MCC Members Grand Final Ticket Ballot

#1GILL

How do you apply for MCC membership?

Also if you know a full mcc member can they get a ticket and then pass it on to someone else?

Young Georgie

Watch a Collingwood game from the MCC stands and tell me there are no bogan members...crawling with them.

Plenty of stuck up, plum in mouth silver spoon fed toffs are MCC members still and it sure as hell does follow on from the olde school tie upbringing but they're not the majority now.

Women, bogans, toffs, filth...no discrimination at the MCC so long as you've got $555, collar and no holes pants, you're a member of the club!

Graceful, elusive, strong overhead and no Easybeat!

#1GILL wrote:How do you apply for MCC membership?

Also if you know a full mcc member can they get a ticket and then pass it on to someone else?
They can pass it on but it is a huge risk now that they have photo ID so if you are asked to sign something you are gone. You not only dont get in but the person who gave it to you will get about 2 years suspension unless he has a fantastic excuse.

Young Georgie

Website tells you how to become a member. And while a membership pass/ticket is non transferable, each member is entitled to visitors tickets that I think are 4 per H&A game (at a price) and perhaps 2 for the finals (also at price, while seats last). Again the details of this are on the website: mcc.org.au

Young Georgie wrote:Website tells you how to become a member. And while a membership pass/ticket is non transferable, each member is entitled to visitors tickets that I think are 4 per H&A game (at a price) and perhaps 2 for the finals (also at price, while seats last). Again the details of this are on the website: mcc.org.au
No visitors tickets for the GF though unless of course you know the right people.

Application form and details available at
http://www.mcc.org.au/

You need two existing full members willing to nominate.

Then you wait for ever.
There are 185,000 just waiting to become restricted members.
It is supposed to be the longest wiating list of any club anywhere in the world.
Last edited by ace on Tue 18 Aug 2009 7:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

Moods wrote:Ace thanks for inquiring. I reckon my dad was pretty good as well - despite the fact that he didn't drink or smoke, we still had some fun :wink:

Question - am I a good dad for purchasing my two daughters an AFL membership? Now if the saints make it, they can see the GF this year, and not in 25 years time.

Now I feel better about myself - didn't take much either.

If only I had belonged to the MCC, I could have been an even better dad, nominated my daughters at birth, and allowed them to watch the GF from home - but at least there wouldn't have been any pesky bogans around to spoil their day 8-)
Yes you are a good Dad for purchasing your two daughters an AFL membership.
You could have been an even better Dad if you had them nominated to the MCC at birth.
Then they could decide, sometime in the future when their nomination date comes up, if they wish to become an MCC member or not.
It would then be their choice not yours imposed upon them.

Like I advised AnimalEnclosure in the meantime they and you need an alternate source for their Grand Final Tickets that you have provided.

In the meantime I hope they enjoy our premiership year as I am.

Young Georgie wrote:Website tells you how to become a member. And while a membership pass/ticket is non transferable, each member is entitled to visitors tickets that I think are 4 per H&A game (at a price) and perhaps 2 for the finals (also at price, while seats last). Again the details of this are on the website: mcc.org.au
No visitors tickets for the GF though unless of course you know the right people.
Only the committee inviting on behalf of the Club.
Krudd will probably accept an invite from his ALP mates Bill Kelty, Sam Mostyn if not from Mike Fitzpatrick, all members of the AFL Commission.

Young Georgie wrote:Watch a Collingwood game from the MCC stands and tell me there are no bogan members...crawling with them.
:shock: :shock: :shock:

They are not Bogans, they are Filth.

Some Filth have foresight, initiative and patience, but they are still Filth. :wink:

A quick note. If you win a seat in the ballot and you are not using it you have three options:

1) return it to the MCC (no penalty)
2) notify the MCC of the replacement full member that will use the seat
3) not turn up and get banned from the ballot for 2 years

Nobody has mentioned option 2.

Option 1 makes me think that they may have a secondary ballot or methodology for distributing returned reserved seats. Anyone here know what they have in mind?

Finally, I was very fortunate that I was put down at birth thanks to my forward thinking father and my uncle. I put down my son at birth and just put down his little 4 year old school mate who is South African and converted the little boy and his Dad to be Saints supporters as part of the deal. Versus Melbourne will be their first game at the G.

#1GILL

ace wrote:

Then you wait for ever.
It is supposed to be the longest wiating list of any club anywhere in the world.

:shock: :shock: So if you don't know 2 full members you cannot join?

Tough club to get into ey....i'd say it's virtually impossible for me since i only know one person (my best mate who was put down at birth) who holds an MCC member ship and he is only 16 like me so is only a restricted member

#1GILL wrote:
ace wrote:

Then you wait for ever.

:shock: :shock: So if you don't know 2 full members you cannot join?

Tough club to get into ey....i'd say it's virtually impossible for me since i only know one person (my best mate who was put down at birth) who holds an MCC member ship and he is only 16 like me so is only a restricted member
He would be a restricted junior member, like my nephew is about to become.

By my count there are at least 5 full members of the Melbourne Cricket Club and at least one restricted member who have posted on this thread.
Their knowledge of the club and what they say gives them away.

Read the posts and guess who they are

Now you know at least 5 and Saintsational.com makes it easy for you to contact them.
But you must have initiative.

OK #1 GILL seeing you are only 16, I'll make it easy for you.
You can deduce a lot about people from what they say.

saint66au = obviously full member - he was in the MCC queue at 5:30.

saintspremiers = full member - he knew about the separate ballots for levels 1 & 2 and level 4. Only a full member would know such detail.

casey scorp = a member and probably full - he likes the club.

jmac101 = full member - said he has just become a full member.

Young Georgie = a member and maybe full - appreciates the access the club gives to various sports

BackFromUSA = full member - put his son down at birth

ace = ? what do you think - put his nephew down at birth and now welcomes his nephew to the club.

#1GILL

Thanks Ace but i have decided to go for AFL membership instead. And at this age i cannot justify spending $66 hard earnt Dollars just to go onto a waiting list.

Thanks for all the help anyway

me being a bogan ill stick with just my wittle ol saints membership
wouldnt want to put the toffs out

jmac101 wrote:how good are dads! got nominated at birth and about a month ago got notification of full membership and eligibility to nominate for GF tickets this year. living in sydney now, without the membership woud have absolutely no chance of going to the GF this year, now there is a slim possibility... im guessing the ballot is totally random and there are no tricks of the trade?

If you don't mind how old are you?

And ace are you a st kilda member as well? What about the rest of you that are MCC members? Do you have a Saints membership as well?

ace wrote:The MCC is scrupulously above board.
It is a non political democracy.

Really? Thye place is full of politics, and a lot of hanky panky has gone their for a long time, you must not be in the inner circle Ace.

My point is it's not as squeaky clean as you make it out to be. But compared to some AFL clubs it's pretty good. Just have a look who is on the committee they all the so called "elite".
Last edited by ausfatcat on Wed 19 Aug 2009 1:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

B W and R all over

Just as a matter of interest, do they look closely at the photo on the card on Grand Final day?

Asking for dodgy reasons obviously, so anyone with a moral objection to this need not reply.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

Will answer the question about Saints membership.

I am a MCC Member plus:

My wife, son and I are Saints football AND social club members (yes my non beer drinking son is a social club member too) and we are reserve seat holders on level 1.

I have been a Saints football club member since 1972 (my father signed me up when I was 6 and a half) and I have been a member every year since then so my name appears on the Diamond member honour roll.

My father has been a member since 1952. He is one of the few that is Red White & Black and he got the silver cup and stuff from the club along with a very strangely worded letetr about the great success of the club!
We had seats at Moorabbin and at AFL Park.

Anyway ... my point. We are not toffs / snobs or even aloof. We are hard working middle class. We just make our passion for the Saints (and sport - we love the cricket at the G ... and the soccer when it is an international) and so we make sure that this is kept up the memberships every year.

Young Georgie

matrixcutter wrote:me being a bogan ill stick with just my wittle ol saints membership
wouldnt want to put the toffs out
You being a bogan will be happier pouring your $555 into your backyard beer barn or HD Kingswood overhaul, me, I look at it different.

There's a heap of elitest and political crap that goes down at the MCC as it does other clubs.

I'm with BFUSA on the hard earned front and I'll be at the GF.

Entry to the reserve is card barcode read and possibly a check of photo or signature match. Should be random but strangely they also single me out :evil:

Young Georgie

ausfatcat wrote:And ace are you a st kilda member as well? What about the rest of you that are MCC members? Do you have a Saints membership as well?
Yep have a Saints membership as well. Gotta support the club I love.

Young Georgie wrote:
ausfatcat wrote:And ace are you a st kilda member as well? What about the rest of you that are MCC members? Do you have a Saints membership as well?
Yep have a Saints membership as well. Gotta support the club I love.
Hard to get too critical of you toffs when you buy a saints membership as well :)

Let's hope if the saints make it to the big one, the MCC is full.