The sad, irrelevant clown, Sheedy

So Kevin Sheedy has declared Geelong is the certain premier, eh? We'll win the premiership for sure now. That totally over rated buffoon Sheedy has done us the biggest favour of the year. Fair dinkum, he is the "Chauncy Gardner" (aka Chance the Gardener) of AFL. For those of you who missed the excellent film "Being There", let me fill you in on who "Chauncy Gardener" was.

He was the star of the film (Peter Sellers) and his character was an idiot gardener, who was so low in intelligence that all he was capable of was tending to his employer's low maintenance, inner city apartment garden, in between watching tv. When his high profile boss dies, Chauncey, as the media comes to re-name him, is mistaken for some sort of guru, as he talks in cliches and sound bites, gleaned from his non-stop diet of tv. The media comes to believe he was his former employer's most trusted adviser and he becomes a superstar, even advising the President of the USA on economic matters.

This is what has happened with Kevin Sheedy. Over the years he has made more ridiculous, ill-though out and downright stupid comments, than anyone in the game, but a sycophantic media grabs everything he says and hails it as a pearl of wisdom. You only have to listen how former players Hird, Watson and Long have chastised him in the media for, as Long once famously sang on TFS, "Puttin' up with s***, from Sheedy". Hird and Watson are no great fans of his so-called "intellect" either and have gone into print to say so.

It is sad to watch him throw his hat back into the coaching ring. It would be typical of Richmond to grab him now, when he is a decade past his use by. Last year, he played the old, "hard to get card", citing he'd had enough of coaching. Well the bad news Kev is, footy has had enough of you. When everyone ignored his pathetic and transparent tactic, he has used his old mate KB to kick-start the campaign. Sad, but true.

I know the man won 4 premierships and that is a mighty achievement, but let's put that into context as well. He inherited one of the best young lists the competition had ever seen, carefully assembled by Bill Stephen and nurtured by one of footy's great teachers, Barry Davis. The only reason Davis didn't continue on was that he, ironically, decided to pursue his career as an academic. Having inherited that list, Sheedy went on to coach the second most widely supported club in the land, one which was also consistently the best-performed in terms of administration and financial success. He was given cart-blanche in terms of his football department by a board which was generally totally supportive. If anything he under achieved, given the embarrassment of riches he was handed. The bombers should have won more premierships, especially in the mid 80's and late 90's, early naughties. I can't help thinking that that Essendon team is very much like the current Geelong side. Let's hope a similar fate befalls them.

If you want to see the true "genius" of Sheedy, see if you can find the footage of his stoush with Robert Walls, "On the Couch" a few years ago. Naked, unprotected by his media pals, and armed only with his silliness and self-obsession, Walls picks him apart on his coaching record and generally "limited" coaching experience. It is a joy to watch the clown, exposed in a fair fight for once, stumble, drivel and generally show his true, comically sad self. He even ends up, very reluctantly and briefly shaking Walls hand at the end of it.

I know we should respect our icons of the game. His achievements in football are significant and from all reports he is a dedicated football person who gives generously. For those who will jump on me for this, please understand, I'm having a go at his record of talking crap and the media's ability to turn anything he utters into an act of pure genius. Just as they did with Chauncey Gardener.

He mightn't look so stupid if we get whopped by 10 goals again.

that was readable

footage of his stoush with Robert Walls, "On the Couch"

luv to watch it ....

bratski will find it ....in brat i trust
Last edited by asiu on Thu 02 Jul 2009 2:58pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saintschampions08

degruch wrote:He mightn't look so stupid if we get whopped by 10 goals again.
He already looks like the biggest idiot for saying 'I honestly believe Richmond can with the premiership'...

Saintschampions08 wrote:
degruch wrote:He mightn't look so stupid if we get whopped by 10 goals again.
He already looks like the biggest idiot for saying 'I honestly believe Richmond can with the premiership'...
Well, that's true. He looked like an idiot waving his poxy jacket around too, but Geelong will look pretty good this year if we get rolled. Essentially, that's what he'd be expecting to see this weekend. Hope we prove him very, very wrong.

How old is he again??

clarky449 wrote:How old is he again??
He blooded Methuselah when he started at the Dons.

Also wants the top job at the Tigers...I reckon he'd be right behind Tom Hafey on their list.

depends on how long ago- gaz..

found this refereance to something from last year
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=450067

but On the Couch video's not archived and if not seen soon after shows don't appear.

unless someones youtubed it.

or this article
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 88,00.html

I really hope he goes to Richmond.

After half a season he actually loses that last marble rolling round upstairs....

Mr X from the West

Beautifully done, White Winmar.

Although I don't know the man personally, he sniped as a player to make up for lack of talent and shat me to tears subsequently with his pathetic cliches and shockingly awkward attempts at verbal jousting.

Tiges should recruit Damien Hardwick as their coach.

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"
bethb7

Re: The sad, irrelevant clown, Sheedy

I have to say I love Sheeds I think he's a legend and a great ambassador of AFL footy. I reakon he was a great coach maybe his time is over now, but let’s not go into his performance or underachievement’s at Essendon (4 premierships I would never call underachieving myself) he says a few stupid things and he is wrong about Geelong defiantly winning the premiership, we all know he didn't really mean that he thought Richmond could win the premiership this year, I think it was his way of showing support for the Tigers that he's behind them all the way. But it isn't his fault the media turn everything he says into words of genius is it?

If you can't give the commitment you gave this year and you don't want to improve, you can go because we have unfinished business-Ross Lyon

bethb7 wrote:But it isn't his fault the media turn everything he says into words of genius is it?
O come off it...I've seen the guy doing an interview in his 'den', sitting in a leather-bound chair with a book on Rommel, talking about how military tactics in theatres of war have a place in footy...he's a lunatic! No-one believes Sheeds is a genius more than himself.

one he is a showman

two Rommel got drilled

SteveStevens66

Dan Warna wrote:one he is a showman

two Rommel got drilled
three: Rommel was a Nazi! Great role model to follow, Sheedy.

Carna Saints!!!

Move it!

Shaggy

Really nice guy IMO.

Great coach and stats speak for themselves.

AFL legend and turned the Bombers into a brand.

He embraced the indigenous and we are all better off as a result.

His opinion means nothing about the cats. But he is merely stating the obvious. How many teams have won 53 out of 56 games?

Disagree with his opinion yes but why call him "The sad, irrelevant clown, Sheedy".

Good luck mate becoming top of your industry. If you do make it than you may respect it.

Milton66

Shaggy wrote:Really nice guy IMO.

His opinion means nothing about the cats. But he is merely stating the obvious. How many teams have won 53 out of 56 games?

Disagree with his opinion yes but why call him "The sad, irrelevant clown, Sheedy".

Good luck mate becoming top of your industry. If you do make it than you may respect it.
2000% agree.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

White Winmar wrote:So Kevin Sheedy has declared Geelong is the certain premier, eh? We'll win the premiership for sure now. That totally over rated buffoon Sheedy has done us the biggest favour of the year. Fair dinkum, he is the "Chauncy Gardner" (aka Chance the Gardener) of AFL. For those of you who missed the excellent film "Being There", let me fill you in on who "Chauncy Gardener" was.

He was the star of the film (Peter Sellers) and his character was an idiot gardener, who was so low in intelligence that all he was capable of was tending to his employer's low maintenance, inner city apartment garden, in between watching tv. When his high profile boss dies, Chauncey, as the media comes to re-name him, is mistaken for some sort of guru, as he talks in cliches and sound bites, gleaned from his non-stop diet of tv. The media comes to believe he was his former employer's most trusted adviser and he becomes a superstar, even advising the President of the USA on economic matters.

This is what has happened with Kevin Sheedy. Over the years he has made more ridiculous, ill-though out and downright stupid comments, than anyone in the game, but a sycophantic media grabs everything he says and hails it as a pearl of wisdom. You only have to listen how former players Hird, Watson and Long have chastised him in the media for, as Long once famously sang on TFS, "Puttin' up with s***, from Sheedy". Hird and Watson are no great fans of his so-called "intellect" either and have gone into print to say so.

It is sad to watch him throw his hat back into the coaching ring. It would be typical of Richmond to grab him now, when he is a decade past his use by. Last year, he played the old, "hard to get card", citing he'd had enough of coaching. Well the bad news Kev is, footy has had enough of you. When everyone ignored his pathetic and transparent tactic, he has used his old mate KB to kick-start the campaign. Sad, but true.

I know the man won 4 premierships and that is a mighty achievement, but let's put that into context as well. He inherited one of the best young lists the competition had ever seen, carefully assembled by Bill Stephen and nurtured by one of footy's great teachers, Barry Davis. The only reason Davis didn't continue on was that he, ironically, decided to pursue his career as an academic. Having inherited that list, Sheedy went on to coach the second most widely supported club in the land, one which was also consistently the best-performed in terms of administration and financial success. He was given cart-blanche in terms of his football department by a board which was generally totally supportive. If anything he under achieved, given the embarrassment of riches he was handed. The bombers should have won more premierships, especially in the mid 80's and late 90's, early naughties. I can't help thinking that that Essendon team is very much like the current Geelong side. Let's hope a similar fate befalls them.

If you want to see the true "genius" of Sheedy, see if you can find the footage of his stoush with Robert Walls, "On the Couch" a few years ago. Naked, unprotected by his media pals, and armed only with his silliness and self-obsession, Walls picks him apart on his coaching record and generally "limited" coaching experience. It is a joy to watch the clown, exposed in a fair fight for once, stumble, drivel and generally show his true, comically sad self. He even ends up, very reluctantly and briefly shaking Walls hand at the end of it.

I know we should respect our icons of the game. His achievements in football are significant and from all reports he is a dedicated football person who gives generously. For those who will jump on me for this, please understand, I'm having a go at his record of talking crap and the media's ability to turn anything he utters into an act of pure genius. Just as they did with Chauncey Gardener.

i loved that movie mate....especially the scene where he says that he likes to watch...... :wink: :lol: :lol:

...ps...love the analogy..... :wink:

Gee shaggy, I might already be the top in my industry. How would you know I'm not? One thing I don't get is the personal snipe just because you disagree. There's a few on here who specialise in that, WJ42.. oops I mean Milton 66, plugger66 et. al. You stated your opinion which is perfectly valid, and I can see why you hold it.

As I conceded, 4 premierships is a fair effort in anyone's language. I call him a sad, irrelevant clown, because that is what he has become, IMHO. Apparently I'm not alone in arriving at that conclusion. Wasn't always that way, but I think he and some of his pals in the media started to believe his own publicity. There was a time when he came across as a tough, shrewd disciplinarian, who had an eye for spotting football talent. Unfortunately he coached for at least 3 years too long and has become a sad caricature of himself.

I think Mick Malthouse is in danger of going the same way. "The ox is slow but the earth is patient", and all that crap. Just coach the team and become an elder statesman of the game because you're good at what you do, not because you're an amateur (very amateur) philosopher. John Kennedy is one who springs to mind as a man of great ability and who became a true elder statesman of the game. Probably because he let his actions speak for him and wasn't a try-hard like Sheedy or Malthouse.

White Winmar wrote:Gee shaggy, I might already be the top in my industry. How would you know I'm not? One thing I don't get is the personal snipe just because you disagree. There's a few on here who specialise in that, WJ42.. oops I mean Milton 66, plugger66 et. al. You stated your opinion which is perfectly valid, and I can see why you hold it.

As I conceded, 4 premierships is a fair effort in anyone's language. I call him a sad, irrelevant clown, because that is what he has become, IMHO. Apparently I'm not alone in arriving at that conclusion. Wasn't always that way, but I think he and some of his pals in the media started to believe his own publicity. There was a time when he came across as a tough, shrewd disciplinarian, who had an eye for spotting football talent. Unfortunately he coached for at least 3 years too long and has become a sad caricature of himself.

I think Mick Malthouse is in danger of going the same way. "The ox is slow but the earth is patient", and all that crap. Just coach the team and become an elder statesman of the game because you're good at what you do, not because you're an amateur (very amateur) philosopher. John Kennedy is one who springs to mind as a man of great ability and who became a true elder statesman of the game. Probably because he let his actions speak for him and wasn't a try-hard like Sheedy or Malthouse.

you can add matthews and jeans to that list...both knew when their time as up.....

the kennedy list that is....

2000% Milton66? Please explain. Per cent means per 100, last time I looked. 2000% is something Kevin Sheedy would say and it would be hailed as some sort of miraculous mathematical breakthrough, one that eluded the inferior minds of Newton, Einstein and Hawking over the past few centuries. If I've told you once, I've told you a million times, never exaggerate!

White Winmar wrote:2000% Milton66? Please explain. Per cent means per 100, last time I looked. 2000% is something Kevin Sheedy would say and it would be hailed as some sort of miraculous mathematical breakthrough, one that eluded the inferior minds of Newton, Einstein and Hawking over the past few centuries. If I've told you once, I've told you a million times, never exaggerate!
What would you know.

He's on the hook again. Now I just have to reel him in. The sook attack has begun!

White Winmar wrote:He's on the hook again. Now I just have to reel him in. The sook attack has begun!
It was a joke Shadow after you potted me for having a go at posters. I am not on the hook but I think I got you hook line and sinker.

reincarnated

Milton66 wrote:
Shaggy wrote:Really nice guy IMO.

2000% agree.
Reincarnated and his missus at the time had dinner with Sheeds a while back, top fellow, great chap and we shared red's long into the evening

Complete winner