Aboriginal Players

jackal

Aboriginal Players

Would we be the only club without an indigenous player playing this weekend?
Personally I find this dissapointing and the club should really be looking at recruiting some Indigenous talent, not because they are Aboriginal per say but because it would add an additional dimension to our side that is lacking; pace and flair.

Re: Aboriginal Players

jackal wrote:Would we be the only club without an indigenous player playing this weekend?
Personally I find this dissapointing and the club should really be looking at recruiting some Indigenous talent, not because they are Aboriginal per say but because it would add an additional dimension to our side that is lacking; pace and flair.
indigenous players only are ever pocket players really apart from the occassional johnson from freo or ryder from the dons...oh and franklin...

they look good cause they pull something from their behind once a game but apart from that they do bugger all (look at the kanga's forward pockets...do nothing but one decent tackle or goal a game)

very overrated due to their ability to make the highlight reel...

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
jackal wrote:Would we be the only club without an indigenous player playing this weekend?
indigenous players only are ever pocket players really apart from the occassional johnson from freo or ryder from the dons...oh and franklin...

they look good cause they pull something from their behind once a game but apart from that they do bugger all (look at the kanga's forward pockets...do nothing but one decent tackle or goal a game)

So you have not seen Goodes play??

Or the Burgoynes?????

Polly Farmer reinvented how ruckman play.....

Winmar I thought was handy on a wing....and in the top handful of Saints ever....

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:they look good cause they pull something from their behind once a game but apart from that they do bugger all
Wouldn't mind having a few players like Kerr, P. Burgoyne, S. Burgoyne, Goodes, Wirrpanda, Al. Davey, Davis, Farmer or Rioli at St Kilda. Put any two or three of those players into the team and we instantly become a much better team.

Even known inconsistent players like Medhurst and Betts would be automatic starters for their pace and skill.
(look at the kanga's forward pockets...do nothing but one decent tackle or goal a game) very overrated due to their ability to make the highlight reel...
A decent tackle and a goal per game is more than what we've been getting from some guys getting games.

mad saint guy wrote:
Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:they look good cause they pull something from their behind once a game but apart from that they do bugger all
Wouldn't mind having a few players like Kerr, P. Burgoyne, S. Burgoyne, Goodes, Wirrpanda, Al. Davey, Davis, Farmer or Rioli at St Kilda. Put any two or three of those players into the team and we instantly become a much better team.

Even known inconsistent players like Medhurst and Betts would be automatic starters for their pace and skill.
(look at the kanga's forward pockets...do nothing but one decent tackle or goal a game) very overrated due to their ability to make the highlight reel...
A decent tackle and a goal per game is more than what we've been getting from some guys getting games.
Kerr isnt aboringinal.

What a stupid post.

Why not recruit players based on their individual talents.....Rather then by stereotyping them because of the color of their skin.

Maybe we could bring back Alan Murray, fair bit of flair there.

What a stupid post.

Why not recruit players based on their individual talents.....Rather then by stereotyping them because of the color of their skin.

that was my point...not so susinctly put

mad saint guy wrote:

Kerr isnt aboringinal.
neither is medhurst Kerr is of indian decent and Medhurst is of macedonian decent .

but serioulsy if we wish to fully embrace equallity in this country we gotta stop classing players cause they have aboriginal herritage Nicky Winmar was a great player who was aboriginal not a great aboriginal player......see the player not the race !!

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:

Kerr isnt aboringinal.
neither is medhurst Kerr is of indian decent and Medhurst is of macedonian decent .

but serioulsy if we wish to fully embrace equallity in this country we gotta stop classing players cause they have aboriginal herritage Nicky Winmar was a great player who was aboriginal not a great aboriginal player......see the player not the race !!

cha ching!!!!

my les foote

What a stupid post.

that was my point...not so susinctly put
I don't think it was your point.

Win it for HIM!

In which rounds are we honouring players from Italy, Greece and Kazakhstan ?

Enrico_Misso wrote:In which rounds are we honouring players from Italy, Greece and Kazakhstan ?
Every round is an Italian round for St Kilda.

Ball (Russo), Dal Santo, Montagna, Fiora.......!!!!

congorozides

mate are you crazy. you obviously have issues.
goodes, darryl white, o'loughlin... pocket players?

wirapanda has been hard nut week in week out for 10 years now.
winmar was the best tackler i have ever seen. andy mcleod has been doing it for 10 years now week in week out. johncock, burgoynes, all consitenet all round players for long periods... cant believe we are having this discussion. maybe your view has been tainted by the clarke brothers.

but i agree with the poster. disapointing we have missed out on new guys like cyril and josh hill.

congorozides

mad saint guy wrote:

kerr is sri lankan!

aside from the obvious offensiveness of this post , I will make the following observations

I believe that the St. Kilda FC was one of the first clubs to consistently recruit and play indigenous players.

I think you will find Hawthorn and a couple of other clubs have only recently begun to recruit indigenous players.

We now have X and R , but over the last 40 years we have had sides with many great indigenous players, obviously winmar muir ,mcadam, jeffrey, narkle, mitchell

It is fantastic to have a round to celebrate the contribution that indigenous players have made.

Trite comments like why not celebrate Italian players, do nothing to improve the posters standing.

Please go and read about Australia and the games history before making posts like that.

fqf

what we want is an aboriginal player who can kick a couple of goals, lay off a couple, frustrate the opposition, offer a bit of forward pressure and support the big men with a bit of flair and dash

I reckon we are pretty luck to have Stephen Milne in the side...

killa_gram

congorozides wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:

kerr is sri lankan!
I thought Kerr was of Mauritiun heritage.

Innocent until proven guilty!

I'm Baaaaaaaaack!!!!!!
Apu

congorozides wrote: kerr is sri lankan!
Kerr is definitley half Indian. Theres not many of us indians playing, so we need all all the credit we can get!!!

BTW here is a great wikipedia page that lists players by their ethnicity

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VF ... _ethnicity

BTW here is a great wikipedia page that lists players by their ethnicity

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VF ... _ethnicity[/quote]

Interesting, but gawd there's some drivel there...Nick Riewoldt speaks with a German accent and eats sour kraut for lunch, does he? Just because you've got a surname of Germanic extract doesn't make you German...I'm not French! Wikipedia...it's not an encyclopedia, it's a role playing game!!!

The Peanut

Personally I find this disappointing and the club should really be looking at recruiting some Indigenous talent, not because they are Aboriginal per say but because it would add an additional dimension to our side that is lacking; pace and flair.
Well, it's bad luck we don't have any indigenous players on the turf this Sunday but we can't just go and pick players for this point alone - and we should't be recruiting indigenous players on race alone.

However, I have no problems in you opening this thread on the issue and believe that you, and many others, are licking their lips at some of the smaller pacey indigenous players going around at the moment - especially Saints supporters, because of our perceived lack of pace and x factor.
Enrico_Misso wrote:In which rounds are we honouring players from Italy, Greece and Kazakhstan ?
If footy matches can significantly help any community sub cultural group I can't see any problems with our club and the AFL supporting the cause. If awareness and promotion can improve peoples way of life, surely it will strengthen our community in general, 'Italians, Greeks and Kazakhstans' included, if and when we believed they needed it. We even have a match to help promote awareness of cancer research and our club is involved with various schemes to improve the lives of disadvantaged people.

I can remember when Italian and Greek people/players were marginalised and called "Filthy Dago's", "Greezy Greeks" and worse by supporters, opposition players and myself included - Just as well they came from a less fragile cultural background and the racial vilification laws weren't around then.

twirlyhair

\\\\
Possibly the biggest load of bs that i have ever heard...does this bloke know anything about footy?...Or maybe there is something more to this than an honest assessment of playing abilty?

I'd like to see us recruit more X factor players.

I'm quite comfortable with a special weekend for aboriginal footballers - it's a unique case (IMO) where the indigenous community has had a deep and positive impact on the broader community. The racially driven stereotypes of flashy, explosive and exciting players hold up to scrutiny from my perspective. It's probably one of the first workplaces in greater Australia that aboriginals were accepted on their merits.

Having said that, two facts lead me to support your quest for an annual AFL Wogfest.

a) I have a woggy surname and
b) my 5yo chose to go to mufti day in the heritage away strip (coupled with saints shorts, socks and his 2008 members scarf - he's indoctrinated now! )He needs something to celebrate when he runs out for us in 2021.

I'm thinking it was a bit of a pysstake but I could be wrong.

I love winmar not because he was aboriginal but because of the way he played.

stereotyping occurs, yes, 4 clubs tried to turn Dale Kickett into a high marking dashing HFF/FP, played his best footy off the HBF

Wirrapanda was originally seen as a dashing HFF, now a brilliant B/P

wanganeen, BP/HBF/wingman occassional forward.

Michael O'laughlin, most overrated FP, for a guy of his size, build and skill, he's a lazy prick, nothing to do with being aboriginal, just another doc whealdon

Folks look and point at the aboriginal HFF/FP running around essendon, Richmond and Melbourne and say 'where's ours" I point to schneider and Milne and say 'THERE!'

Judge the player for the player not by the colour.

The comments I make about Mal Michael, I'd make the same about micky martyn and Mick Gayfer and at the end of his career Gary Pert too. Stupid thug gorilla backmen, nothing racist in it, just a description of their style.

I used to love the PRE GF highlights reel for winmar, barker, Dale Kickett, Locket a dn Loewe's marks that made about 20 of the 200 odd marks they took, about 5 from barker and winmar each, one screamer from plugger over Dougie Hawkins (I was there at western Oval, Plugger kicked 3.5 that day :() and a couple of risers from buckets.

I admire the amazing atheleticism of Buddy but <injunction> makes him a protected player.

Folks make comments about Goodes being a 'protected species" because of his aboriginality, I would say he is a protected species because he's a swan.

Get over the colour thing, its not 1995 any more, and even the filth have embraced our indiginous brothers in their team (well most of them Joffa probably still squirms when Neon Leon scores a goal)

I heard on SEN that our president rang in to say Raph & X are both travelling to Darwin because their father is ill.

Good luck and best wishes to both them and their family.