How are we going to win clearances?

doggerel

How are we going to win clearances?

We were beaten at the clearances and disputed ball again at the weekend. This time we were able to dominate regardless (Saints' accurate kicking, Pies inaccurate, Saints pressure on ball carrier etc etc).

But we certainly won't get near Geelong, nor the Hawks probably, if we don't do something to improve in this area.

So what's it going to be? We really need Bally back, but will he have the conditioning to play the game in the middle? If he comes back and the coaching staff are planning to nurse him thru with significant time at half forward, that's not going to be the solution.

I think perhaps we need to get MG back in the side. Kingy has been solid and at least nullifies the ruck contest mostly, but once it hits the deck we don't get our share.

Prior to his injury Gardi was starting to slot it right down the throats of our runners. His last couple of weeks at Casey were good enough to put him in contention. I reckon it is worth a crack.

If not, how else? It is going to take more than just replacing Eddy with Birss.

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

man up and add pressure 24/7....
might as well get used to it for when we play the cats :P

St DAC

So you want to drop King for MG? Doubt it very much.

hotdish

Put Blake into the ruck for spurts when we are struggling.

He dominated last game v Hawks and turned the game for us with good rucking/second efforts + hard running forward (he kicked 3 goals)!

Blake in the ruck is actually a serious solution to that problem.

Especially against the smaller Hawthorn ruckmen, who help their midfielders with the contested ball.

Blake can nullify this Hawthorn advantage, and provide us with extra pressure at ground level in the ruck.

Michael Gardiner has retired I believe.

Tackling pressure is also critical. We need to lay 50+ tackles, and that helps a lot even if you are slightly down in the clearances and with the contested football.

Persuader

When did Michael Gardiner retire?

It's not a ruck problem. Time and time again the ball went straight to
one of our midfielders who fumbled it or had it robbed from them.
So another body (ie: Blake ) would be good....but then it robs our backline.

Founding member of the Jason Blake Appreciation Society

Didn't have a problem last time we played the Hawks...erm...lets do that again! Mini on Mitchell, did a great job, didn't have time to do anything with it, even if he did get first grab. We have ruck accendancy on them too.

Persuader wrote:When did Michael Gardiner retire?
It's been written that he retired after the game on the weekend, and it was also reported in Inside Football a few weeks ago ...

Hasn't been verified yet though.

Superboot

Last time we played them, we had far more of the ball, even in the first quarter when we were a long way behind. Hawthorn's goals were coming from counter attacks when we stuffed up delivery through the midfield.

We got on top eventually simply by using the ball more effectively, not by winning it more often.

In theory, there's no reason why we can't do it again.
Last edited by Superboot on Mon 15 Sep 2008 3:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

hotdish

MG has not officially retired. It has not been announced by the club, there is only speculation.

He has been training, and playing with Casey, so obviously he's still in contention.

If King went down tomorrow, Gardiner would come in ahead of Rix.

Thus he aint retired!

Centre clearances are a problem...

Our problem is that HAYES is our go to man and when he is well tagged we have any one else physically capable of hitting the space where the tapped ball is to be at a strong pace.

All of our midfielders stand flat footed at ball ups - the centre clearances are won by players backing their instincts and collecting the ball at pace.

Luke Ball :wink: :wink:
If he doesn't come up, pray!!

saintly_safes

This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.

rexy

Legendary wrote:Blake in the ruck is actually a serious solution to that problem.

Especially against the smaller Hawthorn ruckmen, who help their midfielders with the contested ball.

Blake can nullify this Hawthorn advantage, and provide us with extra pressure at ground level in the ruck.

Michael Gardiner has retired I believe.

Tackling pressure is also critical. We need to lay 50+ tackles, and that helps a lot even if you are slightly down in the clearances and with the contested football.
Who are the smaller Hawthorn Ruckman. Campbell and Taylor both massive units?

Maybe this year?

saintly_safes wrote:This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.
Yep need Blake into ruck at stages - his mobility and attack on the footy worried them last time

Need L Ball at the coal face for sure to help out Hayes and I reckon Birss but that wont happen cause he obviously ran over Lyons cat.

I am still prepared to back our mids in against any side in the comp.

Especially with a fit Lukey Ball.

hotdish wrote:MG has not officially retired. It has not been announced by the club, there is only speculation.

He has been training, and playing with Casey, so obviously he's still in contention.

If King went down tomorrow, Gardiner would come in ahead of Rix.

Thus he aint retired!
or if kosi had been suspended they would have bought in gardiner.

hayes, ball, goddard, dal santo, mini mac...even eddy

im comfortable with those men winning the majority of the clearances and giving us first use...

i was amazed that the Pies only had 26 tackles for the whole game, they didnt harrass enough, that is why our kicks were so effective

we only had 46 but looked more hungry....

Pies had over 70 tackles against Geelong when they won, if we can keep the pressure on their carriers and harrass, they will turn it over and we will set up the other end.. we can win this game even without first use if we harrass hard and give them no easy possessions

hotdish wrote:Put Blake into the ruck for spurts when we are struggling. He dominated last game v Hawks and turned the game for us with good rucking/second efforts + hard running forward (he kicked 3 goals)!
worth remembering his contribution last time. almost gives you another midfielder when he's used in the ruck and i'm sure it's something that will be factored in.

saintly_safes wrote:This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.
Yep need Blake into ruck at stages - his mobility and attack on the footy worried them last time

Need L Ball at the coal face for sure to help out Hayes and I reckon Birss but that wont happen cause he obviously ran over Lyons cat.
agreed
watched the replay from round 16 and blake put heaps of pressure on them in the middle and was much more mobile and just ran forward....kicked 3 goals in about 5 mins.
a wildcard

Heard a stat yesterday that Hawthorn were 16th in the comp for clearances and / or contested ball.

I found it hard to believe. Can anyone verify this?

heard it too from numerous webpages and comments in the paper...

sainters man

n1ck wrote:Heard a stat yesterday that Hawthorn were 16th in the comp for clearances and / or contested ball.

I found it hard to believe. Can anyone verify this?
Yeah thats true! heard that last week, but they really dont play one on one, they have the zone and wait for everyone to make mistakes