Max Before the game

SaintDebi

Come on guys. This is OUR MAX we're talking about. Get off his back.
Max is the ultimate team player. He would be respecting RL's decisions to do what is best for our chances of winning a flag. I reckon if we could have been guaranteed a flag by him not playing another game ever, he wouldn't have hesitated to make the sacrifice years ago. But that doesn't mean he can't be disappointed not to be out there. He is human, after all.
SuperMax, I love you.

Is he meant to be Smiling?

felixleo

If anyone has the right to look disheartened for not getting a run it is Max. For shame anyone who criticises him because of this.

Are you gonna be the one?
Beej

ace wrote:I wish I could say, I hope Max gets to play in a winning Grand Final Team but sadly I think that now, regardless of whether Max warms up properly or not, his probability of breaking down in a critical match is too high for him to be risked. :cry: :cry: :cry:
I'm with you there.

Extremely negative way to think but I can't say the thought hasn't occurred to me before.

same for geary and dempster.....shrugs shoulders...they were kitted up and out on the ground taking shots for goal just in front of me at 12.30 when i got into the ground.....

Well Max appeared fine sitting in the row with a heap of other players (including Lynch and X) watching the game. Back 2 rows of N34.

Seemed happy enough.

georgie girl

Max before the game

Just saw the footage on Footy Classifieds! So sad for Max! Hope he is in the team for Prelim. Such a champion!

Re: Max before the game

georgie girl wrote:Just saw the footage on Footy Classifieds! So sad for Max! Hope he is in the team for Prelim. Such a champion!
I think the point is when you judge his career he may be judged by some as "champion"....................but it is the memory of him at his best that clouds the current player playing.

The slection committee are judging him right now.....and in their opinion he is borderline in our 22..........

missed a lot of games this year...sus with injury....their call

Certainly Max has been a fantastic player but is it the same Number 8

It is fine for him to be disappointed but he has to be professional as well.

His too casual attitude is not likely to help win him a game.
Casual attitude to warming up could lead to him breaking down if he were to be called up at the last moment.
And breaking down could cost the club a premiership.

He has to do the hard yards and hope that an opening appears.

battye wrote:I saw the footage, felt bad for him. He really wanted to be out there obviously.
i just begiing to watch the replay and saw max. his body language sure looked bad, very dissapointed.

Do feel bad for him, but what can you do.

milney044

Geesh forgive him for not leaping for joy! Of course he'd be feeling dejected. I reckon if he'd smiled and laughed a few here would slam him for looking too pleased and like he didn't care. :roll:
Max is a proud man and a human being, he wants to be a part of this success more than anybody. Who wouldn't?
For me Max has been of enormous service to this club and i thank him for all he has done. I also congratulate Zac for seizing his chance and being good enough to replace a player of the calibre of Max. This is no easy task and shows just how hard he has worked.
Who would have thought we would have this dilemma when Zac was first drafted.
This is a great predicament to be in and demonstrates the depth this club has, it's been a long time coming.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.
bozza1980

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
fonz_#15 wrote:bit harsh on max imo.

the guy would be hurting and the camera being on him is unfortunate.

imo it isn't a sentimental thing, i honestly think he should be in our 22 for the prelim regardless of the opposition. his dedication, experience, and will to win would certainly be handy to have.

i can also live without him being there although its unfortunate for him, as i can see the reasons for him not being there.

time will tell
It wasn't like he was throwing chairs, or head butting the wall, he was just warming up....without smiling....hardly unusual?
I'm with you OWTHS, how long would they have been warming up?? and they have a 15sec snapshot of him doing a basic kick drill without looking like he wanted to do cartwheels.

What is the context?? Are they even warming up with the main group?? Who knows??

jay young

gotta feel sorry for him when S king S milne z dawson s baker j blake l ball r clarke are in the side and out of form

blakes out of form??

Geezer

max will be in next week regardless
to match up against brown and bradshaw from brisbane
and he also matches up well against bulldogs mid range players

raph could be the odd man out

#35 - Thanks for the Memories.
21 Great Season's
Simply Remarkable

matrixcutter wrote:blakes out of form??

Blake would be "Mr Dependable" if he was a Mr Men character...

i just saw the Footy Classified bit on the footage (posted by SW in the: Another GT Gem thread)

i thought he hit the nail on the head in the description of Max
and the comment about if Max was chosen and what forwards would be thinking is prob spot on imo.
<< never hid the fact that i love the bloke, max and lenny are my two fav players, and just on past performances over 13 years i think that this week max should get a game
he can match up well on either of the two sides we will be facing i reckon
zacs been great, no doubt, but a few things have not been as 'great' as throughout the year
max gets a chance in my book...he comes in and if he plays well and does the job, he gets a gig at the big dance after he is deemed fit etc before the said dance.

go maxie..train the farking house down mate

(max was also recognised at the ALFPA last night
http://www.saints.com.au/season2009/new ... fault.aspx

Blake, Zac, Fisher, Raph, Gilbert, Gram & Dempster can all go forward and have a presence in the forwardline.
Its that Attacking versatility which is keeping Max out.
I would love to see him in the winning GF 22, but if he is not, then I will feel equally as sad for him as I will Harvey.