

Gilbert The Great

jill

Who cares? In 2008 when we've won the Prelim I'll look up figures perhaps - but then we'll be in the Grand! - so who cares!

what was the crowd when we played the Roos in 1997- because I
remember being almost last row in the GSS .
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 21 Sep 2007 10:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

casey scorp

saintbrat wrote:what was the crowd when we played the Roos in 1997- because Ibye
remember being almost last row in the GSS .

Official crowd..

Biggest crowd at the G since....the 97 GF :!:

gO.SainTs

Well how's that, 98,002 people

luke.l_26

dunno about you guys, but I'd feel pretty special being that number 2 in the 98,002.
LOL.

MWL - Blinding footy players on the field since 2003

you must get home quick- or did you leave early?

luke.l_26

lol what?
I didn't go.
My mate coudln't get me a ticket.
had a good time here at my place watching my sister stress out though!

MWL - Blinding footy players on the field since 2003

did she win or lose?
I re read- oops

I've never seen the members more crowded.
Packed to the rafters.

Can't believe they let Collingwood types in there.

What is the absolute maximum capacity?

HSVKing

battye wrote:What is the absolute maximum capacity?
There were empty seats scattered here and there... but very close.

Only thing you can say about the atmosphere... Awesome!

Wish we could play infront of crowds like that.

They walk amongst us...

Dal_Santos_Gal

This is according to the MCG website

Capacity
The total capacity of the MCG is approximately 100,000.

This comprises 95,000 seats and 5000 standing room spaces, which are sold at the discretion of the event promoter.

The realistic capacity for most events is 98,000 as often not all standing room tickets are placed on sale.

http://www.mcg.org.au/default.asp?pg=th ... ticleid=70

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

Was absolutely amazing. I was v lucky to have a seat in the outer around forward 50. Those Collingwood fans may be feral, but by God can they produce a bit of noise and atmosphere!

Jus about the best non-Saints game I've been to I reckon.

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:
This is according to the MCG website

Capacity
The total capacity of the MCG is approximately 100,000.

This comprises 95,000 seats and 5000 standing room spaces, which are sold at the discretion of the event promoter.

The realistic capacity for most events is 98,000 as often not all standing room tickets are placed on sale.

http://www.mcg.org.au/default.asp?pg=th ... ticleid=70
Well, it surpassed the realistic capacity then!

First time I can remember the MCC Members being locked. Would certainly be the first time its been locked for a non-Melbourne game.

Interesting to read the report in the Age today. 2000 Members outside who couldnt get in were offered standing room tix in the outer.

I have no issue at all with members who turn up 30 mins before the start of a Preliminary Final between big clubs and expect a seat being shut out. What was more concerning though, was the total stuff-up of the passout system. People who had stood in the (huge Id imagine) queue before the gates opened, got their seats and then wandered out to eat, meet friends, or in one guys case go back to work, were'nt let back in!!

None of the above is breaking any rules, in fact PA announcements pre-game state that you are free to leave the ground once you have obtained your seat. Obviously the card scanners cant tell the difference between whos entering for the first time and who's coming back in. I did exactly that the week before for the Hawks Roo's game..and would have likewise cracked the shytes if Id been stopped from reentering

That, I'm pretty confident will be the last totally "walk up" Preliminary Final for MCC Members. Look out for reserved seats next year a la the GF. Thats fine by me if it stops the fiasco of last night

The atmosphere sounded awesome on TV. What a shame that next week at least 20,000 of those seats will be occupied by corporates who are their just to brag to their mates that they went to the GF. Non-competing Clubs getting 1000 tix each weeks and weeks in advance is disgraceful