No deal with Magpies over Ball, says Lyon

Badlands

No deal with Magpies over Ball, says Lyon

From AAP Newswire:

AFL: No deal with Magpies over Ball, says Lyon

MELBOURNE, Oct 7 AAP - St Kilda coach Ross Lyon says the AFL
club is yet to reach a deal with Collingwood over midfielder Luke
Ball.
The former Saints captain has nominated the Magpies as his
preferred destination.
Lyon says it is a simple matter of a fair deal and he has added
the Saints are demanding a quality player from Collingwood for the
deal to go through.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.

Go your hardest Rossy.

He knows they need a Ball.

He knows we don't.

If he goes PSD, he goes PSD.

Good bargaining possie.

He'll start shopping him about now. I suspect we'll do well out of this.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

This is great to hear that we are standing our ground and not giving him away. I rather he go into the PSD than accept a raw deal from eddiewood jst for the sake of doing a deal.

Looks like Ross is far to astute for the filth to whitewash us

Rastus

Lesson #1 and it's pretty simple & something that Collingwood either don't, won't or are unable to realise.... if you want ball you've got to be prepared to play ball!

.... therein endeth the lesson

Maybe he will stay now?

super dooper

SaintWodonga wrote:Maybe he will stay now?
After Lyon's speech at the post GF function, i dont think he will be too welcome back in the door at Moorabbin...

If he stayed, he would be right at the back of the pack and once again earn the respect of everyone at the club. Everyone else is committed to the cause, what makes him so special??

Dal_Santos_Gal

and why would we want him back, its clear he does not want to play for the jumper.... No point having him if he is not 110% committed.

Let him go in the PSD, I'll laugh my head off if he ends up at Melbourne or Richmond.....

When a player no longer has the passion for the St Kilda Football club and wants to move on, I wash my hands of them.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

do the pies have a 'decent player'..?

bozza1980

Will the magpies ever learn??

There is a reason why they never land a big fish and it's because they refuse to negotiate for a win-win situation.

We are not about to give a fellow contender a leg up in exchange for nothing.

That said, the pies could prove me wrong but their track record does suggest otherwise.

super dooper

MC Gusto wrote:do the pies have a 'decent player'..?
thats my biggest concern, they got no one that suits us who is on their fringe or wants out...

I hope he goes to Richmond in PSD, it would be quite humerous to watch his kicking abilities being at the same level of his team mates

Who knows

Campbell at Richmond in a similar position...............eventually stayed

O'Keefe at swans " ' " ...............eventualy stayed

after both getting heaps from supporters.....

BOTH WENT ON TO WIN B&F

Badlands

Again i seem to be in the minority, but i just can't bring myself to erase all the good luke ball did for our club in a heartbeat. I can't go from his tears almost bringing me to tears, to then less than 2 weeks later all of a sudden hoping he ends up at a rabble club and poking fun at deficiencies brought upon by crippling injuries which have wreaked havoc on such a promising player. I know he's walked out on us and we have every reason to be filthy - and I am. But I also know he had his reasons, and there's probably a bit more to it than we know at the moment. In any case, I just find it all a bit sudden to be bringing the hate! Give me a few more weeks, at least.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.
35...LEGEND

Only 1 imo..........................TARKYN.....go hard Boss 8-)

saint1974

35...LEGEND wrote:
Only 1 imo..........................TARKYN.....go hard Boss 8-)
Harry O'Brien ?

FAKIN TARKYN ??!?!??!?

To quote J McEnroe: YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Great news.

F^^K the filth.

Those cabbages will NEVER learn and NEVER land a trade of note.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
35...LEGEND

Thinline wrote:FAKIN TARKYN ??!?!??!?

we are on the same page :lol:

35...LEGEND wrote:

Thank god for that...

35...LEGEND

Thinline wrote:
35...LEGEND wrote:

Thank god for that...
ha ha ,can't stand the cheatin squib

Thinline wrote:He knows they need a Ball.
Doesn't the AFL provide the balls?

Seems to me that you have to work too hard to get a game at St Kilda.

The sense that I get is that anything outside of 1st round in this draft is not worth much. With that in mind, if the pies don't offer us their 1st round pick then I'd suggest we have little to lose by sticking to our guns and letting Luke go into the PSD. (N.B. their 2nd round is pick 30.)

My reckonging is that Luke is worth around pick 20-25.

So I would suggest that a compromise options are.....

BEST case for Saints

PIES get: Luke Ball + pick 48
SAINTS get: pick 14

Compromise

PIES get Luke Ball + pick 32 + pick 48
SAINTS get: pick 14 + pick 46

BEST case for Collingwood

PIES get: Luke Ball + pick 32
SAINTS get: pick 14

35...LEGEND wrote:
Thinline wrote:
35...LEGEND wrote:

Thank god for that...
ha ha ,can't stand the cheatin squib
Have a mate up here I watch footy with and if we are watching a Pies game for whatever reason the whole thing degenerates into a very funny (albeit very hostile) anti-Tarkyn rant... He gets blamed for everything...'My beer's empty!'... 'That bloody Tarkyn Lockyer....!!!' ...you get the picture...

Cheatin' squib alright. Infuriates me more than it should. Between him and Daisy Thomas...Aaaaarrghhhh!!!!!!!!

Decent and Collingwood...mmmmmm...the mother of oxymorons :shock:

Beej

Last edited by Beej on Wed 07 Oct 2009 2:43pm, edited 1 time in total.