AFL working on 17th and 18th club

fisher_fan

AFL working on 17th and 18th club

Hey just saw on a 7 news update (vic) that the AFL is today working on a 17th and 18th club for the league. Obviously one on the Gold Coast and they named the 18th as West Sydney....Will be good, I am concerned Riewoldt will return to the Gold Coast when his contract is up though

such is life
super dooper

Riewoldt wont leave, simple as that!!!

If they do introduce 18 teams, perhaps this could lead to more equitable fixturing where we could play everyone once, you play each team home and away in alternate years. The finals could go for longer, after all thats why teams play footy, to play finals isnt it and to win them

What about tassie as a permanent base??

the afl would want us to hand over gilbert as well as roo.....

saintm

Jeff Kennett said on the radio news bulletin I was listening to that he would not support the issuing of a 17th licence.

The AFL need 12 of the 16 clubs to agree for a new club to join the league.

Would North Melbourne support the new club either given that the 17th team could ultimately be their replacement?

Could there be another two clubs out there to throw a spanner in the works??

roo is signed until 2010 by that stage he would have almost lived longer in melb then in QLD (remember he spent some time in tassie) also he has a few buissness intrests outside of footy based in melb he wont go but your right to worry about gilbo if his star continues to rise he will litrally be thrown money to go up north .

as for a tassie team i dont think they could support an AFL team full time with the hawks being there i think thats enuff for them . west sydney is a silly idea look at the NBL in how the demand for a sports team in west sydney forced the leauge to issue a license to them only for the tyical sydney locals intrest to fade and the club to near on go bust .

fisher_fan

I reckon they will get the 17th license if they sort out the stadium stuff. North Melbourne (it feels weird saying that again) won't, It will be interesting to see where the Lions stand to. As for the 18th I don't think that will be approved for at least 5 years....although they will keep pushing it.

such is life

I would much prefer additional teams going into SA & WA before QLD & NSW. They could easily support a 3rd team, and those 3rd teams would be more viable than 2nd teams in the non-AFL Northern States.

roo has it all in melbourne...the stardom...the girlfriend...the properties...the endorsements...everything

why would he move back to qld and become somewhat of a nobody???

the ego says no...

Saints-06-Premiers

borderbarry wrote:I would much prefer additional teams going into SA & WA before QLD & NSW. They could easily support a 3rd team, and those 3rd teams would be more viable than 2nd teams in the non-AFL Northern States.
I think a 3rd Perth team would be better than a 2nd Sydney side.

Too lazy to update my username
LTN16

super dooper wrote:What about tassie as a permanent base??
If there is going to be an 18th team I reckon Tassie would be a great place to have it.

Saints-06-Premiers wrote:
borderbarry wrote:I would much prefer additional teams going into SA & WA before QLD & NSW. They could easily support a 3rd team, and those 3rd teams would be more viable than 2nd teams in the non-AFL Northern States.
I think a 3rd Perth team would be better than a 2nd Sydney side.
we aint bigg enuff for a third AFL team ... where would we play ?? i dont think any team would wanna play in Kununurra and subi couldnt host the possible 2 games in one week .

fisher_fan

I think they should just go for the 17th. Leave the 18th for 10 years or so, wait and see what happens. Nowhere is ready for a team, as Kennett said we should have less teams if anything. I havent seen anything on the 18th club since that update though so they mightve been talking s***

such is life
karnak

I would hope that Melbourne teams would stick together and vote NO.

17th team let alone more, decreases the possible revenue,

it statistically decreases your chances of winning a flag, and given that the AFL willl be keen to see them succeed you can basically hand a flag or 3 straight to them with salary cap concessions and zoned recruiting.

To say yes as a victorian team is to say yes to more interstate games and travelling, less money, less chance of winnning the ultimate.

FFS I hope we vote no!

fcuk the AFL and their stupid pipe dreams.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!
fisher_fan

karnak wrote:I would hope that Melbourne teams would stick together and vote NO.

it statistically decreases your chances of winning a flag, and given that the AFL willl be keen to see them succeed you can basically hand a flag or 3 straight to them with salary cap concessions and zoned recruiting.

To say yes as a victorian team is to say yes to more interstate games and travelling, less money, less chance of winnning the ultimate.

FFS I hope we vote no!

What is different about now and when we got Port/Fremantle??? The Southport Sharks apparently have more revenue than some of the AFL clubs, and I must admit I enjoy change, as much as I like what we have now, I don't think that any real St Kilda fan would jump ship and get a membership with a new side (unless they lived in the region and weren't big fans to begin with). Agree on the travel issues, but it is the AFL.

I would hope the AFL take this more fairly than in the past, and give no more to the new club than necessary. The zoning is a issue I think is wrong, and the salary cap concessions should only apply to the first year.

such is life
brown-coat

DEFINITELY NEED A TEAM IN WEST SYDNEY.

That area is perfect for a second team and will help in finally destroying that rubbish known as rugby league.

fisher_fan wrote:
karnak wrote:I would hope that Melbourne teams would stick together and vote NO.

FFS I hope we vote no!

What is different about now and when we got Port/Fremantle??? The Southport Sharks apparently have more revenue than some of the AFL clubs, and I must admit I enjoy change, as much as I like what we have now, I don't think that any real St Kilda fan would jump ship and get a membership with a new side (unless they lived in the region and weren't big fans to begin with). Agree on the travel issues, but it is the AFL.

I would hope the AFL take this more fairly than in the past, and give no more to the new club than necessary. The zoning is a issue I think is wrong, and the salary cap concessions should only apply to the first year.
there is a revenue myth about southport

they have 50,000 older australians as members that pay imbetween 15-25 dollars for yearly membership to southport...much like an rsl club....

do you really see 5,000 of those older folk joining an afl team???

i surely think not

Apu

Saints Premiers 2006 wrote:roo has it all in melbourne...the stardom...the girlfriend...the properties...the endorsements...everything

why would he move back to qld and become somewhat of a nobody???

the ego says no...
I'm pretty sure thats what they said about Judd....

but seriously I think were pretty safe.... Roo aint going anywhere!!!

17th club in gold coast already happening.... southport sharks already the biggest club in queensland in terms of membership.....expect the gold coast sharks as soon as the afl can get them in.....Anyone who doubts the ability of tassie as a base for an afl club is kidding themselves give them a club and watch the whole state get behind them. I personally believe that tassie should have been given more attention as an afl supporting state than NSW or QLD the base is already there

ttufc7 wrote:17th club in gold coast already happening.... southport sharks already the biggest club in queensland in terms of membership.....expect the gold coast sharks as soon as the afl can get them in.....Anyone who doubts the ability of tassie as a base for an afl club is kidding themselves give them a club and watch the whole state get behind them. I personally believe that tassie should have been given more attention as an afl supporting state than NSW or QLD the base is already there
read my previous post mate

its all a myth

ctqs

I wouldn't be too surprised if one day, a long way down the track, we have a 19-team competition with an 18-round home-and-away season in which teams play eachother once. Southport, West Sydney, FNQ (playing some games in Darwin). If it becomes a 20-team comp, with 19 home-and-away games, there could be a team in Canberra (maybe Tassie instead).

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

Yes West Sydney, Southport.
But why stop there ?
What about Cairns, Canberra, Hobart, Darwin, Mount Gambier ?

That brings it up to 25.

So in your lifetime you might see your team win 4 premierships if you live to 100.
Of course you will be too young to remember the first and have dementia for the fourth.
But at least you will enjoy the 2nd and 3rd.
That's assuming we win one every 25 years rather than finding the competition dominated by more powerful and favoured interstate clubs.
In that case you might be lucky to see one.
Thanks for making up the numbers.

The solution is NOT more clubs.
The solution is to geographically spread the current clubs out more evenly.
I think that is behind Dimwit's talk of a 17th and 18th club.
He is trying to speed up the inevitable process.
Trying to bully North and the Dogs to move now, because if you don't the offer won't be on the table.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Yes West Sydney, Southport.
But why stop there ?
What about Cairns, Canberra, Hobart, Darwin, Mount Gambier ?

That brings it up to 25.

So in your lifetime you might see your team win 4 premierships if you live to 100.
Of course you will be too young to remember the first and have dementia for the fourth.
But at least you will enjoy the 2nd and 3rd.
That's assuming we win one every 25 years rather than finding the competition dominated by more powerful and favoured interstate clubs.
In that case you might be lucky to see one.
Thanks for making up the numbers.

The solution is NOT more clubs.
The solution is to geographically spread the current clubs out more evenly.
I think that is behind Dimwit's talk of a 17th and 18th club.
He is trying to speed up the inevitable process.
Trying to bully North and the Dogs to move now, because if you don't the offer won't be on the table.
personally i think the kanga's are stuffed and so are the dogs

however its commendable that brayshaw and his band of merry men have changed the name back to north melbourne...calling them the kangaroos only incited the talk of recolation...

to continue i think the hawks are the next to go...to tassy (surprise surprise) as they are already building up a strong base there

then us.....

fisher_fan wrote:

FFS I hope we vote no!

What is different is that when Port and Freo came in they were teams 15 and 16, not 17 an 18.

Don't be fooled by the dimwit chest-beating. It is not sustainable in a country of 20 million people either in terms of funds or in terms of available top line talent to have a competition at the elite level with so many teams.

What they really want is teams to relocate out of Melbourne, and they have realised in the past year that they need it to happen sooner rather than later as the NRL is growing and soccer has finally gotten out of it's own way. They want to grab the new fans first, and they don't care for the pesky Melbourne clubs, around who this competition is built, slowing their plans down. They will try and seduce a Melbourne club in a hurry, and if that fails they will try and establish new teams in their target regions with huge concessions, knowing that the money and talent being spread thinner will spell the demise of at least 2 Melbourne clubs within a few years of new teams getting up and going.

Whilst I admire the guts of Brayshaw and his crew, I believe they are merely postponing the inevitable. They will either end up going back cap in hand to accept the offer, be well placed in a year or two to be able to accept the offer on their own terms, or end up being swalled up in much the same fashion as the Lions were.

fisher_fan

25 years time where will we be...i think this is the start of something big...i have read articles about AFL going international - fijian team etc...but that is far fetched at the moment.

IMO in 25 years we will have

Gold Coast Sharks
Hobart Hawks
Western Sydney Bulldogs (originally a new team, then Bulldogs merge)

AND.....
NORTH MELBOURNE DEMONS

Thats at the least, and thats with the same amount of clubs. I think that everyone would be a winner. Its all hypothetical and its a long way off, but for the AFL to survive in Melboune that would do wonders....

Im getting ready for abuse with this post to, but its all hypothetical

such is life