Saints players you never really took a shine too

esaint66

Plapp
Monkhurst
Francis
Beetham
Delany

You might as well just say i didnt really like any of the players we got from other clubs from the early 00's

Liked players like Russell morris and shaun raplph smith and darren flanagan.

Some of the players of the 97 team wern't the greatest, but im just so attached to all of them couldn't name any of them.

terry smith rules wrote:boy how you can name david siera, yeah sure did not have the all the skills but had an enormous passion for the club

and played his heart out every time he ran out

poor call

fqf
I respect that he played his heart out and I'm sure he did, but this was more about players I couldn't warm to, and probably unfairly I always saw him as a barometer or human entity of all that is right and wrong with St Kilda...I also and this is not his fault (probably my '97 GF hang up) could not understand why he did not break Jarman's jar for the hits he and his mates targetted Harves with...that should have been a coaches instruction. Apologies Siera, I'll let it go one day.

esaint66

Also didnt like capuano and stevie laurence.

what a crap thread......opportunity to put s*** on nice guys....

esaint66

stinger wrote:what a crap thread......opportunity to put s*** on nice guys....
v
I dont think its about there personality this thread, its about there footballing ability and how certain people didnt really like their style.

And btw stinger there are alot of nice guys that you have probably/almost certainly hung s**t on. So please dont be critical of other people.

saint edward wrote:
stinger wrote:what a crap thread......opportunity to put s*** on nice guys....
v
I dont think its about there personality this thread, its about there footballing ability and how certain people didnt really like their style.

And btw stinger there are alot of nice guys that you have probably/almost certainly hung s**t on. So please dont be critical of other people.

apart from rix, name one..........and i will be as critical of posters posting s*** on saints players as i want to be...... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

rene kink.

was well and truly finished by the time we signed him.

saint edward wrote:Also didnt like capuano and stevie laurence.

you mightn't like him ..but at least you could get his name right......

....it's ......L A W R E N C E ........... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Saint_in_SA

Sam Cranage.

Shanahan. (remember Jarman?). With respect though, Jamie wasn't a bad player, but I just have shocking memories from that day......... and now I don't like him!

A-HUH A-HUH A-HUH
Frankie

Tony Delaney was a ripper bloke, just had nothing in the kit bag skill wise. Mark Gale who we also got from Freo was a waste of time. Caydn Beetham i never liked, just because he wasn't prepared to work on his game. If he'd learned to stop kicking helicopter punts he could've been good.
I agree with Edward. So many in the early 00's that we wasted time with. Sean Charles, Campbell, Knowles, Damien Ryan, Gumby Elliott. Too many to list.

Chad "Lefty" Davis... just never took to him

Mark Gale... awful awful player

Matthew Capuano... only player in the AFL that made Josh Fraser look like an excellent tap ruckman and Matt Maguire a capable ruck

Never really liked Gavin Mitchell either

But no1..... Heath Black, biggest waste of time player in the AFL... only in 2004 did he come even close to reaching his potential... has gone backwards ever since

On Shanahan, he's unfairly maligned. We wouldn't have made the '97 GF without him. I blame Alves for getting that matchup wrong.

skeptic wrote:But no1..... Heath Black, biggest waste of time player in the AFL... only in 2004 did he come even close to reaching his potential... has gone backwards ever since
I'm guessing you didn't watch much footy 2005-2007 ;)

Frankie Coghlan - never laid a tackle in over 100 games.

Craig Devonport - No team ethic and grossly overrated

Robert Mace - Nutjob

Brian Wilson - Pffffft

Barry Brooks - had it all except the most vital ingredient

Im with stinger here..some very good players have been unfairly maligned on here IMHO..I reckon this thread should have been named "players who frustrated you at St Kilda". I take a shine to every single player who's pulls on the RW&B thanks very much.

But..a couple who have frustrated me of late...

Cadyn Beetham. Unlimited God-given talent who thought it would just all happen for him

Allan Murray. Dominated at every level bar AFL

Frankly the more I hear a player sledged at a game by his own supporters, the more I develop a soft spot for them

gindy

David Winbanks.

I went to school with the guy (along with Dave Rhys -Jones), he was crap at school level footy, and I could never believe that he actually played at VFL level. I still shake my head at that one....!

Cadyn Beetham. Unlimited God-given talent who thought it would just all happen for him

so true about beetham :(

the story was told when he was approached by st kilda he said 'dont worry i'll be gone long before your draft pick'

should have smelt a rat there and then.

had it all with regard to raw talent.

saintjake

mark mcgough

a few blokes who would frustrate me....

Gavin Mitchell.

Troy Gray

Tim Elliot

Players I reall rated highly, some might argue incorrectly, Brett Moyle, Damen Shaw, Jason Heatley, Jamie Elliot

evertonfc wrote:
skeptic wrote:But no1..... Heath Black, biggest waste of time player in the AFL... only in 2004 did he come even close to reaching his potential... has gone backwards ever since
I'm guessing you didn't watch much footy 2005-2007 ;)
lol, i'll bite nonetheless (never miss an opportunity to share my view on HB)

I have watched my share of footy in this time and watched Heath Black, 1 of the most skillful, talented players... a player who should be one of the most elite midfielders in the AFL (capable inside, tough, fast and skillful), a guy that can single handedly win games off his own boot... i've watched this guy pi$$ around off a HBF, getting easy kicks, waiting for the ball 2 come to him and sitting back when the game is there to be won...

he is the symbol of what is wrong with Freo... all the talent in the world simply don't demand enough from their players

Heath's 2004 was the best year of his career... if he'd stayed with us and continued to play that brand of football, he'd be an all Australian... maybe even an a brownlow medallist

andrew thompson....

god knows why just never did

Peter Evveritt when he was playing for us,

there is a couple of current players that i dont as well

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:andrew thompson....

god knows why just never did
WASH YOUR MOUTH OUT !!!!

i can give you a whole list of players i suddenly hated with a passion after they left Stkilda ! Hall Everit Black Carr

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:i can give you a whole list of players i suddenly hated with a passion after they left Stkilda ! Hall Everit Black Carr
i hate everitt cause of the way he treated his fans he is a asshole