CARRARA GAME DETAILS - Pls Sticky

Selhurst Saint

The Liars Bar was a great place to celebrate last year.

Count me in.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Yeah what is the go with the weather up there,thought it was the dry season? The Brisbane radar looked January Darwin monsoonesque today..

Long range forecast is for rain next weekend too. I don't want to get wet,and I don't want a slugfest! I want a 24 goal massacre in the dry! It would also mean I'd have to go back to my accom to get changed after the game instead of kicking on..... this is a disaster in the making!! SaintBev make it go away!

jonesy wrote:Yeah what is the go with the weather up there,thought it was the dry season? The Brisbane radar looked January Darwin monsoonesque today..

Long range forecast is for rain next weekend too. I don't want to get wet,and I don't want a slugfest! I want a 24 goal massacre in the dry! It would also mean I'd have to go back to my accom to get changed after the game instead of kicking on..... this is a disaster in the making!! SaintBev make it go away!
ha ha, I'll do my best. Its been a pig of a day. Very cyclonic. One game a year, we want good weather, start praying everyone. :lol:

any weather updates QLD'ers?

SaintPM

Iwantmeseats,

Had a brief shower or two over the weekend,but whether has been quite warm and windy, so good drying out whether. Forecast for the rest of the week (Brisbane) looking good at this stage

Forecast for Tuesday
Mostly fine, cloudy periods with just the chance of a shower or two. Light SW
to SE winds.
Mostly fine.
City: Min 14 Max 23

Wednesday Mostly fine. Min 13 Max 23
Thursday Fine. Min 11 Max 25
Friday Mostly fine. Min 11 Max 23
Saturday Fine. Min 11 Max 22
Sunday Fine. Min 13 Max 21
Monday Shower or two.

Sign Sealed for Life

Bev from what i know the Vic Cheer Squad is bay 8 or there abouts, so i take it thats around you guys also? just want to confirm that so i know to to look out for people in the crowd on tv from that end, and is that the end we were at last year?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
SaintPM

Got our tickets from the club on Friday, in stand 6 this year, compared to 2 last year. Same side of the ground (Western) but opposite end of the ground this yaer (Southern) - Right hand side of the ground looking at the TV coverage.

Sign Sealed for Life

SaintPM wrote:Got our tickets from the club on Friday, in stand 6 this year, compared to 2 last year. Same side of the ground (Western) but opposite end of the ground this yaer (Southern) - Right hand side of the ground looking at the TV coverage.
mate, i have never been more confused in my life :?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

saintdooley wrote:
SaintPM wrote:Got our tickets from the club on Friday, in stand 6 this year, compared to 2 last year. Same side of the ground (Western) but opposite end of the ground this yaer (Southern) - Right hand side of the ground looking at the TV coverage.
mate, i have never been more confused in my life :?
not as detailed as one map I saw but the location of stands is as quoted.

Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 27 May 2009 7:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

SaintPM

Saint Dooley,

Apologies for confusing you,

The Saints allocated tickets from the club we received are stand 6 in the western stand. These are at around the 50 metre mark at the southern end. As the cameras are in the same stand, this would be the 50 metre mark on the right hand goal end as viewed on the TV.

Having written that, you've got me confusing myself now, hope I don't end up driving to the Gabba by mistake

Sign Sealed for Life

hmm, i just found my round 14 ticket from last year at the Gold Coast vs North, still in my wallet. last year we sat in bay 19 so this year i take it the saints fans are down the other end.
reminder: clean out my wallet

There are a few maps, which can be very confusing, this is not one of the better ones. Stand 8 is directly behind the goals. We sat there for the NAB CUP. THe reason why we are at the other end to last year is because we are the home side. I love the Western Stand as it has a great wooden floor, fantastic for stomping your feet and making alot of noise. I was exhausted last year after the game.

I can guarantee you will hear us, would be good if we could get in sinc with the cheer squad.

Forecast has changed from sunny to cloudy and 21. We can be different to Bris. Fingers crossed.

Guys,

Im staying in coolangatta for other matters. So, it seems there is no train between coolangatta and Carrara, true? If so, is there a bus? Is there anything?

Seems to me its almost cut off by design from the rest of the state ! ..thanks

Free Transport for Ticket Holders

There is no easier way of getting to the venue than on the FREE shuttle buses that run in and around the Gold Coast two hours prior to the first bounce of every AFL game at Gold Coast Stadium, Carrara.

Present your AFL match ticket upon boarding the bus to ride free with TransLink. Visit www.goldcoastfc.com.au for more information.

http://www.saints.com.au/season2009/new ... fault.aspx

thanks, but its no help travelling from coolangatta !

shows how much I DON't Know Qld

haha yeah me too. Looks like coolangatta has got to be the WORST place to try and get to carrara from! If its really that hard, I think Ill just give it a miss. I aint copping a 40 min cab ride each way!

have you tried google directions?

and maybe a hire car? as a couple of others mentioned.

no way my man, Im drinking, and I drive for a living!

Coolangatta is the bottom end of the coast, boarder of NSW. The Gold Coast doesn't have a big population like capital cities, hence the lack of public transport. Not the best place to be staying for the footy.

Your best bet is to catch a bus along the Gold Coast Highway to Broadbeach. Get off near the Casino which is across the road from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, if you are lucky there may even be a bus that will take you straight there. Ask at reception where you are staying. From there you can catch the free bus to Carrara.

The bus system is privately owned and pretty hopeless, so allow around an hour to get from Coolie to Broadbeach.

Thanks Bev! Yeah. I hadnt planned Coolangatta to be the crash pad, but circumstances prevailed. That sounds like a goer though. :D

Yeah I've just spent half an hour online trying to figure out the bus services from the airport...worst site ever. After half an hour and not finding how much and if they run from the airport I concluded..she'll be right

Latest Weather forecast...shower or two.

Anyone else on the Tiger flight at 11.10am saturday?

Selhurst Saint

I only got here yesterday but I reckon you take the "Shuttle Setvice" from the airport to Broadbeach then take the free bus to Cararra.

PS The weather is brilliant.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

jonesy wrote:Yeah I've just spent half an hour online trying to figure out the bus services from the airport...worst site ever. After half an hour and not finding how much and if they run from the airport I concluded..she'll be right

Latest Weather forecast...shower or two.

Anyone else on the Tiger flight at 11.10am saturday?
yep, Im on that one :D

I figure Ill get a bus to Pacific whatsitsname near broadbeach and get the free shuttle from there.

Re: CARRARA GAME DETAILS - Pls Sticky

Saint Bev wrote:

TRANSPORT

Free buses depart from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Broadbeach, you will need to show your ticket.

Is this definite and if so what time do the buses run free - to the ground and back?...

I am staying somewhere on the coast right now, and we are looking at getting to Broadbeach where there is a blues festival on (?) and getting a free bus to and from the ground?

Great steaks and 400 beers today.... :lol: