I love Ben Cousins

Pilgram

I love Ben Cousins

... and I hope that he buys a house in Sorrento and starts playing for The Saints.
We need a good midfielder and someone that brings a bit of class to the club.
Regardless of his history, I reckon he is a gun and is worthy of the red, white and black.
The time has come for St. Kilda to blow it's own trumpet and pick the man up.
Bugger Collingwood and Carlton - I want him at St. Kilda!

well thats your opinion and you're entitled to it. i want him at the club but don't think i can say i love him..

*leaves the room expecting Dan Warna to enter giving you a ethics and morals lesson on why Cousins should be executed for his actions*

Don't know about the *love* part but it's pretty clear he'd be a sensational signing coup to have him playing for us.

*feels the steam rising from Dan Warna*

Unfortunately, I think the Malthouse connection will win out.

What would be more decisive in making a decision - Malthouse giving a presentation in the Lexus Centre or sitting with Lyon in the, erm, coach's office at Moorabbin?

Having said that, Gehrig was faced with the same choice and opted for the Saints because Collingwood were "too professional".

B W and R all over

Re: I love Ben Cousins

Pilgram wrote:... and I hope that he buys a house in Sorrento
The old conti nightclub would get a bit more exciting.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

Great player yes, but not sure that he's got to much class. And love, doubt I would ever feel that.

Two years out. Sure he may be in fine shape from running laps of a track and lifting weights...

But that's two years without laying a tackle, foraging in a pack, changing pace and direction, jumping, landing, getting belted etc etc...

And as i've pointed out before, last time he came back he damn near ripped his (old man) hammy in two...

I know I seem very neg on the whole proposal, but geez there's some downside...

Thinline wrote:Two years out. Sure he may be in fine shape from running laps of a track and lifting weights...

But that's two years without laying a tackle, foraging in a pack, changing pace and direction, jumping, landing, getting belted etc etc...

And as i've pointed out before, last time he came back he damn near ripped his (old man) hammy in two...

I know I seem very neg on the whole proposal, but geez there's some downside...
has only been out of the game 1 season...

One year. You are right. My mistake.

Why I prefer Cuz over Kerr

Cost!!!!

Kerr will mean that what we gain on the merry-go-round, we will lose on the monkey bars..

evertonfc wrote: What would be more decisive in making a decision - Malthouse giving a presentation in the Lexus Centre or sitting with Lyon in the, erm, coach's office at Moorabbin?
No we can say, don't worry about Collingwood trying to pull the wool over your eyes with some presentation in the Lexus Centre a stone's throw from the G, we are now building our very own located at Belvedere Park in Seaford

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

FAIR DINKUM

What a disgrace, the entire board should be replaced, immediately

I reckon we should go for Cousins.

Dont compare the Lexus Centre with Moorabbin.

We can open the Saints Disco one last time for a FAIR DINKUM crack at Benny.

Id love him at Belvedere Park in 2010.

All jokes aside, he would be a phenomenal signing for us. Do whatever it takes Archie / Matthew / Ross.

his best mate is a saints player

just make it happen...he is a machine

Do you really think he will go to Collingwood? Well, they will certainly be keeping Didak then, they would cop all sorts of heat if they trade a problem child and welcome in another?

I think we still have a chance of grabbing Cousins, I am not sure he would enjoy the extra scrutiny....well on second thought he may enjoy it, but it wouldn't be good for him.

He would give us some serious flexiblilty. Cousins and another pro-active forward is all we seriously need to give the Premiership a real tilt next season. I'm all for it!

Pilgram

great opinions guys.

i agree with all of you.

the offer is on the table : $210,000 + bonuses.

Cousins over Kerr.
Ben has been to the bottom and appears to have finally got the message and is working things out.
Kerr still appears to have an alcohol and anger management problem which means he'd fit in well at Collingwood alongside Didak.
I would hope his friendship with Gardi who we have to give credit to, about keeping himself out of trouble, when at a time he's had a lot of time on his hands to go out and run amok, might convince him to come along to Moorabbin.
Ditto with Fraser Gehrig, seemingly in contact with him.

Pilgram

i must admit that i dont fully understand how the PSD works.
do we get a pick before the filth in a world where picks aren't traded?

widereceiver

St. Luke wrote:He would give us some serious flexiblilty. Cousins and another pro-active forward is all we seriously need to give the Premiership a real tilt next season. I'm all for it!
I could not disagree with this more. Haven't you seen our midfield being smashed twice in the last month?

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

Pilgram wrote:i must admit that i dont fully understand how the PSD works.
As far as I'm aware you can't trade PSD picks, and teams only get to use their PSD picks if they have enough room in the salary cap for the player and they have a spot on their list open...

timtam

Pilgram wrote:i must admit that i dont fully understand how the PSD works.
As he was delisted and has no club to answer to, he pretty much gets the say as to where he goes. Hopefully Gardiner and Gehrig get into his ear. I think he would do wonders for our club and fit in brilliantly.

As for the Lexus argument, does a flash ground and slick tongued coach make us want to change teams and follow Collingwood? No. So it doesn't necessarily mean that Cousins will favour Collingwood over St Kilda. Even with the addition of Cousins, I don't believe Collingwood are anywhere near a flag in the next 2-3 years at least. Sure they will make the finals, but they won't make the Grand Final. We are a better chance and with the addition of Cousins alongside players such as Ball, Hayes, NDS, etc, the sky is the limit!

Don't argue with an idiot - people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Pilgram

timtam you are a genius.
cheers Armo :)

Jason Akermanis was just talking on SEN and said he had been talking to Ben Cousins at the Brownlow last night and Aker is clear Cousins is ready for the comeback.

johnpeterbudgefanclub

I don't believe Collingwood are anywhere near a flag in the next 2-3 years at least. Sure they will make the finals, but they won't make the Grand Final. We are a better chance and with the addition of Cousins alongside players such as Ball, Hayes, NDS, etc, the sky is the limit!
A better chance based on what TimTam? Youth? Young players coming through? Therein lays your problem. Sorry to rain on your parade timtam but u r saying 2-3 years time....I would say the Collingwood list would have more upside would it not?

Shrewd drafting, trading and intelligent list management is the key.

Over to you....