farewell Banner for Goldy-

it's suspected that Darren Goldspink is retiring and his last game is the saints V Tigers tomorrow night

should we put together a banner- what could we put on it?

Last edited by saintbrat on Thu 14 Feb 2008 9:04am, edited 1 time in total.

Scoop

Re: farewell Banner for Goldy

saintbrat wrote:apparently Darren Goldsmith is retiring and his last game is the saints V Tigers tomorrow night

should we put together a banner- what could we put on it?

Presumably you are talking about Darren Goldspink Brat?

If true, it will be good to see the back of the attention-seeking w****r!

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

oops don't know where that came from.

TimeToShineFellas

Thanks for the memories Darren
Umpiring is such a tough job
Just a shame no-one liked you
Because you were a knob!

B W and R all over

I can think of a two-word banner that might sum up the football world's sentiments.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

we'll have to reach deep
into the umpiring pool
for how does one replace
such a complete tool
Last edited by bigcarl on Thu 14 Feb 2008 11:00am, edited 1 time in total.

riccardo

Tonight we say goodbye
To Umpire Goldspink
Lets leave no doubt here
We all think you stink!

The Peanut

With all those games behind you,
your awards that are oh so hollow
you always played your own game
to the teams you didn't follow.

riccardo

Big block letters:

Hey Goldy: Don't let the door hit ya where the Good Lord split ya!

St DAC

Shame it isn't McLaren or McBurnie instead ... :roll:

Oh and you guys could do SUCH a better job :roll: 8-)

All jokes aside..if its true then I for one wont be booing him tomorrow night.

The only other on-field person apart from Harvs who was around in the 80's.

Yes we've all sledged him in the past, but surely if it is his farewell game tomorrow night we could show a touch more class than just booing him. The game needs umpires believe it or not..and just like players some are better than others

A good time to show that the game is bigger than the individual

riccardo

saint66au wrote:Oh and you guys could do SUCH a better job :roll: 8-)
It wouldn't shock me to find out that I could, to be honest.

I'm not such a hypocryte that I will boo someone thier entire career and then blow them kisses when they retire.

Tomorrows Headline Today !!

All jokes aside..if its true then I for one wont be booing him tomorrow night.
Well there is booing...and booing....

Nelson on Sorry day copped the real McEvoy.

The Booing that greats umpires when they walk on is morea "friendly" boo...

Tis a bit liike the world bastard...can be friendly....or an insult. all depends "how' it said and intended.

Personally I like umps....my weekly winters rant at them during the games save me a fortune in Pschychitrists bills...and is a great stress reliever :wink:

riccardo wrote:

I'm not such a hypocryte that I will boo someone thier entire career and then blow them kisses when they retire.
Ric, take off the blinkers mate. Its not hypocrisy, its the equivalent of shaking hands with your opponent after the game. Yes all fairs in love and war during the match. I boo umpires and opposition players as much as the next person. When the siren goes though, as it looks like it will for Darren Goldspink tomorrow night, its OK to stop wanting to beat 16 shades of cr@p out of them. Its called sportsmanship

We all love the Saints to death, but we needs other teams and umpires for a game of footy to happen. Goldy's been umpiring VFL/AFL for nigh on 20 years. Yes he's had some shockers but prolly no more than a player would have in that time.

Umpiring at any level, let alone AFL, is a bloody thankless task. You only ever get things wrong.

How would you feel if you made sacrifices in your life to provide entertainemnt to millions, yet the thanks you got on retirement was a nice round of booing?

Cut him some slack Ric, your conscience will cope I'm sure :-)

riccardo wrote:

Ric, take off the blinkers mate. Its not hypocrisy, its the equivalent of shaking hands with your opponent after the game. Yes all fairs in love and war during the match. I boo umpires and opposition players as much as the next person. When the siren goes though, as it looks like it will for Darren Goldspink tomorrow night, its OK to stop wanting to beat 16 shades of cr@p out of them. Its called sportsmanship

We all love the Saints to death, but we needs other teams and umpires for a game of footy to happen. Goldy's been umpiring VFL/AFL for nigh on 20 years. Yes he's had some shockers but prolly no more than a player would have in that time.

Umpiring at any level, let alone AFL, is a bloody thankless task. You only ever get things wrong.

How would you feel if you made sacrifices in your life to provide entertainemnt to millions, yet the thanks you got on retirement was a nice round of booing?

Agree. I actually think he is / was a pretty good umpire (ducks). He was a bit of a tosser in that he wanted the same exalted status of the players - but putting that aside, he did umpire very well at times and has had some shockers to. At least he didn't blatantly rig a game like some of his colleagues managed to do!! Put Goldy up against the likes of McLaren, Ray Chamberlain etc.. I reckon we will miss having a decent umpire who can actually understand how a game of footy gets played.

snoopygirl

He used to be one of the better umpires & IMO it's only been the last few years where he has dropped the ball a bit.

Makes you realise that time stops for no man, including Harves.

riccardo

riccardo wrote:

Sorry, I didn't realise Goldy was such a true Australian hero. Maybe I should bow down in gratitude to him and kiss his exaulted toes? :roll:

Its not sportsmanship or anything other than I refuse to change my long standing opinion of someone just because they are retiring.

Call me a bytch if you like, thats just the way I am.

Broodruff

I for one, while I may not always agree with what the umpires do, and as everyone who is somewhat passionate about their team, cursed and sworn and wished horrible things upon them when they got something 'wrong'

Ive always stood by the beleif that, yeah, sure, the umpires get maybe 4 or 5 decisions wrong during a match, maybe 10?

How many times did Riewoldt drop a mark? Miss a goal? How many times did Hudghton miss a spoil. I reakon if you ask any footy player how happy they would be with ONLY making 5 mistakes in a game. They'd be pretty happy.

I've judged for martial arts tournaments, which is a lot like footy, in some regards, its fast, its quick, and when theres big decision to be made, everything has slowed down or stopped, and everyones looking at you.

The first time I judged a tournament, I judged for the whole day, about 8 hours, it was THAT mentally draining, that I fell alseep in the back seat of the car on the way home, which was roughly 6pm.

Dont let all the slow motion replays and different angles of the one incident fool you into thinking you would have made the right decision at that time. I'm sure that the umpires have made a big decision, looked up at a reply and thought "oh.. jeez.. i sure buggered that up"

Sure, they screw up up every now and then, and yeah, like most players, through their career they will have absoloute shockers. But at the end of the day, these guys are what keeps our game going...

Love or hate, they still deserve your respect.

Yeah I will give him a clap after the game, but I will boo any decision he makes against us and cheer for everyone he makes for us...
They're just doing their job, how many people do you know that work in such a fast paced environment?
and how many people do you know that while working every decision they make will make one group happy and the other group pissed off?

Armoooo wrote:Yeah I will give him a clap after the game, but I will boo any decision he makes against us and cheer for everyone he makes for us...
They're just doing their job, how many people do you know that work in such a fast paced environment?
and how many people do you know that while working every decision they make will make one group happy and the other group pissed off?
listened to part of his interview and he said he'd passed on tips to rayza- chamberlain :D and the mantle of ' most hated' umpire
http://sportal.com.au/mediaplayer/audio ... ement-1927

And as for all of those fans who want to know who Goldspink barracked for as a kid before he joining the AFL umpiring ranks, the answer was the Kangaroos

Hmmm..probably wise that I didnt know that back at that game in 2006 when he gave them 4,000 frees on a platter 8-)

Still the biggest spray Ive ever heard a TD crowd give an umpire..not a pinch on a Moorabbin spray, but pretty impressive none the less ;-)

"Thanks for doing your best over the past two decades"

How desperate do you have to be to boo an ump on retirement?

:?

LennyBoy

Goldspink was a good umpire in his day no doubt!! Matthew James is clearly the best umpire in the Comp, yet he is given a crap run by the pathetic administrators of our great game.

Poochy 1 2 3 4 and 5 should be reinstated!
Pwoit

B W and R all over wrote:I can think of a two-word banner that might sum up the football world's sentiments.
THANK YOU :lol: :lol: