OFFICIAL: Andrew Lovett - Traded for 1st rounder (Pick 16)

xander

saint66au wrote:Oh...and another ANZAC day Medallist joins our ranks

Umm..who was the other one again???? 8-)

wasn't mcgough or watever his name was one?

xander wrote:
saint66au wrote:Oh...and another ANZAC day Medallist joins our ranks

Umm..who was the other one again???? 8-)

wasn't mcgough or watever his name was one?
Yeah, that was the shortlegged bloke.

claystreet

Yeah i remember fugough as i heard him called by one supporter.

Another one of GT's gems.
What did he say,"biggest ball magnet in the league" or something?

Milton66

claystreet wrote:Yeah i remember fugough as i heard him called by one supporter.
ROFL.. that is pure gold. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

Great trade Saints.

Pick 16 in this draft is the equivalent of around pick 20-25 in a normal draft (because of there being no 17 year olds available).

We will still draft 4-5 new youngsters into the club.

Our best chance at a flag is in the next 2-3 years. Lovett adds to our side enormously in this time.

Drafting an 18 year old kid with pick #16 who will be useful to the side in 5 years ... vs. drafting a 27-year old who fits our needs NOW and can play 100 games with us ... I reckon we've made the right call.

Now to offload Ball for a first round pick

hotdish

Caption: Lovett kicks his third to put the saints into the 2010 Grand Final!
Last edited by hotdish on Tue 06 Oct 2009 11:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

hotdish wrote:Image
He has the same after goal celebration as Gardiner :D

Am I the only one worried that he slots straight in as the tenth oldest bloke on the list? If he was two years younger I'd be ecstatic, but I reckon he'll be lucky to play as many games with us as he did with Essendon - 88.

We used pick 16 for McQualter and an earlier pick on Armitage.

Armo is an unknown comodity, Mini has been good value now after a very slow start.

Lovett should play 5-6 years 100+ games and we know he can cut it.

Well worth it, can we guarantee that going forward from McQualter, McEvoy, Raph Clarke, Xavier Clarke, Armitage? our recent first rounds. No we can't, so it;s well and truelly worth the risk.

Rickabee
Location: Sydney, but grew up in Melbourne - 1st Saints match = Rnd 4 1966

I just can't help but be impressed with Lyon & Drain and the Saints recruiting efforts since Lyon arrived. Either ha has some "pictures" on a lot of people or he's very persuasive!
The actual reason I believe is that we have been very realistic to deal with, when compared with some other clubs, suchas Collingwood or Hawthorn.

Let's hope for a good deal to be completed with Luke Ball, now that he has made his decision. I am sad to see him go as he has been "through the wars" for us and is a great competitor. Ross has kept his word following the GF and he is determined to take us to the next level. He continues to understand our weknesses and to recruit to solve those problems.

Last year they fixed our defence to be the best, and if they maintain this and he improves our scoring from multiple sources we will have the formula complete. He has been very methodical, so I hope he addresses the scoring totals and scoring sources. I'd love to see a goal kicking coach approinted to focus on maximising our scores!

I'm looking forward to the rest of the week now!

bergholt wrote:Am I the only one worried that he slots straight in as the tenth oldest bloke on the list? If he was two years younger I'd be ecstatic, but I reckon he'll be lucky to play as many games with us as he did with Essendon - 88.
If he only plays 20 for us,but plays in a premiership then I couldn't care less if he then retires or go's missing.
It's almost getting to the stage where I'd be willing to sell my soul for a premiership

Wigsy

Happy enough with him in the squad, but will await his finals form, which is where it counts. Will also await the remainder of the week to see how the other trades vs draft picks measures up. Potentially over the odds at 16, but we shall see what happens with Ball, Jolly, and Burgoyne. Ball leaving will leave a real hole in terms of contested possessions so I'm hardly ecstatic if it ends up being a near straight swap or even less.

But welcome aboard Andrew and look forward to a 6-month date with the tackling bag - I look forward to him adding to the ferocious tackling.

2009 - the year of the Saint (modified name from MasonCJ2)
groupie1

evertonfc wrote:
xander wrote:I don't see the issue with the trade. This year's draft is terrible and last year we took heaps of kids in the national & rookie drafts.
True, but it's such a high price. I'd still rather we moved heaven and earth for Burgoyne, an elite midfielder who would have been brilliant.

We're out of the running there now and that's disappointing.

Having said that, using Lovett of a half-back flank, instead of Raph Clarke*, is sure to boost our team considerably. I'm a big Lovett fan...just thought we could get him a little cheaper.

* - This is NOT Raph-bashing. It's just that he's not a great player and failed in the Grand Final, and they occupy the same position. And you can't play the racist card either, obviously...
I CAN'T believe you played the racist card, mate.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga
groupie1

bergholt wrote:Am I the only one worried that he slots straight in as the tenth oldest bloke on the list? If he was two years younger I'd be ecstatic, but I reckon he'll be lucky to play as many games with us as he did with Essendon - 88.
Yes, you are

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

Lucky we lost the Grand Final.

I don't think the Bombers would have accepted pick 17.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

cowboy18 wrote:
#1GILL wrote:Can anyone whip up a photoshop of him in a saints guernsey?
Bet this is still better than what the Herald Sun end up using. :)

thats shocking Hagred.
hagred lmao
that is gold
:P at cowboy
i laughed for ten mins
sorry c18 :D

that first link S.A.Saint put up
( )
the second goal, starts at 20secs in
super pace, a decent kick and our leadership drummed into him this could turn out well
have to admit i wasnt 100% convinced
the potential is enormous
lets hope he takes it

ausfatcat wrote:
vacuous space wrote: Not everyone's a winner. Brent Stanton would have to be dreading the oncoming taggers. :D
Stanton or Watson got most of the tags anyway, Lovett didn't get many, but it's sounds good if people say he did so it looks like we got a better deal than we did.
St Kilda did not tag Watson in either game against Essendon and Watson got Brownlow votes in both games.

Batnoe wrote:
Thinline wrote:Terrific trade.

Once Lyonised, he'll be awesome.

Great to see another indigenous fella on the list, too
He's indigenous? :shock:

I've been looking at the wrong guy in these youtube highlights

He's indigenous? I thought he's blackfella. :wink:

nope i am slightly concerned of his age as well.

if the saints don't pull of a flag in the next 2 years. would this tyears trading be a waste?

no young players coming through?

trying to buy a flag now when it may not come to fruition?

mightysainters

we payed over the odds a 1st round pick for a troubled 27 year old who everyone was touting as a 2nd round pick at best... Although he does add to our team greatly if he has the right attitude. He better put in otherwise it's a royal #$$# up
Last edited by mightysainters on Wed 07 Oct 2009 9:44am, edited 1 time in total.

I have the same concerns about Roo, as he's a month older than Lovett.

All is lost.

saintly wrote:
nope i am slightly concerned of his age as well.

if the saints don't pull of a flag in the next 2 years. would this tyears trading be a waste?

no young players coming through?

trying to buy a flag now when it may not come to fruition?
So you haven't bothered to read the first 9 pages?

We have a plethora of young players coming through that will make the seniors in the coming years.

geary
Eddy
McEvoy
Stanley
Heyne
Lynch
Steven
Armo

And we have X coming back and hopefully Goose now fully fit.

Every single one of them would have been playing seniors for a MOR team this year.

Because of our excellent injury run - these kids could ply their trade in the reserves all year some getting the occasional seniors run.

Add to that the Tommy Walsh prospect and I cannot possibly see how you can say we dont have young players coming through.

really the facts dont bear it out. We aren't rebuilding.

We were FIVE minutes from a flag

FIVE FARKEN minutes.

We have an opportunity to win a flag in the next two to three years.

Worry about rebuilding in 2013 0r 2014.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

groupie1 wrote:
evertonfc wrote:
xander wrote:I don't see the issue with the trade. This year's draft is terrible and last year we took heaps of kids in the national & rookie drafts.
True, but it's such a high price. I'd still rather we moved heaven and earth for Burgoyne, an elite midfielder who would have been brilliant.

We're out of the running there now and that's disappointing.

Having said that, using Lovett of a half-back flank, instead of Raph Clarke*, is sure to boost our team considerably. I'm a big Lovett fan...just thought we could get him a little cheaper.

* - This is NOT Raph-bashing. It's just that he's not a great player and failed in the Grand Final, and they occupy the same position. And you can't play the racist card either, obviously...
I CAN'T believe you played the racist card, mate.
Don't reckon we drafted Lovett to play HBF though. They will want him in the midfield - most likely on a wing.

I am surprised at peoples concern about the age of AL, personally think Ross does the balancing act between now and the future very well.