Thompson says Saints the benchmark

Sainterman

Thompson says Saints the benchmark

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

Interesting for Thompson to be talking about the Saints after knocking over the Bombers today. Mind games starting already?

Interesting considering some of the drivel that has appeared on here in the last 24 hours.

Re: Thompson says Saints the benchmark

:roll: we haven't won 50 out of 53 or whatever that ridiculous stat is. good luck trying to portray yourself as the underdog bummer.

Sainterman

Gave me a laugh...at it already is Bomber.

Re: Thompson says Saints the benchmark

Sainterman wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

Interesting for Thompson to be talking about the Saints after knocking over the Bombers today. Mind games starting already?

Interesting considering some of the drivel that has appeared on here in the last 24 hours.
what bollocks. Mind games. Nothing else.

Yeh right.

After thrashing us in the finals last year I reckon they would still be pretty confident they can match us and more.

Its their midfield, such an even contribution, plus more.

Ablett, Selwood, Bartel, Corey, Enright, Ling.

All about 25 plus or minus and all strong bodies...This is where we need to win to beat Geelong.

He should read this Board so that he can realise that we have apparently fluked 10 wins with a crap backline, hopeless rucks and other assorted duds. If only we could bring in 5 kids and 5 geriatrics then we would win every game by 250 goals. And anyway, what would Mark Thompson know?

The Saintsational Man

Fattening the lamb.....

Mark "Glad Wrap" Thompson - so transparent

So he praises us, and he's basically dumped on...?

Geez, imagine the response here if he said the below:

[quote]
Saints still chasing Cats, says Thompson

GEELONG coach Mark Thompson says St Kilda has a fair way to go before it can be considered in the same light as his competition trendsetters.

Both sides have won 10 matches without defeat in 2009 but Thompson considers his side to be the benchmark, and it is a stance that is driving the Cats forward.

“They are trying to be in competition with us to be honest,â€
Last edited by evertonfc on Sun 31 May 2009 9:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

Milton66

In fairness to Thompson, Geelong haven't beaten anyone above it on the ladder this year. :shock:

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
Sainterman

[quote="evertonfc"]So he praises us, and he's basically dumped on...?

Geez, imagine the response here if he said the below:

[quote]
Saints still chasing Cats, says Thompson

GEELONG coach Mark Thompson says St Kilda has a fair way to go before it can be considered in the same light as his competition trendsetters.

Both sides have won 10 matches without defeat in 2009 but Thompson considers his side to be the benchmark, and it is a stance that is driving the Cats forward.

“They are trying to be in competition with us to be honest,â€

Thompson says that we are the benchmark but deep down he knows that they are the benchmark so in reality he is only doubling the pressue for his own side saying that the pressure is on them to catch up but knowing that all the pressure is actually on them to stay ahead :wink:

The Geelong Football Club has a team I consider one of the best I have ever seen including all of the Hawk teams of the 80's Carlton of 95 Essendon of 1999-2001 and Brisbane 2001-2004.

They are the benchmark and really anyone can see that.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

I had wondered if the thumping of Essendon may have been a little message to us? I could be reading heaps into it of course, but this was a side that remained competitive against us only recently and many thought may be able to give Geelong a scare with pace?

jackal

joffaboy wrote:The Geelong Football Club has a team I consider one of the best I have ever seen including all of the Hawk teams of the 80's Carlton of 95 Essendon of 1999-2001 and Brisbane 2001-2004.

They are the benchmark and really anyone can see that.
Which will make our flag this year even sweeter!!

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:I had wondered if the thumping of Essendon may have been a little message to us? I could be reading heaps into it of course, but this was a side that remained competitive against us only recently and many thought may be able to give Geelong a scare with pace?
Round 14 is 5 weeks away. Today's message may be forgotten by then.

saint3d

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:I had wondered if the thumping of Essendon may have been a little message to us? I could be reading heaps into it of course, but this was a side that remained competitive against us only recently and many thought may be able to give Geelong a scare with pace?
With a nine day break I'd expect the Saints to flog Essendon too. After a six day break, a solid win is... pleasing.

Dal_Santos_Gal

Benchmark ha, sounds like he is trying to shift the pressure if you ask me.

The pressure of being "the greatest team of all" and possibly only winning 1 flag in their "brilliant" era.

Hope they chock on the pressure in round 14 and also GF day if they make it.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
StSteven

A better evaluation caan be found in Matthew Knights summary of them.
Es[ecially re their tackling.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html

St DAC

I went to this game yesterday, and frankly, the Cats were stunningly good. I haven't seen football of that calibre from us this year even when we've played particularly well; IMO there is still a fair gap between us.

Ducks and drakes...

We're thirty points adrift on recent efforts.

Interesting though that Cats game vs Melbourne was remarkably similar to ours both in terms of style and margin.