win 22 games - make money???? not quite ( age article)

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfnews ... 29972.html
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
St Kilda had been staring at a loss of about $200,000 in 2009 but is now hoping to break even or make a modest profit.

Having struggled financially as a result of ongoing problems with its stadium agreement at Docklands, the Saints' new deal at Etihad is not retrospective like those at the MCG but the club will receive some compensation from the AFL in a bid to improve its performance and treat it in accordance with MCG tenants.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

St Kilda had been staring at a loss of about $200,000 in 2009 but is now hoping to break even or make a modest profit.

Having struggled financially as a result of ongoing problems with its stadium agreement at Docklands, the Saints' new deal at Etihad is not retrospective like those at the MCG but the club will receive some compensation from the AFL in a bid to improve its performance and treat it in accordance with MCG tenants.

anyone actually been to the club and seen the trophy?

Its an absolute disgrace. How can you have a year like we did and barely break even, what a joke :evil:

Saint Bev wrote:Its an absolute disgrace. How can you have a year like we did and barely break even, what a joke :evil:
It called spending more than you earn.

annoying logging on and reading crap replies to questions by serial.................
plugger 66

Saint Bev wrote:Its an absolute disgrace. How can you have a year like we did and barely break even, what a joke :evil:
It called spending more than you earn.
It is called rent and buy.
Only when when St Kilda, Bulldogs and North Melbourne have finished buying the stadium through their rent, they don't get to hold the title.

That goes to a consortium that includes Collingwood Magpies, Adelaide Crows and West Coast Eagles, Gold Coast Meter Maids, and Greater Western Sydney Snot.
Teams that are paying nothing in rent to the stadium but collecting heaps of cash playing elsewhere.

The consortium is called the AFL and they will continue to charge us rent once we have bought the stadium for them.

saintlee

chook23 wrote:annoying logging on and reading crap replies to questions by serial.................
plugger 66
But he's right tho...at the moment St Kilda does spend more than they earn....hopefully this will change when we start getting a fairer return from Etihad stadium....and hopefully when we attract more members...

chook23 wrote:annoying logging on and reading crap replies to questions by serial.................
plugger 66
Just ignore then. I do with most of yours. Are you one of those guys who watch all a TV program and then ring up to complain about the show?

plugger 66
Just ignore then. I do with most of yours. Are you one of those guys who watch all a TV program and then ring up to complain about the show?
The only show I want to complain about is that one on the afternoon of 26 September.
The show would have been good except that the ending was appalling.
And they keep showing repeats of it on Fox Sports!

Re: win 22 games - make money???? not quite ( age article)

saintbrat wrote: Having struggled financially as a result of ongoing problems with its stadium agreement at Docklands, the Saints' new deal at Etihad is not retrospective like those at the MCG but the club will receive some compensation from the AFL in a bid to improve its performance and treat it in accordance with MCG tenants.

Thats the part that gets me, the Etihad clubs were significantly worse off than the MCG clubs before these negotiations, and after these deals the are even worse.

Victorian Government media release
Issued: Thursday November 12, 2009

The long-term environmental future of Melbourne’s historic Yarra Park will soon be secured under new legislation introduced in Parliament by the Brumby Labor Government.

Speaking on the Melbourne Cricket Ground and Yarra Park Amendment Bill in parliament today, Sports Minister James Merlino said the new measures would provide a major boost to park users and further cement Melbourne’s status as the sporting capital of the world.

“Yarra Park is an icon of Melbourne and this important legislation goes a long way to ensure its long term future in the face of drought for generations to come,â€

Breakdown of AFL clubs supported by MCC members at September 2008

Melbourne 21%
Essendon 13%
Collingwood 11%
Carlton 9%
Hawthorn 8%
Richmond 7%
Geelong 7%
St Kilda 5%
North Melbourne 3%
Bulldogs 2%
Sydney 2%
Brisbane 2%
West Coast <1%
Adelaide <1%
Port Adelaide <1%
Fremantle <1%
No club listed 8%

plugger66 wrote: It called spending more than you earn.
No, it's called ian collins is still a greedy pig! :evil:

Milan Faletic

I do understand that profit is important but our overheads have also increased enormously. We have a full complement of coaching staff, admin, fitness staff. Our players are paid well and the salary cap is at 100%. If we got up on GF day 2009, our merchandise sales would have gone through the roof and we would have made a good profit.

As it stands, we may break even or make a small profit, but that means that everyone gets paid. Our membership should be no less than 35,000 next year. If we can get some people who feel that they are supporters, but don't buy a membership, to sign up, maybe we can make a decent profit.

Milan Faletic wrote: If we got up on GF day 2009, our merchandise sales would have gone through the roof and we would have made a good profit.
and BUY something from the club each year......

plugger66 wrote:It called spending more than you earn.
That is NOT the point.
The issue is that despite really good crowds during the finals we lost money because the revenue obtained was less than the extra costs we incurred.

This is not a StK bad management issue.
It is a generic issue that applies to all clubs playing in the finals.

Westaway's point is that the financial rewards to ALL clubs playing in the finals needs to be greater.
It has NOTHING to do with the club being financially incompetent.

Rice Paper

Enrico_Misso wrote:
That is NOT the point.
The issue is that despite really good crowds during the finals we lost money because the revenue obtained was less than the extra costs we incurred.

Westaway's point is that the financial rewards to ALL clubs playing in the finals needs to be greater.
I think it does go to the heart of how the club is managed. It will be very interesting to see how the club leverages our success through membership options and packages. And what other ideas have the club got in 2010 to draw in extra revenue based on the success of 2009, without the ultimate success ofcourse.

The handling of the social club seating on level 2 was extremely poor, this was done to gain extra revenue but it may have lost us some members through poor communication and management.

Also through the saints survey, I have pointed out I have NOT purchased any merchandise in 2009 because the quality and options were so poor. I find that AFL merchandise / Australian sporting merchandise are the worst designed and of such poor quality compared to those of US sports and to some EPL teams that I couldn't waste my money in this tight economy.

Have a look at the merchandise that would have been sold at Kingston Heath this week, Tiger Woods wore it, but the design came from Nike and they look pretty good. I've seen the ISC catalogue and there isn't that much there that is a must have. The club is leaving so much money on the table each year and there is no wonder the club isn't making any money, and they keep ignoring the issue.

satchmo wrote:
Let me see if I can explain the difference between the MCG and Etihad contracts.

At the MCG the clubs RENT the stadium but are NOT BUYING the stadium.
The AFL does not get to own the MCG ever.

At Etihad the clubs are not just RENTING the stadium, they are BUYING it.
But not for the resident clubs but for the AFL.
Eventually Collin's loses ownership of the stadium and it suddenly appears on the AFL's balance sheet.

I don't know what Etihad stadium is worth but it would be multiple hundreds of millions of dollars.
If stadium worth maybe $300,000,000 has 1,500 games played there then the owner (Collin's group) needs to charge $200,000 per game to pay for the construction cost of a stadium which they eventually have to surrender to the AFL.

So let's stop abusing Collins, he is not the villian costing St Kilda $200,000 a game.
The villians are Fitzpatrick, Demetriou and the AFL they are costing St Kilda something in the vicinity of $200,000 a game.
AND we are supposed to say thank you and lick the AFL's backsides when they deign to give us a fraction in compensation.

Rice Paper wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:
That is NOT the point.

I think it does go to the heart of how the club is managed. It will be very interesting to see how the club leverages our success through membership options and packages. And what other ideas have the club got in 2010 to draw in extra revenue based on the success of 2009, without the ultimate success ofcourse.

The handling of the social club seating on level 2 was extremely poor, this was done to gain extra revenue but it may have lost us some members through poor communication and management.

Also through the saints survey, I have pointed out I have NOT purchased any merchandise in 2009 because the quality and options were so poor. I find that AFL merchandise / Australian sporting merchandise are the worst designed and of such poor quality compared to those of US sports and to some EPL teams that I couldn't waste my money in this tight economy.

Have a look at the merchandise that would have been sold at Kingston Heath this week, Tiger Woods wore it, but the design came from Nike and they look pretty good. I've seen the ISC catalogue and there isn't that much there that is a must have. The club is leaving so much money on the table each year and there is no wonder the club isn't making any money, and they keep ignoring the issue.
They want a flag mate.

As do I..!!

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

ace wrote:
satchmo wrote:
Let me see if I can explain the difference between the MCG and Etihad contracts.

At the MCG the clubs RENT the stadium but are NOT BUYING the stadium.
The AFL does not get to own the MCG ever.

At Etihad the clubs are not just RENTING the stadium, they are BUYING it.
But not for the resident clubs but for the AFL.
Eventually Collin's loses ownership of the stadium and it suddenly appears on the AFL's balance sheet.

I don't know what Etihad stadium is worth but it would be multiple hundreds of millions of dollars.
If stadium worth maybe $300,000,000 has 1,500 games played there then the owner (Collin's group) needs to charge $200,000 per game to pay for the construction cost of a stadium which they eventually have to surrender to the AFL.

So let's stop abusing Collins, he is not the villian costing St Kilda $200,000 a game.
The villians are Fitzpatrick, Demetriou and the AFL they are costing St Kilda something in the vicinity of $200,000 a game.
AND we are supposed to say thank you and lick the AFL's backsides when they deign to give us a fraction in compensation.
If its worth 300 million and they get in 20 years for 25 millions seems like a good deal even if all clubs own it. stop whinging and blaming the AFL for everything. Maybe a popular thing to do on this site but they run the best comp in Australia, most clubs make money and if they dont they get compensated. maybe we should be run by the NRL or the soccer as most of those clubs lose money. That would be much better. Finally we had 31500 members this year after winning 20 games, that could be half the problem and it was our club who chose docklands so if there is anyone to blame maybe it is us.