Was it that good a win?

Pwoit wrote:
bigred wrote:At our peak during the home and away season 2009 we made decent sides look absolutely shyte.

We made the Filth look absolutely shyte yesterday.

We commanded the game for three quarters.

In a final, to win like that, I'll take it every time.

One of the more crucial wins for the club in the past twenty years.
Make no mistake, that was a very big game to win.
Its still Sunday here :D
I've been sleeping it off on the couch :P

Wigsy

As posted elsewhere, I had my doubts on our capacity to flick the switch; I was keeping the faith but was concerned and shaking like a French soldier for most of Sunday.

Alas, to those saying suck up the nerves, you were right and we of little faith were needlessly concerned!

It wasn't particularly pretty, but I'm rapt we kept them to just 7 goals, verging on doubling their score, and really should have made much more of our chances. It was probably a genuine 40 + point win. Roo was absolutely epic. The effort was massively back and that is the key.

Shame we can't play at the G. :lol: :roll:

2009 - the year of the Saint (modified name from MasonCJ2)
35...LEGEND

widereceiver wrote:That they flooded from the ten minute mark of the 2nd. quarter, virtually conceding they had little or no answer means

Hell yeah, it was bloody great!

+ 1

That win, average or not, has put us in the best position to win the flag since the '60s.

We are having a week off and then playing a Prelim against a team who hopefully have a really tough game on Friday night.

If we win, we have 8 days until the Grand Final.

Injuries?
X. Clarke, Jarryd Allen any others?

Furtius Quo Rdelious

What a arse of a thread. That was a awesome win flat out !! End of story.

thecroc

disagree 'hall of famer'

average win - over an average team - rest my case

Re: Was it that good a win?

thecroc wrote:Was Cloke the highest kick getter at 11? If that's the case then yeah, have a good cheer and all that, but we're still no where near our best if Cloke was up there at the top. We should've crushed them but couldn't. Sorry folks - still not happy.

Cheers.
cloke had 17 kicks
swan had 15
shaw and johnson had 11 each

still not happy??
in a prelim and ya not happy??

sheshh

:?

Geezer

we play possession football.
if we have it . . .then they dont and they cant score. . .
very happy with the win . . .especially as most experts were predicting a collingwood win.

#35 - Thanks for the Memories.
21 Great Season's
Simply Remarkable

thecroc wrote:disagree 'hall of famer'

average win - over an average team - rest my case
we won 80/52 = 154 %

So yes Collingwood is an average team - given that's about our average percentage over the year.

Any win in a final is a MAGNIFICENT win! As in golf, it's not how, it's how many that counts. One point or a hundred. Makes no difference. We're in sight of the big dance and that's all that matters.

Re: Was it that good a win?

thecroc wrote:Was Cloke the highest kick getter at 11? If that's the case then yeah, have a good cheer and all that, but we're still no where near our best if Cloke was up there at the top. We should've crushed them but couldn't. Sorry folks - still not happy.

Cheers.
HARDEN the f**k up sunshine! Were the Cats at their best when they beat the Dogs?

After back-to-back losses and an unconvincing win against the Demons, the media were dubbing us a having lost our mojo and being a spent-force as we go into our first final against the Pies who are apparently the team to beat come September and play the MCG to a tee whereas we apparently can't play it.

Yet we won one of the biggest finals in our history! We won and our win was well deserved!

Week off and a preliminary final to plan for.

Enjoy the ride, stop being a sook!

CARN YOU F**KERS

Enough of the nice men in suits. Bring in some admin who demand success!

We are in the digital age.

win = 1 = good

loss = 0 = bad

there are no grey areas - you can't have a bad win or a good loss.

Perhaps it wasn't a great win for you Crocka....(sad?)
seeing you predicted we would be ....out in straight sets a couple of times after suggesting that the loss to the Dons was "our most embarrasing ever"
I rest my case Starsign and Co.

Once again - it's like Minardi 'doing over' Ferrari

Out in straight sets Sad

Not baiting - just venting OK
Perhaps you don't know to much about this footy club at all ??

Now that is "Sad"

and as I mentioned to you before if your not a troll you give a good impression of one

Milan Faletic

joffaboy wrote:No the OP is correct.

We didn't run it out and % could be a big decider in finals. :roll:
Love it, joffaboy

We hammered them. Infact I think we played with them and kept possession.

We conserved energy and controlled the game against a side that was equal premiership favorite two weeks ago.

150 more possessions, double the marks, killed them with inside 50's. They scored 7 goals.

Good win, boys!

i think the %age counts as ross said we'd basically just won round 23
:twisted:

Milan Faletic

matrixcutter wrote:i think the %age counts as ross said we'd basically just won round 23
:twisted:
Yes that is right, we need to have that high percentage at the end of Round 26 incase another team is level with us in win and losses, and of course we have the bye next week :shock:

thecroc

just traumatised Starsign - there's a few of us around bud

we're not all Brady Bunch and Tina Sparkle types

Milton66

It could have better... we could have won by less, and it could have been a GF.

1- we beat the filth
2- it was great to see Tosser siiting there like he'd sucked lemons. Where was the jacket?
3- we beat the filth
4- we beat Eddiewood
5- we beat the most over rated and hyped up club.

Yep, it WAS THAT GOOD!

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
xander

It doesn't really matter how much you win by in finals...
Besides against the filth any win is a good win.

thecroc wrote:just traumatised Starsign - there's a few of us around bud

we're not all Brady Bunch and Tina Sparkle types
but you are a nervous nellie negative concern troll.

straight sets pfft :roll:

You have less than no idea.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
Zippy

It was also good that we followed our standard template - start slow, let them get ahead early, then throttle the life out of them for the next three quarters.

Blindly delusional optimist. Fan of the Blake.

"If anyone disagrees with anything I say, I am quite prepared not only to retract it, but also to deny under oath that I ever said itâ€
thecroc

Joffa boy - what were the betting odds on Sunday - so they had no idea as well? 3 crap games deserved their 'straight sets' tag. We don't all sleep under red, white and black quilts.

Nearly 11000 posts - pretty good effort. Got a tattoo as well?

Copped heaps with the 'straight sets' at work - ah well - you dish it out you gotta take it.

see ya

alex101

Whilst I agree that the win was rather amazing, i do think the original poster does kinda have a point..

my only problem with our game was the players effeciency when going up forward... a number of kicks went to the goal square with no saints players around and a few that should have been taken weren't...

but hell! the goal sqaure is generally a good option ...
and most importantly we won!