Boring selections....

Blake, Fisher - been there before..........more stoppers....snore

Hudghton - picked yet another underdone player.....

King/Gardner/Kosi/Gehrig/Blake/Goddard/L.Fisher - plenty of speed there...

Ball/Hayes/Armo/Dal in a lightning quick midfield.....

Seriously - how bout picking some exciting players.....or some different players with a bit of form......use you imagination a bit...

Your teams....game plans...personality....are all equally as boring...

Spring a surprise
Give Mini or Ferg a last chance, both deserved on form...or
See if young Allen or Geary a run to inject some youthful optomisism...or
Elevate a deserved Eddy and give him a shot....or
Bring in Fiora for some run through the middle...

Stop playing average playes and see if we can find a good player, in the ones you DON"T give opportunities to...

Take a risk FFS........team aswell.....

Re: Boring selections....

BigMart wrote:Blake, Fisher - been there before..........more stoppers....snore

Seriously - how bout picking some exciting players.....or some different players with a bit of form......use you imagination a bit...

Spring a surprise

Stop playing average playes and see if we can find a good player, in the ones you DON"T give opportunities to...

Just one question. Why does Eddy deserve to be promoted? And Fiora if we played him you would probably say we are just playing the same old players. What has he done since he was dropped. Allen was emergency last week and didnt perform in a weaker comp so why would he perform in a stronger one. All he had to do was play well and he would have been in but he couldnt.

Spring a surprise

fiora is not in good form, neither is eddy. geary is unlucky with fisher in front of him. otherwise the changes are to stiffen the back line with the loss of baker and goose. I can't see how selecting allen or ferg will help the backline?

If you are losing 4 players to injury it's hard to make other changes like allen/fergusson for gehrig or geary for gram

why is there another thread on this?

Tend to agree but could see it coming.

Fact is....We need to stop cold 2-3 of Medhurst/Thomas/Didak/Davis..or we will lose. The selections reflect that

Geary to replace Max if he doesnt come up..cant see Ferg kicking 7 for the Scorps then getting used in defence for St Kilda??

How in Gardners form?
Gehrig's Form?
Gram's Form?
Maguire form (when he was picked)
Dempsters Form?
Raph's form?
etc, etc......he just picks names

Fiora brings one thing to the team we lack.......penetration by run and by foot.....but why would we want to move the ball quickly, when it goes against the lack-lustre style of footy we play....thank god Heath Black doesn't play at St.K under Lyon, with his long kicking, unacountable game style.....Fiora plays a high risk game - which is why he is benched, when he plays....for not taking the secure option...if it wasn't for his appaulling goalkicking - he would have been one of our more damaging offensive midfielders over the last three years (<40% accuracy)

Eddy has not played a bad game at Casey (from an ass. coach there).....he gets assigned roles and does them week in week out...has been good for two years...

Remember - Defence before offence at all times......

Just sick of seeing the same old mediocre faces........show some balls, and find a player...ie/Sharrod Wellingham (might be sh*t, but least they will find out)h

Give McQualter and Ferguson a last chance.

And that is excitement?

Now if you were calling for Howard, Allen, McEvoy or Stevens (or any one of them) to be given a go, you could justify.

But not players who have previously been de-listed.

Whilst we are sitting where we are, the best we are going to get in terms of injection of youth is one or two given a game or two.

If we fall by the wayside, then those 4 kids will be given their chances.

And, with plenty of hacking at the list, more will get an opportunity in 2009. because we will have an injection of drafted youth.

In respect to Casey's form last week, they won by over 20 goals so the opposition was pretty ordinary.

Bit like making a 100 against a schoolboy side, and finding yourself in the Test team the next week.

Huge jump in class.

I am not surprised the Casey form was discounted to some degree.

well, will we whinge about the same old names after friday?....IMO we have a slow, boring team....

Macca, Steven - not ready for AFL footy....

Howard is terrible....at VFL level..lucky to play seniors IMO....

All McQualter and Ferg can do is play well at the second best level in the country (was the opposition poor, or Casey good or both..Bullants are not near the bottom) why are they on the list, if we have zero intention of ever playing them....they are currently the best performed 2 in the VFL....McQualters has 3 BOG's in 6 games....Ferg had 13 shots at goal last week, and took 12 in the F50....

The analogy going from schoolboy cricket to Test cricket is strange, because that never happens......why would you not say....form from STATE cricket (the next level down) to test cricket - which actually happens ie/Katich being picked again at 32....after an unsuccessful stint - due to great domestic form.......if CASY form is irrelevent....why play there????

Remember, Ferg and Mini were picked at #22 and #17 in successive drafts.....and at one stage were considered future players.....maybe they took a while to arrive ala Andrew Thompson/Montagna

As I said earlier this week, with Fraser out for them and King in for us should tip the scales our way.

IF Kingy does actually play along with Gardiner, we look very strong in the ruck compared to them. Gives us a huge advantage and confidence for the midfield. It's then up to Kosi and Milney up forward to deliver the end result, plus some goals from the midfielders.

Simple aint it???

give BARRY BROOKS a go !!! .... whoops wrong year :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol:

great team. should do the job I reckon.

We should have had Ferg in the forward line,well,even if he was picked in the side he'd probably spend half the game on the bench.........

I agree...boring

Fancy relying on Gayrig and Kosi to kick a bag of goals with the form they've been in..............

Anyway,i'm still looking forward to the game.......

State cricket is an un-compromising and tough competition, in the lead up to Test cricket.

Playing in the forward line in a side which wins by 20 goals (and did the other side kick a goal in the first half?) is akin to men playing against schoolboys.

If you get wrapped by a forward kicking 7 goals when the ball is in the forward line all day, then go ahead.

But do not say you were not warned.

Someone mentioned Brooks, who used to kick goals in a team that was getting thrashed every week.

Playing at full forward, how many would he have kicked last week for Casey?

Good consistent form against the best opposition in the competition is the benchmark for promotion.

And BOTH McQualter and Ferguson were de-listed.

So holding great hopes is probably a little premature - and the reason we look for drafted players who have not yet had their opportunity at AFL level, because they are the future of the club.

To the top wrote:State cricket is an un-compromising and tough competition, in the lead up to Test cricket.

Playing in the forward line in a side which wins by 20 goals (and did the other side kick a goal in the first half?) is akin to men playing against schoolboys.

If you get wrapped by a forward kicking 7 goals when the ball is in the forward line all day, then go ahead.

But do not say you were not warned.

Someone mentioned Brooks, who used to kick goals in a team that was getting thrashed every week.

Playing at full forward, how many would he have kicked last week for Casey?

Good consistent form against the best opposition in the competition is the benchmark for promotion.

And BOTH McQualter and Ferguson were de-listed.

So holding great hopes is probably a little premature - and the reason we look for drafted players who have not yet had their opportunity at AFL level, because they are the future of the club.
Do you still think we will keep Brooks?

Well Plugger 66, I would have kept him in preference to Rix - and particularly as it has turned out with King and Gardiner - and the need to play Kosi in the ruck when either of them has been injured.

More options as a back up player than Rix.

But, that was the call the Match Committee made.

As I have mentioned, someone else in the thread raised Brooks - the line I have taken being how many times did Brooks feature in the best for Casey in 2007?

And where is the comparison between the second or third competition in the land and the AFL?

So do not be overly seduced by someone kicking 7 goals for a VFL side which has won by 20 goals - because you need a proper assessment of the competition to put the effort into perspective.

The Peanut

In 24 hours we'll have an idea whether the selected team will stand up against Collingwood and it may have been tempting for the selection committee to pull a couple of youngsters out of the 2's to add some pace.

If Max is fully fit, as I imagine he is, the side looks petty good to me. With Kingy back and Gardi sitting on the bench to help him out we may get our clearances without having to run the ball off the backline to get any opportunities.

Birrsy's and Raph's legs have got some run in them and Blakey (Mr honest) is a pretty handy seat warmer to have up our sleeves for doing a few odd jobs around the ground.

Although there are some outs that would be more than handy I believe this is the mix that have a chance to pull off a good win in what I perceive to be best for the Ross Lyon game style.

I am expecting Kosi to step up tomorrow night and hopefully he will have a few mates.

To the top wrote:Well Plugger 66, I would have kept him in preference to Rix - and particularly as it has turned out with King and Gardiner - and the need to play Kosi in the ruck when either of them has been injured.

As I have mentioned, someone else in the thread raised Brooks - the line I have taken being how many times did Brooks feature in the best for Casey in 2007?

And where is the comparison between the second or third competition in the land and the AFL?

So do not be overly seduced by someone kicking 7 goals for a VFL side which has won by 20 goals - because you need a proper assessment of the competition to put the effort into perspective.
Do not be seduced by Barry Brookes...he was/is a dud......

To the top wrote:Well Plugger 66, I would have kept him in preference to Rix - and particularly as it has turned out with King and Gardiner - and the need to play Kosi in the ruck when either of them has been injured.

Well what is more important is that Ferg has been in the best 3 times in 6 games so it isnt just 7 goals in one game.

yeah, lets change for changes sake!

thats an AWESOME plan!

Could argue that Ferg was one of the reasons they won by 20 goals...

Brooks chipped in with a couple of goals a week at FF for Casey (40 for the year) with a best bag against Tassie of 7....in 2005....his best footy was played in the ruck in 2007....he never took 12 marks in the F50 and never had 13 shots at goal in one game.....Ferg had huge wraps as an 18yo and has had a hideous run.....he may never make it.....has he had an extended shot at it?????

Mini had bigger wraps.....Vic Country Capt.....dominant Junior....looked VG early and stalled....why????.....he couldn't even get a kick at Casey

he is finally playing well......is he back??????

at 23 Andrew Thompson was playing with the old Melbounians in the VAFA and was invitied to play for StK reserves......the next year he played in an AFL Grand Final.....three years later he was Best and Fairest....and the following he was VC.

Can't only pin our hopes on 18yo untried......

Sam Fisher anyone.......he was playing golf at 18yo...

yeh I'm with you on this one mart. Would have preferred to have seen Geary and Allen in the side instead of Blake and L.Fisher.

st.byron wrote:

yeh I'm with you on this one mart. Would have preferred to have seen Geary and Allen in the side instead of Blake and L.Fisher.
how did Geary and Allen go compared to Blake and Fisher last week at Casey......?

mightysainters

disappointed CJ wasn't picked and actually play him on the wing where his pace is damaging and is a ball magnet...

mightysainters wrote:disappointed CJ wasn't picked and actually play him on the wing where his pace is damaging and is a ball magnet...
The main skill of a wingman is delivery to the forward line. how does he go in that department.

mightysainters wrote:disappointed CJ wasn't picked and actually play him on the wing where his pace is damaging and is a ball magnet...
The main skill of a wingman is delivery to the forward line. how does he go in that department.
i heard he was best on ground last week

u can't ignore that