Clinton Jones...

Milton66

Clinton Jones...

Take a bow young man.

You have taken your opportunity and exceeded everyone's expectations.

Well done young man.

After round 1, I commented to a friend that we'd never win a flag with Jones and Milne in the team.

Jones has proved me wrong and I sincerely apologise for that. No, we didn't win... but it wasn't because of CJ.

Once again, congrats on a great season,and may youcontinue to improve next year.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
saints11

top 6 b&f

SuperSaint

Love him. He even kicked a goal yesterday, taking over from Milne and Schneider from a spillage. He is all effort, guts and determination. A real beauty. If he could ever learn to kick well, he would be lethal. :)

undecided

Hopefully he does nothing but kicking for the next couple of months

undecided

Seriously even MG hit kosi on the chest on his left on the run

I thought he was our best yesterday.

xander

He's had a great year. His kicking is the only thing stopping him at the moment.

daldal

CJ has not had a bad game all year. WE bumped into him in KMart and my 9 y o said " gee mum did ya see his toes they were black" No wonder he covers people like a glove. He would be pushed, slapped, and stood on every game, every week.
We admirer him. :lol:

we shall rise again....

He must have amazing mental toughness, he doesn't ever seem to give up...such a fantastic year, I would expect him to do well in the best and fairest.

He also looked pretty shattered yesterday in the rooms after the game :(

Milan Faletic

He will become an elite player in the competition similar to Ling. I personally think he is there already. At the Freo game at Etihad this year I made that call to a Hawthorn mate who laughed. He conceded yesterday that I was right. Gee, it's good to make a Hawk crawl!

In the last quarter yesterday, he just kept running and working.

You're a star, Clint.

We saw glimmers of what he was capable of last year but injury interrupted his year and his form. This year has been a different story! Absolute star and young gun of the competition! Well done CJ!!!!!

Ali92

his coach at South Freo (John Dimmer) was quoted as saying that the young bloke was a very very hard worker and recruiters bypassed him because of the unusual kicking style, but I got the impression from the article that Jonesy has a "harvey-like" work ethic.
You have to admire the lad...

Global Warming? don't you dare question this or you'll be called a heretic...remember the Catholic Church in the Middle Ages? "the earth is flat !!!"
I thought science was all about finding the truth and asking questions...why do we all have to believe what we are told ffs ????

Re: Clinton Jones...

Milton66 wrote:Take a bow young man.

After round 1, I commented to a friend that we'd never win a flag with Jones and Milne in the team.
You definitely got the second part right, we will never win a flag with Milne in our side. In fact I don't reckon we will win another game with him in our side as Ross will delist him at his first oppurtunity!!!!

Incredible effort and season from him and amazing insight and call from Lyon to back him in as a mid and give him the shutdown role.

Most of the nuffies on here had him delisted before the season had begun.

Once again great coaching and it's a great feeling knowing we finally have someone with a fair dinkum clue coaching this team.

Milton66

Re: Clinton Jones...

saintbob wrote:
Milton66 wrote:Take a bow young man.

You definitely got the second part right, we will never win a flag with Milne in our side. In fact I don't reckon we will win another game with him in our side as Ross will delist him at his first oppurtunity!!!!
It's off topic for this thread, but at 30 and not much improvement left... it's time to make a hard call on 44 IMO.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
ralphsmith

As far as i'm concerned, he is elite.

Foz

CJ...remember seeing him at a pre-season game at Shepparton v Richmond.

He was out on the ground kicking to himself 1.5 hours before the start. No one with him. The guy i was with asked who he was ! Not much at stake for a pre-season country game but his approach is obviously very determined.

Thought his dribble goal in the GF showed hes not just a shut down player he can be damaging the other way.

Great year CJ !

He had a great year and is a great person to speak to (although a little shy).

He may have not had a good year if we secured that player from another club, that some on here are still flogging...

Nor would have Mini for that matter...

Both players would have to be in line for the most improved this year

And a real nice lad to boot! He was happy to spend a little time chatting to the "jigging grandaughter" yesterday while signing autographs.
This boy has genuine class,as a player and as a person!