MCC Members access

saint vince

MCC Members access

I am a full MCC member who missed out on a balloted seat for Saturday.

I am now planning on lining up to get in but I have nver done this before so I have a few questions.

What time do I need to get in the line to gurantee entry to the ground and does anyone else have any other tips?????

Thanks in advance

Vince

Re: MCC Members access

saint vince wrote:I am a full MCC member who missed out on a balloted seat for Saturday.

I am now planning on lining up to get in but I have nver done this before so I have a few questions.

What time do I need to get in the line to gurantee entry to the ground and does anyone else have any other tips?????

Thanks in advance

Vince
Get there about 5am. When you get in the ground at 8am i think you will get a seat ticket. You can then go home or to the pub for a few hours. dont gorget your pass out.

7am is normally good enough to get an OK seat.

But if you want a really good seat - maybe 6am.

And if it just you by yourself you can often fluke a good one much later.
I turned up at 9am in 2005 and spoke to the attendant who had one seat left in the front row level 2 - how good was that ?

Do they check ID with these memberships,or are you able to borrow someone else's and line up? Same with AFL memebership?

Sunday Red

jonesy wrote:Do they check ID with these memberships,or are you able to borrow someone else's and line up? Same with AFL memebership?
They check.

Don't risk it.

sarah 2

just being to chadstone and there is a queue of people waiting outside the tickrttek newsagency already guessing there mcc members waiting

GO SAINTS

jonesy wrote:Do they check ID with these memberships,or are you able to borrow someone else's and line up? Same with AFL memebership?
MCC ticket has a picture on it so dont do it. AFL members is much less of a risk. probably worth the punt.

saint vince

Photo memberships so can't borrow sorry.

saint vince

Enrico_Misso wrote:7am is normally good enough to get an OK seat.

I turned up at 9am in 2005 and spoke to the attendant who had one seat left in the front row level 2 - how good was that ?
I was planning around 2 am but you rekon 6 or 7 am would be enough. That makes everyting a lot easier.

saint vince wrote:

I was planning around 2 am but you rekon 6 or 7 am would be enough. That makes everyting a lot easier.
Just remember 1997 got the biggest ever crowd in the MCC before it was rebuilt so it may be big again this year. By the way that year they did make a mistake and sell 1000 visitors tickets.

saint vince

saint vince wrote:

Just remember 1997 got the biggest ever crowd in the MCC before it was rebuilt so it may be big again this year. By the way that year they did make a mistake and sell 1000 visitors tickets.
I have noticed we have outnubered opposition supporters in there the last two weeks.

Vince, are you by yourself or with others?

For just one seat, 5am will be fine.....keep a good eye out for vacant seats when you finally get in at 8am....a lot of people stand next to their seats and look around, perhaps for friends or just if there are better options.

You'd be surprised how many good single seats are floating around!

IF you come with more people, come earlier.

IF you are by yourself, try and hook up with another Saintsational MCC fan who's missed out on a ballot seat, there should be a few!

saint vince wrote:I am a full MCC member who missed out on a balloted seat for Saturday.

Thanks in advance

Vince
My father missed out on the ballot and hasn't decided whether he will use his MCC ticket or not. However, if he does, he plans to be outside queued up at 1-2 am in the morning to get decent seats.

My advice? Bring a chair, a blanket and a hot thermos! :D

There are two Victorian clubs playing , 7 AM will get you the back of level 4
What Demetriou calls standard and we call sub standard.
8 AM and you are risking not even getting in.

saint75 wrote:

Thanks in advance

Vince
My father missed out on the ballot and hasn't decided whether he will use his MCC ticket or not. However, if he does, he plans to be outside queued up at 1-2 am in the morning to get decent seats.

My advice? Bring a chair, a blanket and a hot thermos! :D
Bad Advice

1-2AM will get a good seat.

Last year they did the security check just outside the entrance.
There was a queue to get bags checked.
This queue probably lost me the benefit of least half an hour of queuing.

Leave everything in the car.
Get your seat and then the ticket reserving it.
Then get a passout and go get your themos and blanket.
You can't take a chair in with you.

Take a poncho - the forecast is for appalling weather.

Young Georgie

I was thinking the wee hours somewhere between 2 and 4 to pick up a solo seat...

Does anyone know what areas will be available once the gates open - ie. where to run to to get the best seat? Is there anything at ground level or will it be top deck?

Damn that ballot :evil:

Graceful, elusive, strong overhead and no Easybeat!

OK..This will be my first GF since 95 where I'm not in the MCC..so I reckon I can offer a little bit of advice based on recent years..

I always get the first train in from Caulfield so am at the queue at around 5.45 by the time one walks from Richmond. WARNING..when you get off at Richmond make sure they have the stadium end gates open before you head down that ramp. Got caught one year and had to walk all the way back to the main entrance and around...extra 10-15 mins

Theres only one queue now..it starts at gate 1 and goes straight back towards the Hilton. It will look huge (15-20 ppl wide) when you arrive but trust me people are pretty spread out. Dont even think about trying to jump it as MCC official are everywhere looking for quee jumpers..and the people you try to get in front of will arc up anyway. Every so often they will bunch the queue up so be prepared to move at short notice (This is actually a good legit way to get a bit of extra territiry as many people get caught sitting or drinking coffe and take time to get their stuff and move)

By the time the gates open at 8 the queue will only be 1/2 as long as people are bunched up.

OK..based on last years Gee Haw game (2 Victorian clubs)..
Level 2 and 3 filled by 8.10
Level 1 filled by 8.20

I got a good single seat on Level 1 by arriving at 5.45 without any great stress or pushing. Once you get your seat you will be asked to sit down so that the attendants (and theres heaps of em yelling into megaphones) can see where the gaps are.

Once a whole bay is full they will hand out seat tickets and you are free to go. Im rarely out of the ground after 8.40

By the way..if you are perchance a very late arrival, you will ALWAYS get in...the only time ive heard of the reserve being closed is that Pes v Geel Prelim in 07..if you dont mind standing room or Row XX up the back of Level 4, you wont be refused admission

Hope all this info helps..PM me if you have any other questions

Oh...if the weather is crook this WILL affect the amount of people queuing

Young Georgie

Thanks Saint66au...great info and a few hours extra kip will be a huge help if/when we win and celebrate long!

saint vince

Thanks heaps Saint 66au. Being able to get the train helps me heaps as I wont have to have my car there.

Go Saints.

Thanks in advance

Vince
Vince

Do you want a good seat or a great seat?

If you want say Level 3 ( members only seating area) or quality non balloted seat you need to be there for an all nighter. If you are there by say 7pm or so you will be guaranteed anything after say 10 you do run the risk. Depends if by self or with friends.

Lined up overnight with mate for 2000 Melb v Ess ( Melb supporter mate) and was a great night. Take a chair and a swag or capming matress. Food also as ordering pizza can be difficult, coffee was supplied. Great night .We then got the ticket allocation for our seat, wnet hom slept and met up later before the game.

Unforgiven

I'm thinking about trying to do what Jonesy said, getting a mate's membership and trying to get a ticket that way, had a friend who did is last year. Said the chaos of all the people they didn't check tickets so much.

Carpe Diem

Unforgiven wrote:I'm thinking about trying to do what Jonesy said, getting a mate's membership and trying to get a ticket that way, had a friend who did is last year. Said the chaos of all the people they didn't check tickets so much.
Dont bet on it...i had my MCC card closely checked last year and heard another bloke told to take his thumb off the photo

DOnt risk it..sorry!!

Young Georgie

SEN has reported that MCC members have started to queue already.

That's implying that there's more than one idiot or is there just one idiot and one fat bastard reporter in a panama posing as a member.

Hopefully this doesn't kick start an early swell - despite the weather it might be wise to plan further ahead. Not looking forward to huddling with the seagulls on a cold, wet Friday night ... did someone mention member privileges?

sainterjo

Michael and others, some advice please. I have pass for the MCC members, with an allocated seat in M42 (yes I know, lucky cow).

What time will I need to be lining up at gate 2 to get in?

Thanks and goooooooooooooooooo Saints!

They will not grow old, as those from more northern States grow old.
For them it will always be three-quarter-time, with the scores level
and the wind advantage in the final term.
saint vince

sainterjo wrote:Michael and others, some advice please. I have pass for the MCC members, with an allocated seat in M42 (yes I know, lucky cow).

What time will I need to be lining up at gate 2 to get in?

Thanks and goooooooooooooooooo Saints!
2.25pm if you really want. Only need to line up if you don't have a seat.

Go Saints