StKilda V Geelong stays at Etihad

mordi

my 10 cents......

Playing at Etihad gives us a small edge, which could mean the difference in close game.

We must stay top, dont risk that spot.

We have lots of finals experience..remember a lot of these guys have been through 4 campaigns, many high pressure games

We play the G well anyway

On balance......take the small advantage it gives us.

What's the Point of it All?

The game is staying at Etihad because

COLLO THREATENED TO SUE THE AFL IF IT WAS SHIFTED

It is a simple as that

If there are to be positives come out of this its that it will force the AFL to work a lot harder to broker a fair deal for the clubs !!

A shame from the point of view of practice at the Grandfinal venue...
the positives...it will give us a chance to roll Geelong where we play our best footy...it should be a sellout and telecast live free to air.

If its pissing down rain we will all be glad it was kept at the Dome..

Get in early folks they will sell fast...anyone know when they go on Sales BTW?

CAN'T WAIT :twisted:

mordi

Saints supporters , get in early and book Level 1 amongst the reserved seats, so we have a solid block....no interlopers like the Essendon game.

We are in aisle 31/32 and there are a few spare seats near us.

What's the Point of it All?

Come on over to the boneyard Catters.

Sunday afternoon game...

Daresay there is no free to air.

Free to air stations would be bleeding this isnt Friday or Saturday night.

bigred wrote:Come on over to the boneyard Catters.

Sunday afternoon game...

It's the Ch 7 delayed game. I wonder if they will push for it to go "LIVE"? !!

saint1974

Sunday afternoon game...

Sorry bigred it is broadcast by channel 7!
Will be interesting to see if they broadcast live

saint1974 wrote:

Sunday afternoon game...

Sorry bigred it is broadcast by channel 7!
Will be interesting to see if they broadcast live
I doubt it - my guess is that they would be hoping for a close game that they can broadcast right up to their scheduled News service, to maximize their ratings.

What a CIRCUS this AFL and stadiums deal is.

Dimwit stating Etihad threat to sue cause move to fall over

Etihad denying such demand

the big question who tells the truth out of Dimwit and collo!!

:? :?

James

chook23 wrote:Dimwit stating Etihad threat to sue cause move to fall over

Then there's no problem. Why hasn't it been moved?

Brendon Goddard - 2012 Premiership Captain

James wrote:
chook23 wrote:Dimwit stating Etihad threat to sue cause move to fall over

Then there's no problem. Why hasn't it been moved?
:roll: :roll:

the big question who tells the truth out of Dimwit and collo!!

:? :?
Neither will tell you the whole truth.
They are both very careful to only give you part of an answer so that they have legitimate deniability afterwards.

I learned that lesson many years ago when we played Hawthorn at Princes Park on a Monday after there had been a disaster on the Sunday when Hawthorn played there and Collo, as ground manager, hadn't opened up all the entry gates.

As I stood in a queue a kilometer long waiting to get in I heard Collo tell the world on 3AW that all the gates were open. What he didn't tell anybody was that only half the turnstiles at each gate were actually manned.

He didn't tell a lie - he just only half answered the question.
He knew what the intent of the question was, he just chose to answer it in his own inimitable style.

Dimwit is no different.

Well looks like Coloo is running the AFL....

saintsRrising wrote:Well looks like Coloo is running the AFL....
again? :)

Who taught Dimwit how to do the job?

Back to the OP, and ignoring all other issues bar this one:-

Keeping the game at Etihad gives plenty of ammunition to teh Saints Membership Dept in telling people that id you want to be assured of seeing the Saints play in big games, you really do need to buy a Membership and probably a reserved seat.

The 31,000+ members and however many reserved seat holders are guaranteed of seeing the game.

Those that chose not to purchase memberships and/or reserved seats are not. (not saying that there aren't legitimate reasons for people not to purchase)

Loyal

any notion from a st kilda football club member wanting this fixture to be moved to the MCG is heresy.

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?

I have just got off the phone to my ES ticketing manager contact....please note...

Whilst it is very likely that this game will now be all-ticketed, NO OFFICIAL DECISION HAS BEEN MADE YET!!!

ES are not meeting until next Wednesday to finally decide on the status of the game.

IF you go to Ticketmaster you cannot buy L3/GA tickets until 19th June

However..yes..I urge all Saints fans without reserved seats who want to sit on L1/2 to buy tickets ASAP, thus shutting out the Cats from these Levels!!!!!!!!

bob__71

No reserved seats left. I got 1 on level 1 but need two....was hoping it would be moved to the G so I wouldnt need to panic about where I am going to get another ticket.

Don't care about home ground advantages or crowds.

I just want some preparation on the G against the awesome Cats side.

A touch dissapointing, but not the end of the world. Let's move on. Go Sainters.

bob__71 wrote:No reserved seats left. I got 1 on level 1 but need two....was hoping it would be moved to the G so I wouldnt need to panic about where I am going to get another ticket.
they will do as they do for other games and release bays at a time- try again

they start central wing and release out.

untill declared 'fully ticketed' - at which time I ASSUME - they will release the whole stadium.
the operators have no idea of this untill ticketmaster / Stadium tell them- they just get what comes up on the screen

who knew the day would come when collo would act like an a$$hole...no wait, er...carry on.

Disgraceful decision which is not in the best interest of the ultimate success that the club craves.

Collo is and always has been a *rseh0le and the AFL cannot whinge because they put themselves inthis position inder Mr Jackson by closing Waverley and rationalising the grounds in to this great stadium that was to be the saviour of clibs.

YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW

Lenny_Hayes7

What i want to know is considering we finished top 4 last year why did we only get one game at the MCG this year?

The job of the AFL is to make fans happy it's common sense to move the game... too much politics involved me thinks.
Pretty sure if it was Collingwood it would have been moved! :evil:

Lenny_Hayes7 wrote:What i want to know is considering we finished top 4 last year why did we only get one game at the MCG this year?

The job of the AFL is to make fans happy it's common sense to move the game... too much politics involved me thinks.
Pretty sure if it was Collingwood it would have been moved! :evil:
If it was Collingwood it probably would have been scheduled at the G in the first place.

The fact is our home ground is the Dome.
We get home games against all other teams at the Dome (forget Melbourne at Carrara)

Essendon's home game agaisnt us is at the Dome

Carlton's home game against us is at the Dome.

The AfL recognize us as a medium drawing Club and so schedule our away games against Geelong at the Dome (not at Skilled)

I reckon if we had 40-45000 members we'd start being scheduled to play games at the G, but we don't.

What's more, we got consigned to Sunday afternoon and Twilight games this season for some perceived fault last year. (too boring a style?)

We went from the kings of Friday and Saturday nights to Sunday also rans.

It just so happens that the 'lousy draw' they 'penalised' us with has turned out to be a really good draw for us re results.

I have no doubt with given what's transpired with us this year, if they could the AFL would make scheduling changes to catch in on it.

As for the free to air TV channels, they made a choice in asking for certain conditions in the draw and now Foxtel is reaping the rewards of getting more of our games to broadcast.
Last edited by Mr Magic on Fri 29 May 2009 5:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

saintnat

we camn beatt the cats at any ground any time

go saints you know you can do it