Maguire

Maguire

I acknowledge he has played very good games in the past......(although I dismiss that he has ever been consistently good defender, and I think he is seriously overrated on this Forum....)

I also acknowledge he has come back from Leg injuries......and that takes time heal properly....

but...

ATM he is the WORST player in the AFL IMHO.....he is constantly lost on the ground, and loses his opponent with regularity.....he is seriously clumsy in the contest......he has very poor skills.....and is slower than Kosi....he also blows harder than Anthony Rocca after a long lead.....

he is a less athletic version of Jason Blake..

How is Goose getting a game?.....I watched him struggle to get a kick at Casey ....... he was far from ready....

It could be said that all the following are well down on the best form
Dal
Gram
Frase
Raph
Fiora
Riewoldt
Kosi
Bakes

But Goose has ZERO form...

sorry I'll take the bait

do you actually watch the game

last night dal was excellent and if you think 25 odd possessions 5 inside 50s is only ordinary then....

31 has looked ordinary but last night took a couple of great marks

ran forward as an option and is nowhere near the worst player,

oh ye of little faith

fqf

I'll take the bait also.

Spot on, 100% accurate.

Once again a case of saints fans making legends out of a few good games. To be fair hes had horrible injuries but lets face facts - he was struggling prior and IMO the current game has gone past him.

He can only run in a straight line
He has poor skills and BOMBS the football
He's dreadful below the knees...

Sorry to say he needs an extended break in the 2's.

Id rather see Ferguson (no not gwilt) or maybe Allen given some experience dowen there - Maguire is a liability at present.

Goose played a fantastic 2005 & was pretty good for most of 2006 before the broken leg.

He was close to the best CHB in the comp in 05 (I think Pavlich got All Aus CHB & he hardly ever played there).

At the moment he is like a chook without a head...but at least he has a reason...there's heaps of others that are in a similar boat but aren't coming back from 18 months out of the game.

Statsman

Looks like Goose is out for an extended period with another foot injury, so the issues kind of takes care of itself for a while. Hopefully he'll get his foot right then play several games with the Scorps to regain his form, fitness, confidence and skills, If we're lucky he'll return prior to the finals (if we make it) and resemble something close to his former self.

"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates." - Earvin 'Magic' Johnson
saint64

I thought Maguire wasn't too bad yesterday. Nor was Raph for that matter.

Maguire is a FAIR DINKUM liability, some carry on like he's an AA CHB basing this on 2004 and 2005 form

hello, it's 2008, it's like comparing Paris Hilton to Mother Theresa

Was lucky not to give away a 50 metre penalty after another soft effort

getting outmarked by Riewoldt one out in the last quarter was as soft as it gets

runs around like a prima donna

no wonder Max gave him a fair dinkum spray

Maguire is cactus atm

I have already bagged Goose, why start another thread.

Mods shut it down.

If Ross Lyon holds the same views as the initial post then we may trade him
at years end,if anyone wants him.........

hello, it's 2008, it's like comparing Paris Hilton to Mother Theresa
Interesting analogy Barks..depends whether your looking beyond the cheap sex appeal and at the spirit of someone pretty special and selfless...Matty is coming off an injury that threatened his leg [compartment syndrome] and significant foot stress fractures.He will take some time a la Nathan Brown to get back to where he was...but he has character to burn and I refuse to write him off :x

Its true my man sucks at the minute :cry: :cry: :cry:

well Goose is out for a injured now for a while anyway........

4ever_saint

if SEN is right, you guys don't have to put up with him for the rest of the year- out for the season apparently.

The latest injury could just about be the end for him. He's played one decent game since 2005 and just looks lost these days. The string of injuries must be slowing him down more and more, making it even harder to re-establish himself.

If anyone would give us a top 25 pick for him, I'd take it. We could've gotten a top 8 pick a few years ago.

SaintBot

mad saint guy wrote:The latest injury could just about be the end for him. He's played one decent game since 2005 and just looks lost these days. The string of injuries must be slowing him down more and more, making it even harder to re-establish himself.

If anyone would give us a top 25 pick for him, I'd take it. We could've gotten a top 8 pick a few years ago.
What was Carlton/Hawthorn willing to offer us last year?

Animal Enclosure wrote:Goose played a fantastic 2005 & was pretty good for most of 2006 before the broken leg.

He was close to the best CHB in the comp in 05 (I think Pavlich got All Aus CHB & he hardly ever played there).

At the moment he is like a chook without a head...but at least he has a reason...there's heaps of others that are in a similar boat but aren't coming back from 18 months out of the game.
He was dropped from the team for form in 06 and wasnt great at all. I actually agree with Grant Thomas - Maguire can ONLY run sraight lines....put a player with some flexibiluity on him and its like watching Frankenstein chasing a hamburger round corners.

I was shot down by most of the forumites here for the mere suggestion of Goose's retirement. Surely some must see that sadly an early retirement is looking more and more likely for Goose.

Here's the thread, just for fun.
http://www.saintsational.com/forum/view ... hp?t=40155