Which team is our biggest threat???

IMO it's Adelaide.

IF they smash the Pies, then have nothing to lose against the Cats - can play with a free spirit and might get over the line in the Prelim even...

Again, the Crows in the Granny - no pressure/expectation - us, everything to lose!

Sounds too familiar.

But it's a bit of a long shot.

We need to all support the Pies this weekend, and if that doesn't work, hope the Cats beat the Crows in the Prelim.

We have the Cats covered, and the Lions/Dogs are toast, no worries there IMO.

Thoughts???

Liam_G

Re: Which team is our biggest threat???

saintspremiers wrote:We need to all support the Pies this weekend
Each to thier own.... but I don't "need" to support the filth at all, sorry. I hope they go out in straight sets and rue another lost September.

stkildathunda

saintspremiers wrote:IMO it's Adelaide.

IF they smash the Pies, then have nothing to lose against the Cats - can play with a free spirit and might get over the line in the Prelim even...

Again, the Crows in the Granny - no pressure/expectation - us, everything to lose!

Sounds too familiar.

But it's a bit of a long shot.

We need to all support the Pies this weekend, and if that doesn't work, hope the Cats beat the Crows in the Prelim.

We have the Cats covered, and the Lions/Dogs are toast, no worries there IMO.

Thoughts???
Id rather play Adelaide in the big dance. We smashed them only 5 weeks ago. They havent beaten a side above them at all this season and Geelong are just starting to look the goods again.

saintspremiers wrote:IMO it's Adelaide.

Nah, I reckon the Cats with a week off will easily beat whichever side they play in the prelim.

From a St Kilda point of view, we just need that to be a really tough match, which I think it will be regardless of whether it's Collingwood or Adelaide - they've both got tough midfields which match up pretty well against Geelong, but I don't reckon they've got the quality to win.

Joffa 5

Cats the biggest threat without a doubt. Hard mature bodies, GF experience and the horror of 08 to turn around.

We've shown the Crows who's boss twice this season.

Bulldogs

They are likely winner V Bris

They are our threat

AND THAT IS THE PRELIMANARY FINAL

speak about our threat in GF when/if we get through first

our greatest threat to getting in the grand final will be either the lions or the bulldogs and that's where the club's attention needs to be focussed.

i've no doubt that geelong will be in the grand final.

they've been the benchmark team for the greater part of three years. we hurt them in round 14, but now they look to be back.
Last edited by bigcarl on Tue 08 Sep 2009 10:54am, edited 1 time in total.

milney044

The team that poses the biggest threat is the team we underrate. All of these sides on their day will pose a difficult challenge, we need to be ready and on the ball against each and every one of them. We don't give 100% and there is every chance that we will fail. This is a risk i am not willing to take. Take no team lightly Saints, 2005 should be enough of a reminder.
Last edited by milney044 on Tue 08 Sep 2009 11:00am, edited 1 time in total.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

There have been two stand out teams all year. Not much has changed. Geelong has better skill across the ground. Many of Geelong's goals come from turnovers, their advantage. Many of our goals come from contested marks, our advantage. About half of the goals opposition teams score against us come from turnovers. Our ability to reduce this percentage in our next two games will determine our fate.

Milton66

We are the biggest threat to ourselves. Anything less than our best... and we miss out.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

chook23 wrote:Bulldogs

They are likely winner V Bris

They are our threat

AND THAT IS THE PRELIMANARY FINAL

speak about our threat in GF when/if we get through first
Completely agree Bulldogs or Brisbane are out biggest threat then if we remove that threat it becomes Geelong, Coll or Adelaide.

No use worrying about teams we may not even play.

InkerSaint

perfectionist wrote:There have been two stand out teams all year. Not much has changed. Geelong has better skill across the ground. Many of Geelong's goals come from turnovers, their advantage. Many of our goals come from contested marks, our advantage. About half of the goals opposition teams score against us come from turnovers. Our ability to reduce this percentage in our next two games will determine our fate.
I would have thought Geelong scored the most heavily from stoppages, and the Saints scored from turnovers due to forward-50 pressure. The Cats seem to be at their most dangerous when they win the ball at a contest and start one of their keepings-off pussy-pass-fests.

Some stats from round 14:

Goals from:
Turnover - Gee 5 StK 9
Kick-in - Gee 1 StK 1
Stoppage - Gee 6 StK 2
Other - Gee 1 StK 2

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."

Agree with all of...

Chook 23
Milton66

Our biggest threat is the loser mindset that has plagued this club for 136 years.

If the players don't get any injuries to their heads between now and 4:30pm on 26th September 2009 then we will smash everything in our way.

Our biggest threat is ourselves. We are the best team & desere to win. The only way we won't win is by internally imploding.

We have have to be really on song.

the biggest factor is luck tho...we all know this :twisted: