The ULTIMATE trivia post!!!

OK.....

The Media carries on about our great Robert Harvey in that he is not a “Goal Kickerâ€

come on posters, this is meant to be easy......

and, I am just merely just stressing a point..... :roll: :roll:

Working on that answer Fid.

HarveysDeciple wrote:Working on that answer Fid.
no worries mate, as I said it's meant to be easy....

clue ckeck google.........

the result amazed me :shock: :shock:

80 goals?

saintsational
Club President

St Fidelius wrote:Another great midfielder, Ian Stewart played 127 games for the Saints……

How many goals did he kick for the Saints?
25 - Should of checked out the St Kilda FC history folks!

so he kicked more for the tigers than for us?

saintbrat wrote:80 goals?
no saintbrat, much, much less.

As I said, it's meant to highlight this re the media and their constant remarks re Harves not being much of a goal kicker......

And yet they never mentioned that about Ian Stewart (another champion)

again google is the clue......

saintsational wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:Another great midfielder, Ian Stewart played 127 games for the Saints……

How many goals did he kick for the Saints?
25 - Should of checked out the St Kilda FC history folks!

Yes Damo, don't you find that amazing 127 games for 25 goals... and 2 brownlows (for the saints)......

Harvey 300 games for 172 Goals and 2 brownlows (so far)

Yet the media keep going on about Harvs for the last 4 - 5 years..... :x :x

saintsational
Club President

It is quite incredible really looking at those figures compared to Harvey.

Ok, photo question time... Flashback to 1981! Name the first four players from left to right and for a bonus point/challenge name the fifth player (great name!! just rolls off the tongue beautifully!)

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

Michael Roberts, Jeff Dunne, Jeff Sarau, Geoff Cunningham & Con Gorozidis?

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.
jed

The fifth one was the easiest. :D

Mordecai Bromberg.

Gotta love the Blake!

Cain Gang Member #27
saintsational
Club President

Launcestonsaint wrote:Michael Roberts, Jeff Dunne, Jeff Sarau, Geoff Cunningham & Con Gorozidis?
You got the first four right so you win! but...
jed wrote:The fifth one was the easiest. :lol:

Mordecai Bromberg.
Was the bonus answer!

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

I'll pass the question over to jed as he answered the hardest part of the previous question. :oops: :oops:

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.
jed

OK.
1985 we lost the first three games by over 100 points and then won a thriller against Fitzroy at Waverley.

Who played the last quarter of that match with a broken arm because we already had two injured players off the ground?

This is a bit obscure so the clue is that after an absence from the VFL / AFL he came back a few years later to play for an interstate club.

Gotta love the Blake!

Cain Gang Member #27
Selhurst Saint

Great question Jed. Racking my brain over this one. Was it John Favier or Phil Cronan?

jed

No.

The Saints was his second of three clubs. The other two both being interstate.

Gotta love the Blake!

Cain Gang Member #27
Selhurst Saint

Peter Melesso?

Phil Narkle???

jed

Selhurst Saint wrote:Peter Melesso?
Yup

Gotta love the Blake!

Cain Gang Member #27
Selhurst Saint

During those first distressing weeks of 1985 what was the name of the back pocket player who made his debut and played the first two games (I think) and never played again?

You're not thinking of Geoff Linke from South Australia are you? He was CHF and was a dead set gun before doing his knee in Rd 2 and never played again.

Selhurst Saint

No

Robert Keeble??

Selhurst Saint

Correct St.Fid, I remember the look of horror on his face as the ball kept getting pumped into our backline relentlessly.