Kingston Council closes Moorabbin Grandstand!

I was at training today, and the 500 odd of us had to stand in the rain due to the main grandstand being off limits to everyone due to the Demolition order by the Kingston Council.

Well....that is fine Kingston Council - howabout you demolish it pronto if that's the case?

Complete utter crap closing it to a few hundred people - typical council pig headedness I reckon!

Several times this season I've wandered up there during training (when there are a handful of people), and apart from it being a bit dirty and poo infested, it's hardly likely to fall down in a hurry!

No doubt they'll blame farking insurance and O,H&S like everyone seems to do nowadays!

Bring back the good old days!

St Marcus

What about if we make the GF

Ground will be packed on the final training session

Just try and keep people out if its raining

HATE Kingston council

How do you demolish the Grandstand and not the rooms/facilites underneath it?

St Marcus wrote:What about if we make the GF

HATE Kingston council
yeah good point...in 1997 there were over 5,000 people at training.

Oh, is that why? All the media was around at the office, getting huffy because they weren't allowed up there to film the training. I had to leave when it started raining, having a little bubba and all.

I also ask the question mentioned already, how is demolishing the grandstand not going to affect the facilities?

I take it this is the same council who couldn't come to an agreement with the club to demolish the Grandstand and build brand new facilities to benefit the club and community because they wanted to be seen to have a concious about us re locating the exact same number of poker machines about 200 metres down the road.

Yes councils, what a waste of taxpayers money.

If the grandstand has been deemed unsafe, then i've no qualms with it being closed.

If it was due for maintenance/inspection and the powers that be didn't want to spend the cash on it, i'm fine with that too.

If it's Kingston trying to make life hard for us, stuff em.

Did the same apply to the Social Club or GG Higgins Stand?
If it's so dangerous, what about those working in the offices underneath the stand?
Kingston Council, you dump on the club and you dump on the residents within the area who may have welcomed the proposed social club buildings and more importantly, the proposed sporting faciilities etc and you dump on the small business within the area who could have done with a boost to their companies as they became suppliers etc to the new Social Club.

All from a mayor whose first name is Topsy

They have had security tape over the entrance some years back, but obviously it had been ripped down.

IMO it was deemed unsafe many years ago and I really don't know who's responsibility it is for barriers to be put up.

Is it the Council's responsibility or the Saints?

Again, there was security tape over the entrance to the main grandstand about 3 or 4 years ago as it was deemed unsafe...

nothing has changed, but who's responsible???

I'm tipping the ground is leased to US and it's our responsibility to ensure the safety of the public or fear getting sued.

It's got me beat why those barriers that were up about 4 years ago have never been replaced, or in fact some more permanent barrier was never considered in the first place.

They will go ,and probably should, but to me they are sacred. I watched many many games there from the age of 3 onwards. Reckon I missed two games there from memory from the mid 70's till we left there.

To me, they are much more than crappy old grandstands. They symbolise the club to me , and how I came to be introduced to it and love it. Every time I go to Moorabbin I get that feeling just staring around the ground that reminds me that this place is home, and feels like part of me. I can still feel and hear the roar from that joint. For you younger brigrade , it was like something anything at the Telstra Dome could never replicate. Feral LOUD passion from who to go. My grandparents lived 5kms from the ground, on a still day gardening out the back they could often hear a roar here and there coming from the old girl.

I really do wantmeseats before it gets all torn down.

TimeToShineFellas

Well if we can take a positive out of a negative, let's just hope when it gets demolished, they're standing underneath it, looking for their troughs.

Does anyone know what kind of food pigs like in their troughs?

To someone fairly new with this forum, what's the deal with Moorabbin? Doesn't the council want the ground redeveloped? Why, and when are we moving to Frankston?

Seems like a shame, could be a lot of potential for development at the ground while still keeping the St Kilda identity?

PS - Sorry if this has been discussed a million times already! :oops:

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:To someone fairly new with this forum, what's the deal with Moorabbin? Doesn't the council want the ground redeveloped? Why, and when are we moving to Frankston?

Seems like a shame, could be a lot of potential for development at the ground while still keeping the St Kilda identity?

It would be nice, but no cigar on this one. SOmething to do with pokies blahblahblah, its all on here, somewhere....

Titsy Popsy at work.

She and her clowncil are morons.

iwantmeseats wrote:
ohwhenthesaints! wrote:To someone fairly new with this forum, what's the deal with Moorabbin? Doesn't the council want the ground redeveloped? Why, and when are we moving to Frankston?

It would be nice, but no cigar on this one. SOmething to do with pokies blahblahblah, its all on here, somewhere....
Thanks, I found the thread you mentioned and it looks like all hope is not lost in staying put then....

So...

Come om here Topsy Turvey you clown and answer some of the question.

Who is going to pay to remove the stands you deem unsafe eh?

And how unsafe is it?

Come on Topsy....your silence is not appreciated!

casey scorp

saintspremiers wrote:So...

And how unsafe is it?

There's a $500,000 State Government grant for the removal of the grandstands announced a few months ago.

just as well we weren't trying to get few thousand into the area today hey :cry: :shock:

FortiusQuoFidelius

casey scorp wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:So...

And how unsafe is it?

There's a $500,000 State Government grant for the removal of the grandstands announced a few months ago.
I have a source at Kingston Council who informs me that $500,000 is only half the estimated cost of demolishing the grandstand. Council are trying to raise the addaitional $ by selling off excess land, so until that happens the grandstand will stay!

jk23

St Marcus wrote:What about if we make the GF

HATE Kingston council
yeah good point...in 1997 there were over 5,000 people at training.
I was at the last training session this year and when I heard that we could not go and sit in the grandstands and I thought it was deliberate in case we did get into the GF.....

casey scorp

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:I have a source at Kingston Council who informs me that $500,000 is only half the estimated cost of demolishing the grandstand. Council are trying to raise the addaitional $ by selling off excess land, so until that happens the grandstand will stay!
I reckon it would be a tough sell for the Council if it planned on selling off any of the Moorabbin Reserve to fund the grandstand removal.

The original masterplan for the Moorabbin Reserve (when St Kilda was redeveloping at Linton Street) was for much of the St Kilda lease to revert to parkland.

Under the masterplan the grandstand was to be removed at Council cost, and now the Council has been granted $500,000 to defray these costs.

You can just hear the residents raising merry hell if the Council tries to sell off any of the land.

However, the Council had funds budgetted to contribute to the St KFC project so it would just be a matter of reallocating some of those funds.

I think that the delay in demolition would have more to do with St KFC currently continuing to occupy part of the building. As Mr Magic said:
Mr Magic wrote:How do you demolish the Grandstand and not the rooms/facilites underneath it?

FortiusQuoFidelius

casey scorp wrote:
FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:I have a source at Kingston Council who informs me that $500,000 is only half the estimated cost of demolishing the grandstand. Council are trying to raise the addaitional $ by selling off excess land, so until that happens the grandstand will stay!
I reckon it would be a tough sell for the Council if it planned on selling off any of the Moorabbin Reserve to fund the grandstand removal.

The original masterplan for the Moorabbin Reserve (when St Kilda was redeveloping at Linton Street) was for much of the St Kilda lease to revert to parkland.

Under the masterplan the grandstand was to be removed at Council cost, and now the Council has been granted $500,000 to defray these costs.

You can just hear the residents raising merry hell if the Council tries to sell off any of the land.

However, the Council had funds budgetted to contribute to the St KFC project so it would just be a matter of reallocating some of those funds.

I think that the delay in demolition would have more to do with St KFC currently continuing to occupy part of the building. As Mr Magic said:
Mr Magic wrote:How do you demolish the Grandstand and not the rooms/facilites underneath it?
Who said anything about slling off any of the Moorabbin reserve?? I said in my post "excess land".

Tanke off your blinkers...

casey scorp

casey scorp wrote:I reckon it would be a tough sell for the Council if it planned on selling off any of the Moorabbin Reserve to fund the grandstand removal.

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:Who said anything about slling off any of the Moorabbin reserve?? I said in my post "excess land".

I didn't say that you did refer to the Moorabbin Reserve.

I have put the relevant word used on two occasions in my post in red and in bold for you so that it is very clear.

In any event, why would they need to sell "excess land" to get the funds for removal of the grandstands if they had money allocated for the Moorabbin development? Why wouldn't they just reallocate some of that money?

FortiusQuoFidelius

casey scorp wrote:
casey scorp wrote:I reckon it would be a tough sell for the Council if it planned on selling off any of the Moorabbin Reserve to fund the grandstand removal.

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:Who said anything about slling off any of the Moorabbin reserve?? I said in my post "excess land".

I didn't say that you did refer to the Moorabbin Reserve.

I have put the relevant word used on two occasions in my post in red and in bold for you so that it is very clear.

In any event, why would they need to sell "excess land" to get the funds for removal of the grandstands if they had money allocated for the Moorabbin development? Why wouldn't they just reallocate some of that money?
Because they never had it in the first place and were still relying on the selling of excess land to fund their portion of the redevelopment.

They land they were trying to sell was the scout hall, youth centre and senior citizens club in the area bounded by Nepean Highway, Exley Drive and Ewar street in Moorabbin. Now it appears that this is only to be partially sold (scout hall only) so there is a massive funding shortage, which is why the redevelopment fell through.

They were also relying on St Kilda purchasing the land currently used by the bowling club at the corner of South Road and Linton Street. (which was going to be the social club rooms) The money from this sale was to be used for the grandstand demolition and other funding for the redevelopment, so it was never really council money in the first place, only 'redirected' footy club money.

Oh what a tangled web... I'm not surprised the club decided on Frankston...