Guernsey/Jersey

SainterX

Guernsey/Jersey

Just curious, why do so many teams sell advertising then put it where their logos should be? Not knowing much about the history of the AFL/VFL have teams like Collingwood had a badge in the past on the left breast of their guernseys?

It may be inane but I feel proud to see our badge where it belongs on the players shirts :)

Huzzad

Re: Guernsey/Jersey

SainterX wrote:Just curious, why do so many teams sell advertising then put it where their logos should be? Not knowing much about the history of the AFL/VFL have teams like Collingwood had a badge in the past on the left breast of their guernseys?

It may be inane but I feel proud to see our badge where it belongs on the players shirts :)
Yes, but if you knew why we have that badge, you probably would know why we have one and not many others do. The logo/badge was awarded to a team decades ago that was devestated by injury but put on an incredible performance. I forget the year , sorry. To commemorate the defying-the-odds achievement and the bravery of the players in that particular match, those players were given a badge. Soon after, as a reminder of that effort, the badge waas incorperated as a logo on our guernsey. That is how it started, and that is why few other teams have one. The AFL dont ask clubs to put a logo on, we did it out of pride and rememberence and motivation. If only our players looked at that logo last week against the dogs.....

www.wikisaints.com - Your Online St Kilda Encyclopedia!

www.truesainters.com - A Friendly Forum Alternative

http://truesainters.wordpress.com - Player of the Round articles, match previews and reviews
SainterX

Thanks for the info :D

esaint66

I dont remember any other team than carlton having there logo on there jumper - maybe hawthorn and freo but that was just the manufactorors
btw this is excluding us :wink:

Huzzad

SainterX wrote:Thanks for the info :D
You're welcome mate.

www.wikisaints.com - Your Online St Kilda Encyclopedia!

www.truesainters.com - A Friendly Forum Alternative

http://truesainters.wordpress.com - Player of the Round articles, match previews and reviews
Hawkesbury Saint

Spot on Huzzard!

"In all its years of existence it is doubtful if the St Kilda Football Club has ever recorded such a remarkable vistory as it did on May 27, 1933 against North melbourne at the Junction Oval ...

The winter of 1933 saw Melbourne sufering the effects of the economic depression ...

This dependence of many players naturally led to desperation on the field that occasionally manifest itself in vicious and bruising encounters in the first four matches of 1933. St Kilda had not tasted success and their fifth round opponents North melbourne had only one win and a draw ...

At the long interval Cave (gash over left eye) had been joined in the medical rooms by champion full-forward Bill Mohr (fractured ribs) and acting captain Clarrie Hindson (broken fibula) Continuing with only 16 men the Saints suffered another blow when rover 'Tiger' Bence crashed into ateam mate and left the field suffering from concussion ...

... the home crowd booed incessantly as North persisited with their battering tactics. Amazingly, the Saints led by 16 points a the final change, but most spectators thought that they would be unable to sustain their gallantry to the end with only 15 men on the field (one of whom, Jack george was proped up on one leg in the forward pocket).

A rousing cheer propelled the never-say-die Saints at the start of the final quarter and they responded with two quick goals ... deafening roars greeted each St Kilda attack ...

In the end St Kilda's sheer will to win overpowered North and the siren sounded to give the Saints a soul-stirring victory. Jubilant fans carried the brave 15 from the ground ...

After the match the committee struck medals for all members of the team and the shield on those medals was later incorporated into the St Kilda guernsey. It has been there ever since to remind generations of red, white and black fans and players of the spirit that overcame all obstacles decades ago."

from Southern Saints 1986 "1933 - Earning the Shield"

I'm off to read this to my boy, thanks for the reminder Huzzad! Boy the crowd played a big part when you think of it! Go Saints and Go Saint supporters on Saturday!

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.

Hence my footnote

That's a moving story. Puts it all into context a bit.

saint edward wrote:I dont remember any other team than carlton having there logo on there jumper - maybe hawthorn and freo but that was just the manufactorors
I can remember Fitzroy having the same as Carlton, only instead of CFC in white, it was FFC in yellow. That was of course prior to the yellow Lion which migrated to Brisbane in the merger.

esaint66

GrumpyOne wrote:
saint edward wrote:I dont remember any other team than carlton having there logo on there jumper - maybe hawthorn and freo but that was just the manufactorors
I can remember Fitzroy having the same as Carlton, only instead of CFC in white, it was FFC in yellow. That was of course prior to the yellow Lion which migrated to Brisbane in the merger.

Yeah thats right, but im sort of talking about in the past 4 or 5 years.

SainterX wrote:why do so many teams sell advertising then put it where their logos should be?
$

esaint66

Otiman wrote:
SainterX wrote:why do so many teams sell advertising then put it where their logos should be?
$

Hahah well thats an easy answer :lol:

super dooper

Otiman wrote:
$
I think the money aspect works in the Australian sporting environment. However if you ever watch US sports such as basketball or baseball you will notice that there is no sponsorship on the uniform or the court what so ever. They market the franchise that is a sporting team, while we choose to promote other company's when we should be primarily focused on preserving our history.

Im sure we can please our sponsors in many other ways.
Tell me, when ur watching from the stands or tv, do u ever take note of whats sponsor is on the jumper? I can tell you i am focusing on the prune and looking where the ball could go next!

Advertising like the repetitive one featuring Goose and the pick a door comp, is more useful in plugging a sponsor on a jumper imo

super dooper wrote: They market the franchise that is a sporting team, while we choose to promote other company's when we should be primarily focused on preserving our history.
The issue is that we are running a fine line on sponsorship and operating costs. In fact, Sponsorship makes for a huge percentage of club revenue. Take this away and clubs won't exist, meaning whilst history will be rich, future will be non existant. It's just the bleeding edge nature of australian sport. You aren't going to sway many people to support your club through self advertising like that.

esaint66

super dooper wrote:I think the money aspect works in the Australian sporting environment. However if you ever watch US sports such as basketball or baseball you will notice that there is no sponsorship on the uniform or the court what so ever. They market the franchise that is a sporting team, while we choose to promote other company's when we should be primarily focused on preserving our history.

But also when you watch American sports every 5 seconds (like the footy show) they have a plug.

IMO sponsership plays a big part in our game think of places like geelong and collingwood, geelong having ford as their main sponser for over 20 years them having a factory down there and collingwood in the 80's being sponsered by hard yakka being a working class team/suburb.

I belive the main reason American teams dont have sponsors is because they have owners and dont need sponsors. The plugs come from the networks the sports are shown on. The $ for the US teams/leagues are provided by multi millionairs that own the teams, the money we need to survive comes from the advertising from memberships and sponsors. It has zero to do with history and everything to do with ownership.

As far as I am concerned the American way of owners and free agency and no salery caps makes a farce out of their sport. If we ever got to the level where a David Beckham type player can earn more than the rest of the league put togther it would be the end of sport in Australia.