Roof Open?

AlpineStars

Roof Open?

Why was the roof open? They were lucky it didn't rain more than it did. It was freezing. It's a disgrace no one takes waterproof jackets or umbrella's because they assume the roof will be closed if it rains. Very lucky are the P nuts that run that stadium.

Wake me up when September ends.

Re: Roof Open?

AlpineStars wrote: It was freezing.
f^<k oath, i though i was going to die

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
VietNam_Saint

Absolutely ,, the management (and i use the word laughingly) should give a please explain.

Games that I do get to , I do not go taking a coat or such given the size of the allocated seating . I expect that I am gonna be dry and reasonably warm sitting in a roofed stadium on a day that could expect rain .

Some people pay heaps for their seats , unacceptable from the dickheads at the Jihad.

What will be next from this club ?

Don't you people realise it takes electricity to close the roof.
Collins is trying to save on electricity to increase his profit.
Your comfort is of no concern to him.

benengel14

Can you people have anything more to whinge about. Of course the roof should be open. No rain, no sun, whingers.

sainter35

I think we may have have won by more had the roof been closed but I've got no problem with the roof being left open. If it starts to rain by all means close the roof but it's an outdoor game. I was more comfortable watching the footy today than on a sunny day when the roof is left open and those of us on the city side of the ground have to spend the majority of game time shielding our eyes from the sun.

Pwoit

saintdooley wrote:
You obvioulsy never experienced Waverly when it was even colder.

Went to an Escort Cup game out there back in the early 80's I think i was about 2c at night when they played the games mid week.

Pwoit wrote:
saintdooley wrote:
You obvioulsy never experienced Waverly when it was even colder.

Went to an Escort Cup game out there back in the early 80's I think i was about 2c at night when they played the games mid week.

Yeah I remember Waverley, I couldn't get my car out of the carpark because of the snow.
Then my radiator burst despite it being full of ethylene glycol (anti freeze).
Fortunately I had two planks of wood in the back of the car so I was able to ski home. :D :D :D

claystreet

Moorabbbin middle of winter hosing down rain standing on the outter wing
some of you pussies orta try it.

BallBanger

plugger66 wrote:Can you people have anything more to whinge about. Of course the roof should be open. No rain, no sun, whingers.
Do you scan this site to whinge about the whingers 66...what a hypocrite

We have an arena that was for all sense and purposes built for player/spectator comfort providing a roof to keep out the harsher winter components...

I for one do not drag my family out when it is cold wet and windy to any other ground except for docklands..the roof is the best thing the place has going for it

BallBanger wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Can you people have anything more to whinge about. Of course the roof should be open. No rain, no sun, whingers.
Do you scan this site to whinge about the whingers 66...what a hypocrite

We have an arena that was for all sense and purposes built for player/spectator comfort providing a roof to keep out the harsher winter components...

I for one do not drag my family out when it is cold wet and windy to any other ground except for docklands..the roof is the best thing the place has going for it
Well I hope it doesnt rain grand final day. Fair dinkum it was cold. Big deal. Obviously never went to Moorabbin. I'm sorry you missed some great games.

I've noticed they just closed the roof mid game in the Ess v Ade game after it started raining whereas yesterday the AFL said they couldn't do it because of OH&S issues.

They just make things up as they go, the tribunal, the fixture, their 'please explains', their operating procedures, rule changes, their 'sacred cows' (umpires), ticketing, new teams / licences...they are lucky the game, the players and the fan's passion keeps bringing in the dollars. Their administration and their CEO is a joke!

plugger66 wrote: Well I hope it doesnt rain grand final day. Fair dinkum it was cold. Big deal. Obviously never went to Moorabbin. I'm sorry you missed some great games.
Unless I am mistaken the Grand Final is played at a venue where there is no roof.

Am I correct in this assumption? If I am I dont see what the grand Final has to do with a H@A game at Docklands in early June.

It is an AFL decision not a stadium decision not to have the roof closed.

It didn't rain - although it has today during the Essendon v Adelaide game.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

plugger66 wrote: Well I hope it doesnt rain grand final day. Fair dinkum it was cold. Big deal. Obviously never went to Moorabbin. I'm sorry you missed some great games.
Unless I am mistaken the Grand Final is played at a venue where there is no roof.

Am I correct in this assumption? If I am I dont see what the grand Final has to do with a H@A game at Docklands in early June.

Maybe you should read the post i replied to. He said that he for one doesnt drag his family out when it is cold and wet and windy to any other ground except the docklands. I think my reply was fair enough. If you dont can you tell me why?

CMon people it goes much deeper than this.
Its plain to see the AFL think the Saints board as weak and insipid, and are conspiring against us to reduce our monumental percentage.
They cant stop us from winning so they try to affect things like the umpires, tribunal, and now the weather.
Anything to get essendon(roof closed) Carlscum and the filth back into the final eight.

It was raining for about 30 seconds yesterday in the first quarter.

Got a roof,use it,simple as that

BallBanger

Maybe you should read the post i replied to. He said that he for one doesnt drag his family out when it is cold and wet and windy to any other ground except the docklands. I think my reply was fair enough. If you dont can you tell me why?
Why do you think they put a roof on the stadium 66?

BallBanger wrote:

So the players have good conditions to play under and so supporters dont get wet. I thought conditions for the players yesterday were perfect. A bit cold for the spectators but i felt ok.

I have no problem if the roof is always closed but it isnt so we cannot expect it to be closed because it is cold.

BallBanger

BallBanger wrote:

So the players have good conditions to play under and so supporters dont get wet. I thought conditions for the players yesterday were perfect. A bit cold for the spectators but i felt ok.

I have no problem if the roof is always closed but it isnt so we cannot expect it to be closed because it is cold.
Unlike the good old days at moorabbin

Ghost Like wrote:I've noticed they just closed the roof mid game in the Ess v Ade game after it started raining whereas yesterday the AFL said they couldn't do it because of OH&S issues.

They just make things up as they go, the tribunal, the fixture, their 'please explains', their operating procedures, rule changes, their 'sacred cows' (umpires), ticketing, new teams / licences...they are lucky the game, the players and the fan's passion keeps bringing in the dollars. Their administration and their CEO is a joke!
North Melbourne would have to pay for the roof to be closed.
With the crowd they draw, it would be an OH&S issue for their accountant.

I actually loved it. It was overcast and very little wind with very little rain - perfect conditions for footy :wink: . It is a winter sport after all. I would prefer they closed the roof when it's bright sunshine as it's impossible to see on one side of the ground, and the players appear blinded by the sun every other aerial contest at one end.

Having said this I thought Docklands management took one hell of a risk as it looked like raining for most of the day - and others have said - no-one comes prepared for rain at Etihad.

I too was under the impression that once the game starts they can't open or close the roof. Bit unfair if there was a wind blowing I would have thought.

I sat out at Waverley at it's worse, didn't bother me.
Try sitting at Lambeau Field Green Bay when minus 10 Farenheit and snowing, now that's cold and numbing.
Had no problem with the roof, though it would have been interesting what would Have happened if it started to rain.

3rd generation saint wrote:I sat out at Waverley at it's worse, didn't bother me.
Try sitting at Lambeau Field Green Bay when minus 10 Farenheit and snowing, now that's cold and numbing.
Had no problem with the roof, though it would have been interesting what would Have happened if it started to rain.

I hope you were careful not to contract swine flu. oink oink
And Green Bay has a waiting list decades long just to get a membership.

Minus 10 fahrenheit, that's minus 23 centigrade. 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
I skied in that sort of temperature - but not for very long, the chalet fire was far more appealing.

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

Ghost Like wrote:I've noticed they just closed the roof mid game in the Ess v Ade game after it started raining whereas yesterday the AFL said they couldn't do it because of OH&S issues.

They mentioned on ABC radio today that the AFL said the roof couldn't be closed mid game but the stadium administrators decided that it could.

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.