Booking the Busker at Telstra

aussiejones

Booking the Busker at Telstra

On the bridge the SAINTS buskers were being booked by the police !!!

That was the last straw ...........

Apparently they have been there for 7 years .........

I WAS ANGRY

dascman

Yeah does anyone know what was up with that? What was the rationale behind it?

I saw it but walked past...

Are you talking about the boys playing the Saint Funeral March.
Or Mr Classical Gas, who for the second week was playing some other song.

Both were playing "undisturbed" when I walked past about 10 mins after the siren.

What possible harm would they be causing ?
I know they Melb Council have some permit system to control buskers in the Bourke St Mall, but I didn't think it was illegal in other places ?

Both were still there at 6pm

I'll blame Collo.

No doubt he's introduced a rule that bans buskers within 200 metres of TD, just like commercially prepared food is banned from being brought into TD, and pass outs are only at certain gates.

I think it's time he has another heart attack. :lol:

The Jeff

I was so damn angry when I walked past. The classical guitar player was apparently OK. But as for the other two buskers (who are fantastic by the way!!!) to be surround by 4-5 police was a disgrace. Go get some real criminals... :evil:

The guys read this site so hopefully they'll be able to shed some light on what happened at some point.

Theyve been playing there for yonks, so unless they didnt renew a permit or something I cant see the problem

Tacky comment about the heart attack SP..totally uncalled for. I know facts shouldnt get in the way of a good sledge, but TD have no jurasticton on that footbridge. Its controlled by the City of Melbourne, whose by-laws officers gave Son'of'66 and myself a hard time back in 2003 when we were handing out MW fliers. Its also the reason why those people who were handing out the Harveys masks in 2006 and 2007 were told not to stray onto the footbridge and only hand them out on the TD concourse.

esaint66

That is really poor form.

I love it when we win and when they play the funeral march it always makes me feel a little better :D

Those blokes have made around about $10 of me in the past, money well spent in my books so cops f**k off !! :x :x

The police arent gonna be there for a by-laws infringement. I'm tipping there might have been a bit of abuse (or worse) hurled at them and the police were getting their side of things. They might have had enough by this stage and wanted to call it a night

They must have thick skins those boys..they'd cop heaps from feral opposition fans (and geelong have their share by Crikey) especially after a loss

aussiejones

From what I heard ....

They have been coming there for 7 years.and explained to cops that there is no permit available for that spot....

They were cheching photo ID . People were booing .. but no abuse .
Fans were saying .. leave them alone !!!

I walked off ........ not happy

Breaking News from TD.

Ian Collins and Andrew Demetriou is pleased to announce that new AFL approved and logo'd buskers will now be available to play a variety of toons for fans.

the new AFL approved and designed instruments include the hoboe (a sort of cello/oboe hybrid) and the Clitarius (a clarinet/guitar/bus horn hybrid).

Fans will be able to tip with donations starting at $4 for to $20, with executive seating sponsorship at $120.

The AFL has also announced McDumplings will be branding and logoing the shors and Enron will be branding and logoing the shirts and out of respect fans not come to the footy and listen tot eh AFL approved buskers in clashing kits.

the AFL has announced franchises will be available in All 18 teams from 2011, including the new football songs "how much is that dollar in the pocket' and the 'Demetrious gangsta paradise rap"

non approved buskers have already been rounded up and shot.

please support your AFL approved buskers with a variety of new busker merchandise being released in 2008, with busker trading cards, busker jumpers and flesh of the dead busker.

thank you for your support.

Ian Collins and Andrew Dementedtrue.

riccardo

Sorry, but they are not repeat ARE NOT St Kilda supporters, they just play our song at games.

I have seen them at the Storm, Victory games, as well as at a Carlton Vs Melbourne game in Blues gear blasting out "We are the Navy Blues" for all they are worth.

They are just trying to make a buck out of you, like any other loser who asks you for money on the street.

riccardo wrote:Sorry, but they are not repeat ARE NOT St Kilda supporters, they just play our song at games.

I have seen them at the Storm, Victory games, as well as at a Carlton Vs Melbourne game in Blues gear blasting out "We are the Navy Blues" for all they are worth.

They are just trying to make a buck out of you, like any other loser who asks you for money on the street.
Fair go Ricc.

These guys are performers, not the beggars you see on the streets ripping you off for a supposed "cup of coffee". They are actually doing something for their money.

If you don't like it.... don't give them anything. If it wasn't worth their while being there, they wouldn't be there.

The Peanut

riccardo wrote:Sorry, but they are not repeat ARE NOT St Kilda supporters, they just play our song at games.

They are performers - Although we would like all people to follow the mighty Saints, its just not going to happen. It would be fairly awkward to go through life turning up your nose at everyone that isn't one of us.

I feel at home walking into the dome via the buskers and their mournful tune when we lose somehow softens the blow a little and reminds me that we all share the loss together and that its not the end of the earth.

I have even bought their CD. :wink:

Russman

Hmm,
They sell their CDs in my son's trumpet teacher's shop. He probably knows them. I'll see what I can find out tomorrow.

Do , or Do not , There is no try.

they don't cause me any grief

they are funny, they don't ask people for money, and they look like they are genuinely tired after playing for nearly 2 hours before the game and an hour afterwards.

sure they make a lot of money, but you can't blame them if people give it to them.

i have no problem with buskers or beggers.

Back off Ric..that was totally uncalled for :twisted:

Yeah those guys might play at other games..BUT..have you ever taken the time to stop and have a chat to them? Well I and others have. A couple of lovely fellas who might just be closer to the Saints than you think. Ever noticed that they DONT play opposition songs if they beat the Saints?? There might be a reason for that you know.

I challenge you..stop and give them that spray to their faces rather than potting them here..which they may read anyway as they DO read this site

Sorry mate..but that was a cheap shot from ya

riccardo

Yeah those guys might play at other games..BUT..have you ever taken the time to stop and have a chat to them? Well I and others have. A couple of lovely fellas who might just be closer to the Saints than you think. Ever noticed that they DONT play opposition songs if they beat the Saints?? There might be a reason for that you know.

I challenge you..stop and give them that spray to their faces rather than potting them here..which they may read anyway as they DO read this site

Too friggen bad, "mate".

That is how I feel now, that is how I've always felt. Why you can't handle that someone elses opinion is different than yours is beyond me.

So what if I don't like them? So what if I don't think they barrack for us, or if I think they are as opportunistic as any other busker? What skin is it off your nose?

You are so big on confronting people - why do you never say any of the myriad of nasty things you say to me online to MY face? So many people are willing to be bullies when they can't see you, and then are nice as pie to your face - very sad. :roll:

riccardo

st paddy wrote:

Yes ur right about them playing all other clubs songs - (this is why i stopped giving them money some time ago)

...BUT...

what a nasty, petty, miserable litte man u are with ur attitude about the "losers on the street" - people like you make me puke!

How is ur life any more significant or worthwhile than theirs?

Take a good look at urself you deadbeat!
Gosh, struck a nerve there.

For the record, could care less what you or anyone else thinks of me, this sites sniping and backbiting is starting to become disturbingly like an episode of Maury Povich.

Barely worth coming on here anymore if its just to get abused. :roll:

riccardo wrote:

Too friggen bad, "mate".

That is how I feel now, that is how I've always felt. Why you can't handle that someone elses opinion is different than yours is beyond me.

So what if I don't like them? So what if I don't think they barrack for us, or if I think they are as opportunistic as any other busker? What skin is it off your nose?

You are so big on confronting people - why do you never say any of the myriad of nasty things you say to me online to MY face? So many people are willing to be bullies when they can't see you, and then are nice as pie to your face - very sad. :roll:
Ooh, somebody gets cut up pretty easily when their posts are questioned, don't they?

Feel free to post your opinions Ricc, just don't cut up rough when we disagree with you. You come over a bit petulant when you do that.

riccardo

Disagreement is one thing, but to be attacked by 5 or 6 people is slightly over the top. What business is it of anyones top question me anyway?

What do you want me to do exactly? Agree I'm a nasty little idiot and back down? Not a snowballs chance in hell.
Last edited by riccardo on Mon 14 Apr 2008 2:28pm, edited 1 time in total.

riccardo wrote:Disagreement is one thing, but to be attacked by 5 or 6 people is slightly over the top.

What do you want me to do exactl ? Agree I'm a nasty little idiot and back down? Not a snowballs chance in hell.
Comprehend that your views are at odds with the majority and move on.

No dramas Ric..you know Ill discuss any issue with you at games.

Do you know for a FACT that they arent Saints fans..as you vehemently claim?

Just curious what evidence you have other than hearing them play other teams songs

riccardo

GrumpyOne wrote:
riccardo wrote:Disagreement is one thing, but to be attacked by 5 or 6 people is slightly over the top.

What do you want me to do exactl ? Agree I'm a nasty little idiot and back down? Not a snowballs chance in hell.
Comprehend that your views are at odds with the majority and move on.
After being abused like that? Would you?

riccardo

saint66au wrote:No dramas Ric..you know Ill discuss any issue with you at games.

Do you know for a FACT that they arent Saints fans..as you vehemently claim?

Just curious what evidence you have other than hearing them play other teams songs
It is admittedly second hand information, but I do have it on good authority.

Wheres your evidence they are?