What do we need to fix for September?

Add one (or more) of your own to the list. I'll start:
  • Need to get our intensity back up again, tackles inside forward 50, etc.

ralphsmith

Mate, spot on.

Intensity, ferocity, aggression, hunger.

That's the ONLY reason we are on top.

It has nothing to do with a superior list AS was demonstrated this week. Our list is as good as anyones, but without the intensity we are a team who should not be on top of the ladder.

Schillaci

Re: What do we need to fix for September?

battye wrote:Add one (or more) of your own to the list. I'll start:
  • Need to get our intensity back up again, tackles inside forward 50, etc.
Sounds good.
A trip to the movies might alter our form too.

no brainer , put the side in that won all the tough games.

Hawkesbury Saint

The space between the ears - confidence and concentration.

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.
Verdun66

We need to win first quarters....because we win the game from quarter time.

8.11 to 10.4...

kicking straight might help.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
Winmarvellous

HUNGER.

Midfield pressure. Getting the ball out of the centre first might help

ATTITUDE

Need to win the tackles comprehensively: http://www.saintsational.com/forum/view ... hp?t=55377

The Bulldog's little red wagon for starters.
Last edited by samoht on Sun 23 Aug 2009 7:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Well, keeping up the tackle rate is one way but credit to North they had 10 more this time around. So lets see why?

1 To avoid tackles you need to be clean with possions. Applying some player protection is paramount to this.

2 The second part is to provide the run needed to create space to allow greater precision in passes to key forwards.
If you dont do the above the opposition will start to out tackle you and cause you to turn it over like today.

3 Ensure you keep your small forwards playing at the front and back of the pack when crashed by those key forwards. Opposition will always 2 or 3 tag those key players.

Lets face it, the key difference between last year and this year are; tackles to cause turnovers, player protection and swift ball movement. Today was like watching last year. Bring back Geary, Bally and Lenny as they protect others.

Dal_Santos_Gal

WIN THE
CONTESTED BALL,
TACKLES AND
CLEARANCES!

Bring them 3 core ingredients back and you will have the St Kilda we have all known and come to love this year.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

Right now we need to fix just about anything, everything that made us feared, has disappeared.
Today we didn't even rate as ordinary and sadly the fears of implosion are starting too rise.
They better come out next week and play like they want to win a premiership, because you just can't turn good form on for the finals.

felixleo

In Mac,Hayes,Ball,Max and Geary. Out King,Dempster,Gwilt ,Blake and Zac.

Are you gonna be the one?

felixleo wrote:In Mac,Hayes,Ball,Max and Geary. Out King,Dempster,Gwilt ,Blake and Zac.
Not going to happen. 2 changes or 3 at the most next week. ball and Hayes in and Armo and Jimmy out.

felixleo wrote:In Mac,Hayes,Ball,Max and Geary. Out King,Dempster,Gwilt ,Blake and Zac.
King?

Your joking right?
He didn't do a lot around the ground, but his tap work is one reason we came back into the match.

need to fix our structure, make a decision on our best 22

felixleo

SaintWodonga wrote:
King?

Your joking right?
He didn't do a lot around the ground, but his tap work is one reason we came back into the match.
Did not have a stat besides a tap out up to half time.

The Craw

yeh need to go 100%.... risk injury... and for what huh !

win 19 in a row and it means nothing because it is the finals that really count then lose 2 games and all of sudden the wheels have fallen off.

Fair dinkum.... some of you guys are willing us to to fail.... you all make me friggin sick.

P!ss off and support another team.

Not Craw, CRAW!
The Sainter

Is Baker a protected species? He should be the first dropped followed by King. They are both so slow now they will be liabilities on the MCG. Young Steven is fairly quick and big Macca at least will get kicks around the ground and would also be a marking option up forward, something King certainly is not.
Ball in the centre will at least make a contest, something Dal didn't want to do any at time today. Hayes back will take the pressure off Dal and he would become a better player for us.

felixleo

So the Craw, sorry i mean the Craw, no saints fans here wish the team ill, just a lot of moaning and whining when the team frustrates us. Anyone playing in the team that doesn't go 100 % obviously will be dropped. If you don't want to read the moaning and whining don't log on.