Adelaide's streak

There are some in the media who are talking up Adelaide because they are on a 7 game winning streak.
Interesting when you look at who they have beaten.
Carlton at AAMI, Hawthorn at AAMI, Essendon at Etihad, North at AAMI, Sydney at AAMI, Richmond at Gold Coast And Fremantle at AAMI.
In all honesty all regulation wins, with maybe the exception of Essendon because it was here, because the majority were at AAMI.
Feeling a bit more confident we will roll them again.

F_Q_F

It only matters who you beat when you are the Saints :wink:

we are still to beat someone ahead of us on the ladder...... :wink: :lol: :wink:

TassieJones

come on mate, don't get sucked in to leveling the same bulls*** people said about us earlier this year onto the crows.

A win is a win, you can only beat who you play. I reckon we'll put them away, but lets not play down their form, they've been very good.

mick13

We copped this at the start of the year, and not even we beat Freo like they did.

saintsrus

They play the dome very well, not a gimme game thats for sure

Before Im 85

They are playing some quality footy.

No doubts about it, this will be a tough game again for us.

mick13 wrote:We copped this at the start of the year, and not even we beat Freo like they did.
Freo just kicked straighter against us :wink:

emmdee

hmmmmmm........west coast travel & tough geelong game, i think this will be a tough game i for one will not be too cocky, i dont care who the crows have beaten recently. we wouldnt want to be as flat as last week...

Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy

TassieJones wrote:come on mate, don't get sucked in to leveling the same bulls*** people said about us earlier this year onto the crows.

A win is a win, you can only beat who you play. I reckon we'll put them away, but lets not play down their form, they've been very good.
Agree - they are a solid outfit - but without a Bulldog, Pies or Lions scalp in recent weeks, it's an undeniably soft run.

They'll see us as their true form guide but I think they have too many deficiencies that play into our hands - no ruck, small forwards against a gun defensive set up, relatively slow ball movement (although improving in this regard), and a midfield that is at best somewhat less potent than our own.

They have some solid defensive types. But we have the best and most verstaile forward structure in the league, especially with the Schneiderman back.

We'll win reasonably well I think.

We're better.

James

We'll go 16-0. Ten goals. Yawn.

They're garbage. Seriously. They were struggling when they had quality opposition to play.

Brendon Goddard - 2012 Premiership Captain
thirty-seven!?

Did anyone watch Adelaide play on the weekend?? They looked fabulous - and yes, Freo were terrible, but Adelaide forced them to be terrible...

I am definately concerned about this game! especially after our average showing on the weekend! Only time will tell i guess...

NoMore

To be brutally honest i am sick of people wrapping up crap teams.

Adelaide have beaten no one in the last seven games apart from essendon they were bottom 8 sides which if they r as good as they say they r then they should account for them. The only people pumping them up are the same morons who once agin are pumping the bulldogs up.

Give me one reason the bulldogs will go better this year than they did last year. Same attack and same defence. Both useless and a midfield that thinks a hardball get is getting one out of the bin at training. I am sick of hearing about these pretenders.

Adelaide if you beat us i will rate u and then i still think we would flog u in a final. Bulldogs get a key forward or a key defender (i don't rate Lake) and i will be happy to talk about u

#1GILL

Thinline wrote:
TassieJones wrote:come on mate, don't get sucked in to leveling the same bulls*** people said about us earlier this year onto the crows.

Agree - they are a solid outfit - but without a Bulldog, Pies or Lions scalp in recent weeks, it's an undeniably soft run.

They'll see us as their true form guide but I think they have too many deficiencies that play into our hands - no ruck, small forwards against a gun defensive set up, relatively slow ball movement (although improving in this regard), and a midfield that is at best somewhat less potent than our own.

They have some solid defensive types. But we have the best and most verstaile forward structure in the league, especially with the Schneiderman back.

We're better.

DO NOT underestimate their Midfield. If they were a Vic side or if we had that midfield we would rate it as highly as we rate our current one.
They have ALOT of depth in their midfeild and some real quality:
-Vince
-Edwards
-Thompson
-Knights
-Goodwin
-Van Berlo
-Otten
-Reiley
-Shirley
-Dangerfield

It is a very UNDERATED midfield-I just hope that our coaching staff don't underate it-IN ROSS WE TRUST

When was the last time we beat Adelaide at the Dome??

Last year round 19 I think, easily as well....

R21 last year.
By 48 points.

#1GILL wrote:
Thinline wrote:

We're better.

DO NOT underestimate their Midfield. If they were a Vic side or if we had that midfield we would rate it as highly as we rate our current one.
They have ALOT of depth in their midfeild and some real quality:
-Vince
-Edwards
-Thompson
-Knights
-Goodwin
-Van Berlo
-Otten
-Reiley
-Shirley
-Dangerfield

It is a very UNDERATED midfield-I just hope that our coaching staff don't underate it-IN ROSS WE TRUST
Name me one occasion this year when half of those players have all clicked on the same day...

It never happens...

There are some good players in there, but many are talked up well beyond what they actually deliver. Especially by G Healy...I swear he's rooting a couple of them the way he goes on...

OH NOES...ADELAIDE!!!!

its all over now ><

seriously you'd think 1/2 the saints fans were cheese eating surrender monkeys.

Confident we can handle the Crows but underestimating opposition teams isn't in the Lyon make up...expect the boys to come out hard after what you would imagine has been a light week on the track...

After a demanding fortnight.

Start of a hard run of 3 games...

Crows

Bullies

Hawks[Tassie]

Banking another 4 points would be the only consideration 8-)
Last edited by saint patrick on Tue 14 Jul 2009 10:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

James

Yeah, flogged them last year at the Dome after a slow start.

Conceded the first three goals in the first quarter - Adelaide were dominating and it could have been 8 goals to nil at QT if we didn't hold up well - Riewoldt stood up and kicked a goal.

We then blitzed them in the second quarter, and when they tried to mount a 3rd quarter comeback, we held them off.

Then Goddard turned it on in the last. And it was all over from there. I swear he was possessed in that final quarter.

Good match to be at - Robert Harvey's last home game outside of finals.

We'll smash them again.

Brendon Goddard - 2012 Premiership Captain

James wrote:Yeah, flogged them last year at the Dome after a slow start.

Conceded the first three goals in the first quarter - Adelaide were dominating and it could have been 8 goals to nil at QT if we didn't hold up well - Riewoldt stood up and kicked a goal.

We then blitzed them in the second quarter, and when they tried to mount a 3rd quarter comeback, we held them off.

Then Goddard turned it on in the last. And it was all over from there. I swear he was possessed in that final quarter.

Good match to be at - Robert Harvey's last home game outside of finals.

We'll smash them again.
You're totally underrating them...if our team thinks like you, we'll get done by 10 goals. Dangerous game, even Melbourne would be dangerous given what the team's endured the last couple weeks. It wasn't all theat long ago that just about every team who ventured to WA got beaten the following week.

NoMore wrote:To be brutally honest i am sick of people wrapping up crap teams.

Adelaide have beaten no one in the last seven games apart from essendon they were bottom 8 sides which if they r as good as they say they r then they should account for them. The only people pumping them up are the same morons who once agin are pumping the bulldogs up.

Give me one reason the bulldogs will go better this year than they did last year. Same attack and same defence. Both useless and a midfield that thinks a hardball get is getting one out of the bin at training. I am sick of hearing about these pretenders.

Adelaide if you beat us i will rate u and then i still think we would flog u in a final. Bulldogs get a key forward or a key defender (i don't rate Lake) and i will be happy to talk about u
Yep crap teams keep sides to 1 goal. They are good dont worry. It will be a tough game. And you dont rate the Dogs. Is there any good sides apart from us or do we just win the flag.

I'm not underestimating Adelaide, but I feel some maybe overestimating them.

There is no doubt Ross is studying them to exploit their weaknesses.

However, I wouldn't write too much into their win over Fremantle, it was at AAMI, no Pavlich no Sandilands, Fremantle would have had even less heart, no soul or spirit before the game started, they are by far the worst team in competition right now and should be dead set favourites for the spoon.

Melbourne will beat them at the G in a few weeks by plenty, unless Melbourne are trying to get a priority pick and even then it would be hard to lose to the Dockers.

No doubt Adelaide will come out trying to get our prized scalp and will be confident they can do it, they could if a lot goes right for them, however, this side just doesn't want to lose.

People complain that we don't get our due respect. Every week we have threads talking about how our opposition is no good and they're supported by a bunch of ferals.

Adelaide's a good team. They're well drilled and have a lot of underrated players. They play Docklands very well. They have a couple of the best key defenders going around.

And round 16 is before Neil Craig likes to run them into the ground. It should be a contest. Our group thrives on a contest. I'm looking forward to it.