Jason Gram

Jason Gram

Does anyone have the stats for how many times he hits the post when having a ping at the goals?? I don't remember watching someone hitting the post so consistently!

Re: Jason Gram

yeah, he's an expert at it. always the left post, too. might need to adjust the sights.

from in front...or behind where you are sitting.........right post for mine......he's a left footer........

stinger wrote:from in front...or behind where you are sitting.........right post for mine......he's a left footer........
from where he's standing, though i don't have anything to back me up on that but my memory.

i actually just chucked it in there.

he's a right footer, though.

stinger wrote:he's a left footer........
not bad from fifty on the run on his non preferred then :P

Any stats on how many hard balls he wins...

IMO GRAM is where Dal santo was last year. Has everything going for him but will not committ his body to any contests. Looks like he just wants to hang around the fringes and collect the cheap kicks. Works hard to run past for a hand ball when in the forward 50 - but doesn't work near hard enough to chase and tackle when the opposition has the ball.

We wuld have another quality midfielder if he can address this part of his game...

There is absolutely no comparison in toughness between Dal Santo and Gram. Dal will put his head over the ball whereas Gram even refuses to tackle

matrixcutter wrote:
stinger wrote:he's a left footer........
not bad from fifty on the run on his non preferred then :P

sorry...you are right of course......i was thinking of dal...... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: ....oh the shame....the shame...... :roll:

Still not sold on Grammy.

For mine could find himself out of the team if not careful. Can be selfish

which is not fitting in the new team orientated saints outfit. X or maybe

Armo could fit in for him and both have a far better defensive game.

Don't get me wrong I think he is/can be a very good player but there are

aspects to his game he really needs to address.

stkfc1 wrote:Still not sold on Grammy.

Grammy has been close to or in the best in all 3 games. He is so far from being dropped.

right for once...nice change,,,,but credit where credit's due.... :wink: :lol:

bakes

Have to say I agree with WinnersOnly and Moccha.
Gram seems to me flirting around the packs waiting for the easy ball.
Look at McQualter, Baker, Dal. Putting their head over the ball.
Blake, and even Gwilt and Ray having a dip head first.
Can't remember the last time Gram had a hard-ball-get.
Could be a weak link come finals time when the intensity of the opposition lifts.

bakes wrote:Have to say I agree with WinnersOnly and Moccha.
Gram seems to me flirting around the packs waiting for the easy ball.
Look at McQualter, Baker, Dal. Putting their head over the ball.
Blake, and even Gwilt and Ray having a dip head first.
Can't remember the last time Gram had a hard-ball-get.
Could be a weak link come finals time when the intensity of the opposition lifts.
If you think every player has to go and get his own ball all the time well I dont think that is right. Gram had 4 contested possessions last week and Baker had one. Does that make Bakes soft dont think so. 4-6 a game is enough for how he plays.

saint vince

I hate to go against how most of the footy world looks at Gram. But personally I think he gives the ball up way to much. Everytime he gets it he kicks it 50m down the line. Never looks for the best option. Always has a shot at goal when other options are on. All things you forgive when you are winning because you forget the goals he cost us. Whole different story if we lose a game or two. I agree that he may find his way out of the side if he doesn't change some of his bad traits and starts to play a more team orientated game.

Plugger 66: In whose opinion has he been in our best players in the first 3 games. I haven't thought so myself but I am only one person.

stinger wrote:from in front...or behind where you are sitting.........right post for mine......he's a left footer........
Watching your TV in a mirror, mate?

I've got nothing against Gram at all - but that is not even close to being true.

Saintersss

He's an outside player, he is not expected to get the hard ball. Players like Ball, Hayes are meant to feed it to him and he is meant to break the lines. Few players can do both (i.e Dal Santo)

As for his shots for goal outside 50, before everyone was complaining how our mids don't take enough shots... blah... blah. This guy does it and now he is crusified for it.

He is a very good player and as said far from being dropped.

Sainterone

Gram has improved leaps and bounds from his early days.
His form in 2008 was impressive (500 plus disposals and 20 goals in 25 matches). He consistently broke the lines from half-back and he was instrumental in many inside 50's where we scored.

He might not have been the best on ground in the first three matches this season but he has performed well enough to hold his place in the team.

He certainly won't be dropped for X or Raph or anyone else that is currently not playing.

GO SAINTS

NICK RIEWOLDT - 444 GOALS FROM 200 MATCHES
STEPHEN MILNE - 440 GOALS FROM 216 MATCHES

aspects of his game is his disposal by hand and foot....

Far too many clangers in both areas, and more so the resulted goal to the opposition over recent times....

There is little chance to F*** up when we are going well, and his disposal has been terrible for a player that is loose and has no defencive skills and can not take a contested mark....

He needs to improve on those areas, as players are lining up to take his spot...

X could easily slip into his position of a loose half back come mid fielder, and is more polished with his disposal

savatage wrote:

I've got nothing against Gram at all - but that is not even close to being true.
Well he has been named 5th best in the match reports in 2 out of 3 games so I reckon it is close to being true.

Hey maybe he's playing totally to coaches instructions :roll: :roll: :roll: And possibly that's his role in the team....duuuhhhhh!!

gram's been very good.

he's shanked a few kicks for goal while running at high speed, true, but he's giving us a lot of run.

Winmarvellous

Got no problem with him, but needs to convert the 50m goals. He's got the boot to do it, and needs to utilise it.

good player with room to improve. provides something a little different to the rest of our midfielders - goal threat from 50, hard and fast outside running. is often in position to receive and help out through the middle.

has had 4 tackles a game (8th in the team) and 22+ disposals (equal 5th).

SB10

Have a little theory on Gram's tackling, or lack of, as has been highlighted in this post.

Grammy's had a history of shoulder problems (collarbone, AC joint, maybe even a reco?) with a number of these being caused by tackling or by copping a direct hip and shoulder. Has always had his shoulders heavily strapped for stability.

This was evident against the Crows in Rnd 2, when lunging for a tackle I thought he may have popped the shoulder or done a collarbone. In the end it may have just been a "stinger" (very lucky).

He obviously has very weak shoulders, almost to the point that he can't even ride a bump. How many times have you seen him go down in pain from a simple side on bump? I can remember many........might be a reason he's not a great defensive spoiler either?

So just maybe he's under instruction to only tackle when absolutely necessary??

Maybe I'm cutting him too much slack but food for thought.