Saints to affiliate with Sandringham

bobmurray wrote:Will it help us with our goal kicking accuracy,will it make us play a more attacking game style,will it improve the quality of our midfield and will it help us find another key defender,if not,i'm not overly excited with it.......
don't know about goal kickng accuracy but wind conditions would be similar to Casey- first game of the VFL season there was a definite breeze advantage which the scorps didn't take advantage of,

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:its great to see us back at trevor barker oval
I live not far from TB Oval, so just went for an evening walk down there and wandered along the wing.

Can just imagine strolling down there at the weekends next year and seeing
- our up-and-comers and
- our down-and-outs and
- our coming-backs and
- our out-of-favours
all doing their best to impress. :D :D

SENsaintsational wrote:B4E will be happy, as this now brings Grant Thomas back into the fold.

As father of TAC Sandringham Dragon Tyson!!
Go you good thing, hope Tyson dominates.

You'll be pleased to know Grant and I are on speaking terms and catching up for a coffee and chat soon :)

saintbart wrote:Well for what its worth I reckon its a CRAP decision.

We have already agreed to move our training base to Frankston, so why did we choose another club to align with??

We need some synergies between where we train and the VFL club we align with. I cant believe everyone on here feels that this is great news :evil: .

So we are going to train at Frankston, share that facility with the Dolphins, who will be our VFL opposition....doesnt make any sense to me.
Nah, it makes perfect sense, piss off Frankston and build the elite state of the art training facility at the Trevor Barker Oval.

saintbart wrote: Nah, it makes perfect sense, piss off Frankston and build the elite state of the art training facility at the Trevor Barker Oval.
I'm thinking there is no spare land around there as the oval is virtuallly on the beach anyway

saintbart

We have already agreed to move our training base to Frankston, so why did we choose another club to align with??

We need some synergies between where we train and the VFL club we align with. I cant believe everyone on here feels that this is great news :evil: .

So we are going to train at Frankston, share that facility with the Dolphins, who will be our VFL opposition....doesnt make any sense to me.
Nah, it makes perfect sense, piss off Frankston and build the elite state of the art training facility at the Trevor Barker Oval.
I reckon its a CRAP decision if we leave things how they currently are. Do like you said B4E - move our training base from Frankston to Sandy, or change this decision to the align with the Dolphins. Having it like it is does not make sense to me.

I like your idea in theory Barks but the timeframes would concern me as much as anything.

If we were to change our plans again it could be 2020 before we get anything built.

saintbart wrote:

I reckon its a CRAP decision if we leave things how they currently are. Do like you said B4E - move our training base from Frankston to Sandy, or change this decision to the align with the Dolphins. Having it like it is does not make sense to me.
No room at Sandy and Frankston have no interest in an alignment. Great decision. Pity Melbourne got in first years ago.

saintbrat wrote: I'm thinking there is no spare land around there as the oval is virtuallly on the beach anyway
Obviously, it's unlikely, but it would be a dream come true for me, we should always have been aligned with Sandy.

I was pissed off when we didn't align to begin with from the get go.

Sandy and St.kilda have a rich history.

My dad used to take me as a wee little nipper to the Bay St Oval to see Sandy, where I saw Ian Cooper kick his 100th goal, Bob Murray and a few others such as John Stephens...etc...etc...

I think Jeff and Mark Sarau also played for Sandy.

Regarding your enquiry, behind the ground on the wing side of the ground, the social club side, there is a heap of land, just knock down a few trees :oops:

Just pay Frankston some compensation and piss them off 8-)

saintbrat wrote: I'm thinking there is no spare land around there as the oval is virtuallly on the beach anyway
Obviously, it's unlikely, but it would be a dream come true for me, we should always have been aligned with Sandy.

I was pissed off when we didn't align to begin with from the get go.

Sandy and St.kilda have a rich history.

My dad used to take me as a wee little nipper to the Bay St Oval to see Sandy, where I saw Ian Cooper kick his 100th goal, Bob Murray and a few others such as John Stephens...etc...etc...

I think Jeff and Mark Sarau also played for Sandy.

Regarding your enquiry, behind the ground on the wing side of the ground, the social club side, there is a heap of land, just knock down a few trees :oops:

That wing has about a 10 metre width. Not wide enough.

saints11

casey is better :P

Behind the ground tugger, you know outside the fence, FAIR DINKUM

On the beach. Yep should get approval for that. Please tell me you are joking.

Again....

Don't you think Melbourne would have tried this before they decided to move to Casey Fields :idea:

They have not had a ground to train on during the pre season for a couple of years....

Did Sandringham offer them to train there???

What makes some on here think they are just going to let us in and take over FFS???

Yeah, like there is only 10 metres between the ground and the Yaht club, please tell me you're joking, ever been there?

Ilzy#8 wrote:Saintpremiers, don't think you have to much idea how the Casey-St. Kilda allignment is working this year...

Funny how you are just making GENERAL assumptions.
Good on you Ilzy.

Just because your a ressies player for the Scorpions makes you able to pay out on me and then not even back up your argument.

The Great Trevor Barker

I grew up in East Bentleigh but moved to NSW in 1986. I remember Dad telling me how crook TB was and then in Sydney his sad passing even made the news.

I have a question, that someone may be able to answer. Did TB coach Sandringham and the St Kilda reserves? I am not sure on this.

I have always held the belief that St Kilda had a coaching succession plan and it died with the great Trevor Barker.

There are plenty on this website who put s#$t on coaches and players but none would dare to do this to Trevor Barker. Strength Through Loyalty.

casey scorp

It makes sense that St Kilda aligns with Sandringham as they are close neighbours – it should have happened years ago. But it didn’t happen today for that reason – it happened because Sandy panicked that it would lose Melbourne to Casey, and ran to St Kilda before St Kilda and Frankston became too attached to each other.

However an interesting possibility is that when the Saints get to Frankston (which will probably just about match the 5 year term of the alignment between St Kilda and Sandy) they will probably align with Frankston and then Sandy will be left like a shag on a rock anyway.

Today’s announcement is good from the Casey Scorpions point of view. Instead of being left wondering whether and when St Kilda would dump them and align with Frankston (and then potentially being left without an AFL partner if Melbourne stayed with Sandringham), the Scorps now have Melbourne at their mercy:

• Melbourne has no VFL partner from 2009 because Sandy has done a runner to St Kilda
• Melbourne is publicly committed to moving to Casey Fields, and
• unaligned VFL teams would not touch Melbourne because:
o Frankston wants to stand alone and will save their virginity for St Kilda post the move to Frankston Oval
o Port won’t want a team that wants to establish a new base at the Scorpions ground.

But the real sleeper I expect is that St Kilda just might now seek to review its earlier decision to set up home in Frankston and seek to move into the Trevor Barker Oval. That would tick every box for everyone:

• Saints and Sandy aligned and based together
• Scorps and Melbourne aligned and based at Casey Fields
• Frankston maintains its stand-alone status
• St Kilda escapes the clutches of Kingston Council :wink:
• St Kilda avoids a messy, drawn out effort to get established at Frankston.

Like I said on another post months ago………FRANKSTON DEAL NOT YET DONE.

Re: The Great Trevor Barker

happy feet wrote: I have a question, that someone may be able to answer. Did TB coach Sandringham and the St Kilda reserves? I am not sure on this.
Yes TB coached Sandringham - very succesfully.
He then came back to coach our Reserves and contracted cancer whilst coaching them.

I and I'm sure many others always felt that ultimately, after he served an apprenticeship, he would become our Senior Coach.

A very sad time in our history when he finally succumbed to the disease.

Thanks Mr Magic, still have a tear in my eye. I remember seeing a video of a very sick TB being helped from the stands at Moorabbin. Very very sad.

If you want to motivate the team, put on the TB highlight tape. Guts, courage, loyalty and selflessness.

zebraman

SENsaintsational wrote:B4E will be happy, as this now brings Grant Thomas back into the fold.

Unfortunately Sandringham Dragons TAC side is not affiliated wth Sandringham VFL side.

SAndringham Dragons are headquarted at Princes Park in Caulfiewld (the old Caulfield Bears VFA ground).

SOme of their players who are not drafted into teh AFL or Rookie listed end up at various VFL Clubs but not necessarily at Sandringham.

first time poster here....next year Sandringham Dragons will be part of Sandringham FC...

Hope this alliance goes well...

zebraman wrote:

Unfortunately Sandringham Dragons TAC side is not affiliated wth Sandringham VFL side.

SAndringham Dragons are headquarted at Princes Park in Caulfiewld (the old Caulfield Bears VFA ground).

SOme of their players who are not drafted into teh AFL or Rookie listed end up at various VFL Clubs but not necessarily at Sandringham.

first time poster here....next year Sandringham Dragons will be part of Sandringham FC...

Hope this alliance goes well...
Hi, and welcome!

Are teh Dragons affiliating with the Zebras?
Are they moving from Princes Park to Sandringham?
Will their admin still be run independantly and answer directly to the AFL?

Re: Mr Magic

happy feet wrote:Thanks Mr Magic, still have a tear in my eye. I remember seeing a video of a very sick TB being helped from the stands at Moorabbin. Very very sad.

If you want to motivate the team, put on the TB highlight tape. Guts, courage, loyalty and selflessness.
Saintscentral have the video or trevor which was shown at the best and fairest last year
under their new 'Heritage' heading in the 'Saints Insider' section
Wednesday 19 March ;Trevor Barker Tribute; At the 2007 St Kilda Best the Club paid a special tribute to one of its true greats
currently bottom of page 1
http://www.saintscentral.com.au/SaintsI ... aspx?cat=7

bark4eva said:

"My dad used to take me as a wee little nipper to the Bay St Oval to see Sandy"

I've got news for you barks4eva there aint no oval in Bay Street (Brighton), or Bay Road (Sandringham).

Were you maybe confused about the Beach Road Oval, now also known as the Trevor Barker Oval?

luckysaint

I suppose that Bayside City Council will also be glad for us to simply purchase that prime piece of real estate for next to nix? I can't seem to see it. The local community, well known for its anti-development campaigns, would also be up in arms i suspect. Not going to happen.