Aaron Fiora delisted

lucasro wrote:any connection with 'grilling' of cousins on sunday and now late decision to announce fiora delisting and free up another spot on list?
Obviously he was one of three options to make way for Ben. Not certain yet, but definately better than 80-85% chance.

PLUGGER14

Armoooo wrote:Never rated him at all as a footballer but I wish him all the best in life, from all reports he's a stand out fella...
Agree & yes he is a very nice, polite, non arrogant young man.

super dooper wrote:What and how many picks do we have in the draft?
5 as it stands right now. That's including adding Ray and Eddy to the senior list (but not Mini) and delisting Birss, Ferguson, Fiora, Gardiner, Gehrig, Harvey and Rix. So we'd have picks 13, 47, 48, 63 and 79. One of those would be reserved for Cousins.

The one thing that needs to be clarified is the veterans list. With Harvey retired there's an open spot, but I'm not sure we have anyone who's eligible (can't remember if it's 150 or 200 games). If we moved our veterans outside the list that would open up senior spots. Otherwise we've only got the five senior spots open.

St DAC

I think Max would qualify as a veteran. 10+ years 200+ games.

St DAC wrote:I think Max would qualify as a veteran. 10+ years 200+ games.
Max was our other veteran last year.

Yeah Hudghton was already on the verterans list IIRC, I also think that Lenny would be getting close...

I really hope we don't use any of our top 4 picks on Cousins, if we do get I hope is is with 79...

Re: Aaron Fiora delisted

saint66au wrote:...from Saints Media release re X and Gwilt..

The Club also made the difficult decision to delist Aaron Fiora.

Aaron was drafted by Richmond with pick three in the 1999 AFL Draft and played 78 games before St Kilda acquired his services in a three-way trade in 2004. The midfielder went on to play 62 games with the Saints, kicking 32 goals to give him a career tally of 58.

The Club thanks Aaron for his contribution and wishes him all the best for the future

Thanks Aaron for your efforts at the Saints, and please ignore the usual clowns who will gloat at your departure :roll:

t

Whilst I'm not gloating on his departure, I'm glad he has been delisted.

Nothing wrong with saying that is it?

But I will wish him good luck and hope that Melbourne picks him up with a late draft pick.....he is potentially still good enough at AFL level in a weaker side.

I'm with you Hurricane.....unless of course those that are gloating are trying to find their next target!

here is only one player i was ever glad to see delisted,......but still felt sorry for him on a personal level....
Last edited by stinger on Fri 31 Oct 2008 1:56pm, edited 1 time in total.

Armoooo wrote:...Lenny would be getting close...
192 games. If it weren't for that damned knee injury he'd have 200 by now.

vacuous space wrote:
Armoooo wrote:...Lenny would be getting close...
192 games. If it weren't for that damned knee injury he'd have 200 by now.
I just checked, apparently the player has to be over 30 and been at the club for 10 years :? :?

We've got a couple years to wait still then...

Re: Aaron Fiora delisted

saint66au wrote:...from Saints Media release re X and Gwilt..

The Club also made the difficult decision to delist Aaron Fiora.

Aaron was drafted by Richmond with pick three in the 1999 AFL Draft and played 78 games before St Kilda acquired his services in a three-way trade in 2004. The midfielder went on to play 62 games with the Saints, kicking 32 goals to give him a career tally of 58.

The Club thanks Aaron for his contribution and wishes him all the best for the future

Thanks Aaron for your efforts at the Saints, and please ignore the usual clowns who will gloat at your departure :roll:
Whilst I'm not gloating on his departure, I'm glad he has been delisted.

Nothing wrong with saying that is it?

But I will wish him good luck and hope that Melbourne picks him up with a late draft pick.....he is potentially still good enough at AFL level in a weaker side.

I'm with you Hurricane.....unless of course those that are gloating are trying to find their next target!
Nah nothing wrong with that at all..you are of course entitled to your opinion :-)

I was more referring to the numpties who seem to think they could replace guys like Fizz (Raph/Blake/Gwilt etc etc) in the side with themselves and get comparable results.

Moccha wrote:
Hurricane wrote:So the attitude has gone from "Fiora what a waste of space" to "Good luck Aaron"

Amazing what being de listed can do for your profile

Show some compassion.

Finally it looks like they're getting tough!
They are getting tough indeed....isn't that 10 delisted now?

Very happy with the large turnover, the question has to be asked why there wasn't more turnover at the end of last season - perhaps RL didn't have a good enough grip on where all the players/team was at at that stage.
i would have thought, that toss did not have neough knowldege of the players.

Armoooo wrote:I just checked, apparently the player has to be over 30 and been at the club for 10 years :? :?
So it looks like Max will be our only vet for 09 then.

saintjake

so i guess ill have to change my little message thingo;)

AH Great to see!
now we have a pretty good list,
Go sainters.!!!

Happy, HAPPY days!!!!

Thanks for the service Aaron & all the best for the future.

Best decision made about our list in a long time.

I'll gloat at his departure. The very definition of a list clogger.

2007 was a good season for him, his best by far. His lack of ability to back that form up this year tells something about his character. It's the same reason he was inconsistent.

If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing.

Nothing.

mick13

Thanks Fizz, you showed us something and I appreciated what you brought to the team in 2007. Shame you couldn't keep the form up, best of luck with the rest of your life mate.

markinUSA

Thank you and good luck in whatever you do in future.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

ozrulestrace wrote:Fiora please, I'll help pay his contract out.
He was on his last chance in the finals and did nothing.
Time to go Aaron.
Legendary wrote:I will chip in money to help pay Fiora's contract out.

It could be like reverse player sponsorship for next year?
Legendary wrote:I will chip in money to help pay Fiora's contract out.

It could be like reverse player sponsorship for next year?
yep. ill be in. should we start a separate thread collecting? should be a tax deduction.
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Fri 31 Oct 2008 5:26pm, edited 2 times in total.

Get out the cheque book :lol: :lol: :lol:

about time aaron was waste of space
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Some absolute ripper grabs (the courageous one running back with the flight into the goalsquare was memorable), and if anyone else took them they would have been even better.....he has my respect for playing 10 years and 140 games of AFL....he will now go back to SA and DOMINATE sanfl...

He was a fringe player, who played a role as a back-up runner....he had the attributes for AFL footy but maybe not the hardness to succeed completely at the top level - but he succeeded somewhat...

On Heath Black - yeah, the dockers flourished with him, a cheap kick getting soft reciever across HB whose 69 games at Freo were every bit as average as Aarons.....his time at St.K was extremely overrated, and IMO was a disappointing player - who had one good year 2004 (like Fiora 2007 and Ackland 2005) and never lived up to expectation.....Black was a s*it bloke to boot....

St DAC

BigMart wrote:On Heath Black - yeah, the dockers flourished with him, a cheap kick getting soft reciever across HB whose 69 games at Freo were every bit as average as Aarons.....his time at St.K was extremely overrated, and IMO was a disappointing player - who had one good year 2004 (like Fiora 2007 and Ackland 2005) and never lived up to expectation.....Black was a s*it bloke to boot....
Spot on BM. I've always thought we got somewhat shafted inthe Black/Fiora/Simmons deal, but in fact Black never had the form at Freo he displayed for his single decent season with us in 2004. In the end, Richmond were well in front on that deal.

You'd think that this means the decision has been made on Cousins.

Bad luck Fizz.