Oh No!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

saintly_safes

Change of topic to get away from the fizz debate .Dont know why Lyon had no time for Birss , every time he played in the ones he was servicable at worst & most times was better than most but could not hold his spot. Carnt imagine he would be lazy or hard to handle seems to be some sort of rift between him & Lyon does anyone know why?

SAINT JUMP

how long has howard been with us. hes nearly 22.

Fiona is a good player in a good side.
But gives nothing when things go bad.
eg the Hawthorn game.

At least he used to be a long accurate kick.
But this year he seems to have lost that abilty to deliver accurately or kick goals.

What did Burss do wrong ?

I thought Birss was worthy of a spot at least depth.

He musta rubbed Ross the wrong/right way (depedning on persuasions etc).

Sad to see him go actually and woulda played him before Mqualter in finals for sure - can do a run with role and maybe jag a goal going fwd.

Best way to get off his back would be head down arse up and go IN and get a kick,yet to see it,so why select him,dont know .As for Birss,i must have been watching something different to what the selectors were

I like Fiora. No problems in my books with him being in the Seniors

Re: Oh No!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

killa_gram wrote:"Another whole year (He says banging his head against a wall) :( :x :(
Would that be the brick wall of the dunny at the airport ? :roll: :wink: !!

SAINT JUMP wrote:how long has howard been with us. hes nearly 22.
Why do people keep adding years to Howard?

He will be 21 in December.

He has been with us for two years.

Bono

Benny comes -> Fiora goes. Simple as that. Who cares if he has a year to run on his contract. I'm still getting over the impact he had in the PF v Hawthorn!!!

killa_gram

Look as a person I think Fiora is a nice guy and all the best too him.

However, as a player for our footy club he is terrible. I think he clogs up our list and really has not given us much in the time he has been with us (and I think he gave the Tiges even less in his time there).

If he has a great consistent year next year then I will be happy to eat my words and apologise to him and all the others on here who love him.

And to some of those on here bagging me for starting the thread, I started the thread a bit tongue in cheek, it was meant to be a bit of fun as I thought you would be expecting something from me on the news that he was not delisted. Relax. I f he has a great year then all power to him and I will be shown to be massivley wrong...... however, I don't think I have to lose too much sleep over that. :wink:

And for the record, I rate both CJ and Ray, they will never be my whipping boys..... Peace out!:D

Innocent until proven guilty!

I'm Baaaaaaaaack!!!!!!

BigMart wrote:Good luck to him...

10 years of AFL footy - on contracts

Dominated a SANFL GF at 17yo and got taken #3 in a draft

Dominated some VFL games

Has done some exciting things in AFL footy (mark of the week 3 times in the AFL)

Is approaching 150 AFL games

If he is a complete dud - I wish I was.....I would give my left nut for his career. Yes he has not lived up to expectation, which is frustrating - but his career says he must be able to provide something.....at least Ross thinks so....

Good luck in 2009 Aaron - hopefully you can have an impact like 2007....if not, then he will be delisted probably.
Absolutely spot on.

luckiest player to reach 150 in afl history. he should thank god eery morning. he must have photos of demetriou on a compromising position or something.

who keeps giving him new contracts? should be criticised considering hes madea 10 year well payed career out of cruising and soing sweet f-all.

wish someone would give me a job on those terms.

How come no thread on why we didn't delist Raph?

Fickle fickle fickle supporters of the instant gratificiation generation.

Mabye after the big fat recession we are about to have, you lost of Gen Y spoilt over extended credit vultures will have an appreciation for the good things that come to those who wait.

Fiora is a dissapointment considering his #3 dp position, however ion a firing team he will look much much better, just like the down hill skiier Cooney looked so good this year. Now he is not a Cooney but he thrives when the team is going well, and looks ordinary when the team is not.

Type of player he is - live with it.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Con Gorozidis wrote:luckiest player to reach 150 in afl history. he should thank god eery morning. he must have photos of demetriou on a compromising position or something.

who keeps giving him new contracts? should be criticised considering hes madea 10 year well payed career out of cruising and soing sweet f-all.

wish someone would give me a job on those terms.
Yup..Andy D is on the Saints match committee :roll:

Oh.. congratualtions on your 110th birthday..as you have to see every player whos ever played AFL

Who keeps giving him new contracts? People who know more about AFL footy than you and me sunshine :roll:

joffaboy wrote:How come no thread on why we didn't delist Raph?

Mabye after the big fat recession we are about to have, you lost of Gen Y spoilt over extended credit vultures will have an appreciation for the good things that come to those who wait.

Fiora is a dissapointment considering his #3 dp position, however ion a firing team he will look much much better, just like the down hill skiier Cooney looked so good this year. Now he is not a Cooney but he thrives when the team is going well, and looks ordinary when the team is not.

no thread abou Raph because :
1. Raph has actually started to show that he's a quality investment
2. Raph is about five or six years younger than Fiora

Yep he's a down hill skier, but too often he doesn't even put his skis on. He's had eight years in the system and he's still Mr. Inconsistent. Sure you can put up a reasonable argument that he's a depth player, but he's had so many chances and failed.
Beats me why someone like Birss, who's only 22, has a bit of grunt and has a real crack is de-listed in front of a front-running outside receiver who bobs up with the occasional speccy mark.

st.byron wrote:

no thread abou Raph because :
1. Raph has actually started to show that he's a quality investment
2. Raph is about five or six years younger than Fiora

Yep he's a down hill skier, but too often he doesn't even put his skis on. He's had eight years in the system and he's still Mr. Inconsistent. Sure you can put up a reasonable argument that he's a depth player, but he's had so many chances and failed.
Beats me why someone like Birss, who's only 22, has a bit of grunt and has a real crack is de-listed in front of a front-running outside receiver who bobs up with the occasional speccy mark.
shane is born 11 March 1983 26 next year

St Marcus

Halo Halo wrote:I HATE posts like this!!

Fiora had another year to go on his contract & he didnt expect to be delisted!

With all the negativity the poor bloke cops I would not be surprised that he doesnt want to play seniors footy..

You guys constantly give him shite!!

Get off his back!!

GO FIZZ
i'm with you mate...
Me too, Give the poor bloke a break, after all he is playing for the RW&B and prehaps 2009 will be a stellar year for him.

ralphysaints35 wrote:

shane is born 11 March 1983 26 next year
bugger me. My bad. Thanks Ralphy. Was sure he was still in his early 20's. That does put a different perspective for me on the decision to de-list.

The signs were there during the pre season that Fiora would have an ordinary year. He looked disinterested, unfit & not enjoying his footy. I remember commenting on it at the time because I was surprised after he had played really well in 2007 & had finally established himself as a quality senior player.

If he has a cracker of a year in 09 he will have the stigma of being a player who plays well only in the final year of his contract.

Hence he should only be signed to single year deals.

Absolute stupidity to sign him for 2 years.

Personally I would have paid him out & given a place on the list to someone who will work their arse off for a AFL career.

Luckiest bloke in footy IMO.

Birss unluckiest bloke.

Is Birss' legend growing coz he got delisted?

To be honest, I'm a hopeless champion of underdogs and wanted him to kick on... but Birss is a GOP, and we have a few others like him in the side. Why he got delisted? Who knows?

Maybe off side with the coach... maybe not suitable in the bigger scheme of things. He had 2 years to cement his spot.

Look at our structure, and where does he fit in? Small forwards are covered, and he's an ordinary midfielder. Tagger? We have a few of those who are better than him. Where else would you play him?

Fiora, may be lucky, and may well have been saved by his contract. His season was poor, but 2007 was quite good. He's there for a reason. Maybe pace, maybe as a depth player. Once again, who knows?

It's up to him to make the most of it. My view is that we won't see much of him next year. If he get's back in to the team, it will be because he works his butt off, and good luck to him.

He's an outside player, and from what I've seen, he ain't soft. He has a role to play, and like forwards, if the rest of the team play lousy, he suffers. He isn't the type of player that wil turn a game.

Unfortunately, it seems that many fans expect every one of our players to be Judd types.

agree whole hearted

we seem to want everyone to be a judd.... in fact the worse thing that has happened to the football community as a whole was the quick development of the judds and selwoods. We all need to take a deep breath and remember back to when young players took 4 years to get to the stage where they consistantly played at the highest level. As tuck how many games he played in the reserves, not everyone are stars at 18.

I do laugh at the age howard is... he will be retired by the end of the pre-season.....

WayneJudson42 wrote:Fiora, may be lucky, and may well have been saved by his contract. His season was poor, but 2007 was quite good. He's there for a reason. Maybe pace, maybe as a depth player. Once again, who knows?
While agreeing with everyone else that it's basically his contract that's saving him right now, I'd think the reason he's there is exactly the scenario that presented in the Prelim: First choice players not fit (Luke Ball, Xavier Clarke), next gen players represent too much of a risk (Birss?, Jack Steven), so you go with the guy you know, and get what you know you will (11 Possies and a goal puts him firmly in the 2nd half of the 22, but not anywhere near the degree you'd think from this thread).

Birss was actually in a pretty similar spot on the list, so I don't think Fiora was kept instead of Birss, but if it weren't for the contract, they would both have gone.

saintjake

he will be the saints leon davis;)