Official Changes

iwantmeseats wrote:Its a bit over the top, its just giving away 4 points, plain and simple. Oh well, I begrudgingly agree, if you need a rest you need a rest.
We are TANKING.
and it takes a big tank to hold all the rain that falls in Tasmania.

Feel sorry for the Tasmaniacs - sure - but what about those who are dragging their Carlton supporting wife to Tassie to watch this game!

That being said - I still think it is a very competitive team - Kosi as FF - big Ben causing headaches. Buddy and Roughy to be put under the pump!

S.A Saint

SaintBot wrote:Personally I'm excited by this. Gives the team a bit of a freshen up and certainly gives us less to lose this weekend.

Can see the lineup looking somewhat like so:

FB: S.Dempster - M.Hudghton - J.Blake
HB: S.Fisher - Z.Dawson - R.Clarke
C: J.Gram - L.Ball - F.Ray
HF: J.Gwilt - J.Koschitzke - A.Schneider
FF: S.Milne - M.Gardiner - A.McQualter
R: S.King - C.Jones - N.Dal Santo
I/C: B.McEvoy - J.Geary - R.Eddy - J.Steven

That can still be a winning side.
still a pretty good side :) :)

i would swap ben and gards around with king on the bench...

doesn't look that bad...we could still prob beat half the sides with that line up....

realdeal

Interesting isn't it!!? We have so many options leading into this finals series, unlike 04-06 when we could hardly field a team.

Ok,
so we're playing 3 rucks..i guess easing Gardiner back thru the fwd line with Big Mac.
Nice to see Steven get rewarded with a run after pushing for a game all season.
Good to see Ball back, lets hope done whats required and can now step it up a level.
Geary, Eddy and Gwilt competing for 1 or 2 positions? Wouldn't think there was room for all 3.
Oppurtunity for other players to get a good run in the midfield show leadership.

Win, lose or draw this should be an interesting game without some of our 'guns'!

Go Saints :D

Yeah they are hardly duds that are coming in.

If hawthorn think it will be easy I reckon they have got another thing coming. Remember everyone is going to be trying to be in the side for finals.

I'm looking fwd to this game even more now. Many of the guys coming in will be bursting out of their skin to have ripper games. Can't wait to see Jack Steven have a crack - Ball will be primed, and Geary gets another go after playing great footy in the seconds.

Only one negative - Supercoach finals start this week :evil:

Marcus1232

U would think that whoever finishes 5th might be pissed off with us now :P

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
iwantmeseats wrote:Its a bit over the top, its just giving away 4 points, plain and simple. Oh well, I begrudgingly agree, if you need a rest you need a rest.
And when we win iwantmeseats?
To be honest, I cant see that line up winning. I hope, but ...cant see it. Think Geelong V Brisbane. You just dont rest 5 of the best plus others and get up. We shall see I guess.

ST KILDA

Emg: David Armitage, Colm Begley, Nick Heyne

In: M.Gardiner, Z.Dawson, L.Ball, J.Steven (Debut), J.Geary
Out: N.Riewoldt (Concussion), L.Montagna (Elbow), B.Goddard (Knee), S.Baker (Knee), L.Hayes (Back)

here are the emergencies

Premiers2009

SaintBot wrote:Personally I'm excited by this. Gives the team a bit of a freshen up and certainly gives us less to lose this weekend.

Can see the lineup looking somewhat like so:

FB: S.Dempster - M.Hudghton - J.Blake
HB: S.Fisher - Z.Dawson - R.Clarke
C: J.Gram - L.Ball - F.Ray
HF: J.Gwilt - J.Koschitzke - A.Schneider
FF: S.Milne - M.Gardiner - A.McQualter
R: S.King - C.Jones - N.Dal Santo
I/C: B.McEvoy - J.Geary - R.Eddy - J.Steven

That can still be a winning side.
i cant see how we can be beaten.

still a very good side. Ball and steven get the chance to push for finals action. Ross as shown he is happy to select a young player if it helps the team (see allen in the prelim).

Why all the gnashing of teeth? Ball is a gun, gardiner was in our top 3 before he was injured, zac is in our best 18. No excuses, this team should win

Sainter_Dad wrote:Feel sorry for the Tasmaniacs - sure - but what about those who are dragging their Carlton supporting wife to Tassie to watch this game
DIVORCE, it will solve all your major problems.
Finances and family are only tiny problems when compared to footy.

claystreet

I like our depth no worries for mine

Had a Carlscum supporter say we are manipulating the ladder

LMAO

OFFICIAL AFL Website

St Kilda
B: Jason Blake, Max Hudghton, Raphael Clarke
HB: Zac Dawson, Sam Fisher, Farren Ray
C: Jarryn Geary, Andrew McQualter, Adam Schneider
HF: Jason Gram, Justin Koschitzke, Robert Eddy
F: Clint Jones, Michael Gardiner, Stephen Milne
Foll: Steven King, Luke Ball, Nick Dal Santo
I/C: Sean Dempster, James Gwilt, Ben McEvoy, Jack Steven

In: Gardiner, Dawson, Ball, Steven, Geary
Out: Nick Riewoldt (concussion), Leigh Montagna (elbow), Brendon Goddard (knee), Steven Baker (knee), Lenny Hayes (back)

New: Jack Steven (Geelong U18)

Hawthorn
B: Thomas Murphy, Stephen Gilham, Brendan Whitecross
HB: Travis Tuck, Ryan Schoenmakers, Grant Birchall
C: Chance Bateman, Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis
HF: Cyril Rioli, Lance Franklin, Michael Osborne
F: Brent Renouf, Jarryd Roughead, Campbell Brown
Foll: Simon Taylor, Luke Hodge, Brad Sewell
I/C: Robert Campbell, Ben McGlynn, Josh Kennedy, Liam Shiels
Emg: Beau Dowler, Shane Savage, Matt Suckling

In: Campbell, Osborne, Tuck
Out: Brent Guerra (inj), Xavier Ellis (inj), Cameron Stokes

OFFICIAL Weather Bureau Forecast

LAUNCESTON:
Forecast for Thursday evening :
Cloudy with a little rain at times. Moderate to occasionally fresh northwest winds.
Precis A little rain, becoming windy.

Forecast for Friday :
Cloudy with rain, easing to showers late in the morning and clearing during the afternoon. Fresh and gusty northerly winds ahead of a moderate westerly change in the morning.
Precis Rain, clearing. Min 08 Max 13

Forecast Air Quality is Good

Saturday Shower or two developing. Min 01 Max 14
Sunday Rain developing. Min 05 Max 12
Monday Fine. Min 01 Max 12
Last edited by ace on Thu 06 Aug 2009 6:30pm, edited 3 times in total.

S.A Saint

Moods wrote:I'm looking fwd to this game even more now. Many of the guys coming in will be bursting out of their skin to have ripper games. Can't wait to see Jack Steven have a crack - Ball will be primed, and Geary gets another go after playing great footy in the seconds.

Only one negative - Supercoach finals start this week :evil:
yep me too...want to see how they perform without the big names....i will be keeping a close eye on dal as he will get the no1 tag this week...this will show how far he has really come this year with all the heat on him....

the_D_train

St Kilda
B: Jason Blake, Max Hudghton, Raphael Clarke
HB: Zac Dawson, Sam Fisher, Farren Ray
C: Jarryn Geary, Andrew McQualter, Adam Schneider
HF: Jason Gram, Justin Koschitzke, Robert Eddy
F: Clint Jones, Michael Gardiner, Stephen Milne
Foll: Steven King, Luke Ball, Nick Dal Santo
I/C: Sean Dempster, James Gwilt, Ben McEvoy, Jack Steven

Of course we can win this game gee.

If the weather forecast right, most of the game will be a slog at ground level.
I like our chances in those conditions so much, i'm going to put a bit of hard earned on the Saints at $1.60. (No, l'm not, they've suspended betting again)

claystreet

GO SAINTS!!!

Selhurst Saint

Couldn't we have just gone to the movies? :(

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Knew there was going to be some big changes but now I just feel sick.

claystreet

No Problems with the changes dont worry be happy

FFS

You goose, Goose.
This was your best chance ever this season.
AND you went and did a hammy hamming around in the magoos.

claystreet

Griggsy wrote:Knew there was going to be some big changes but now I just feel sick.
Why??

I would love the saints to win every game they play. And they still have a bloody good chance with that team. But if we do happen to lose, what's the big deal? Our backline looks as strong as ever. Who will pick up Rioli? THat's the only problem I can see.

The Hawks backline looks brittle to say the least.

We can do this sainters!