Training Report 3 Sep

Moorabbin Saints wrote:
Quixote wrote: Rix WAS there, and was still on the field when all the rest had finished and I was leaving. He was mentoring McEvoy on 1-on-1 ruck situation, with little LJ throwing the ball up for them. Good egg is that Rix.
Rix should be nowhere near Big Mac! After what Rix shows us at AFL level I hope Big Mac doesn't get to his level!
Turn it up mate.

Absolutely nothing wrong with Rix giving the kid some pointers. He HAS played plenty of AFL footy. Sure, he mightn't be the most talented going around, but it is common knowledge you don't need to be a superstar to make a great coach. Oh and I'm pretty sure Ross and his crew would know exactly who they want mentoring their young players.

From all reports M Rix is a quality individual. Many people in his position could very easily sulk, go off the rails or just give up the ghost. It seems Rixy has sufficient CHARACTER and FORTITUDE not to go down those paths.

As for yourself, and your post

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

Rix is one of the best clubmen at the Saints....and being willing to help players like Ben would be just one reason why.

saintsRrising wrote:Rix is one of the best clubmen at the Saints....and being willing to help players like Ben would be just one reason why.
Fully agree.

I was at the B and F a couple of years ago - Rixy got about the best round of applause from the players when he was interviewed. Clearly well liked by the rest of the boys. I have also seen him out and about in St Kilda with other players.

There is obviously a good reason why such a seemingly peripheral (from a playing point of view) bloke is so popular around the club.

doristhesaint

Thanks for all the reports on training.
Does not sound promising 4 bally in next few weeks would love to b wrong.

Moorabbin Saints wrote:
Quixote wrote: Rix WAS there, and was still on the field when all the rest had finished and I was leaving. He was mentoring McEvoy on 1-on-1 ruck situation, with little LJ throwing the ball up for them. Good egg is that Rix.
Rix should be nowhere near Big Mac! After what Rix shows us at AFL level I hope Big Mac doesn't get to his level!
with respect, you clearly dont have a clue...
PS thanks for the reports
Last edited by sunsaint on Wed 03 Sep 2008 10:07pm, edited 1 time in total.

karnak

Clubmen bring heaps mroe to the club than just what happens on game day.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

Richter wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Rix is one of the best clubmen at the Saints....and being willing to help players like Ben would be just one reason why.
Fully agree.

I was at the B and F a couple of years ago - Rixy got about the best round of applause from the players when he was interviewed. Clearly well liked by the rest of the boys. I have also seen him out and about in St Kilda with other players.

There is obviously a good reason why such a seemingly peripheral (from a playing point of view) bloke is so popular around the club.

he's a good bloke.....smart too......i'm not too proud to admit that...just doen't have it at the top level though.....

ps ...what happened to your avatar......

duckduckduckgoose

good to hear goose is back from overseas.
Thanks to all concerned for the training reports.

I bought a shirt from Target once.
It had a hard tag on it too.

I know how Dal feels.

One plus of all the skills work that Miles was doing was that it was right in front of me.....and that the Saints list height for him was smaller than his former club (which made it look like he could bea future full back and especially as he had played many games for his club in that position).

From over the fence the Saints height would be the more correct one and so he is too small for full back.

Kosi looked a lot more positive today.

I think the playing group might have put a rocket up him last week.

Hope he continues to perform like last Sunday.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Kosi looked a lot more positive today.

I think the playing group might have put a rocket up him last week.

Hope he continues to perform like last Sunday.
Yes indeedy.....

Kosi in good form would bea big plus for us.

An in-form Kosi with KIng would be > Blake and Ottens

Quixote wrote:Guys don't get your hopes up about Fraser.

I am not.

But he did train well...with clean hands.

I think the onlt way he would play though would be if Roo and kosi were both injured.
yes i believe that as well. and from what i read from the MX he is not expecting to be picked

as i said in another thread. its great that fraser is sticking aorund, training helping out and not just going off in the sunset

one would presume he is still getting paid, so thats good to see.
would be a great character to have around u when training i reckon.

good on ya fraiser 8-)

The Saintsational Man

Moorabbin Saints wrote:
Some of the greatest mentors/coaches of our time never even played a minute in the professional leagues they coached in....

I’ll throw you 2 names;

Vince Lombardi - Super Bowl I & II
Red Auerbach - 9 NBA Championships (Including 8 in a row)

So for Rix to be showing Big Mac some pointers, I don't see a problem with it, should do him a world of good.

Hard for Lombardi to play in the NFL, it wasn't around when he was playing.

Hence he coached the Packers to Superbowls Ⅰ and Ⅱ.

avid

I would love to see us give Rixy another game or two, just to reward his loyalty and intelligence.
(Probably now's not the right time though.)

goodie

avid wrote:I would love to see us give Rixy another game or two, just to reward his loyalty and intelligence.
He could return the favour by taking out Ablett, Bartel, Scarlett and Ottens (and do the game a favour by taking out Mooney)

SuperSaint

goodie wrote:
avid wrote:I would love to see us give Rixy another game or two, just to reward his loyalty and intelligence.
He could return the favour by taking out Ablett, Bartel, Scarlett and Ottens (and do the game a favour by taking out Mooney)
Why not get Gehrig to do this? :) Maybe it has crossed the coaching staff's minds for further into September.......after all, the big bloke will be finishing up this year.

The Saintsational Man

Bernard Shakey wrote:Hard for Lombardi to play in the NFL, it wasn't around when he was playing.

Hence he coached the Packers to Superbowls Ⅰ and Ⅱ.
The NFL, as it's now known, had a different name back when it started, sometime in the 20's, then they changed there name to the NFL sometime after that, then the superbowl was an event brought together by to simular leagues to find the best team in the land.

So the NFL was around when Lombardi was at a young age.

It was also around long before the superbowl came along.