I went down to the Riva

Tonight was the Player Sponsors season launch.

Venue was Riva at the StKilda marina.
Nice place but no air conditioning.
It was about 40 degrees inside.
Maybe somewhere a bit cooler next year??

First photos with your sponsored player.
Drinks and nibbles.
Craig Willis MCed.
Greg Rightaway right spoke about the 09 season right, and whilst right we didn't win the Premiership right it was still a successful year right.
He thanked the sponsors right and the coach right and said right that the foundation for future success had been laid on and off the field right.
He also said "right" about 50 other times - right.

Ross answered some questions from Craig W and paid special mention to the strength of the leadership group.
He referred to the changes in personnel at the club, and obliquely referred to Lovett by mentioning they had tried to boost midfield pace with a short term solution that hadn't worked, and would now look to Peake and others to step up.
Mentioned he now had a group prepared to give their all for the club.
Later Roo spoke.

Most of the players were there.
They looked in top condition.
Spoke to 3 or 4 and they were really friendly and sounded keen and excited.

goodie

Craig Willis was good, especially during the raffle draw.

Would any of the three or four be Dawson, Eddy or Heyne?

Thanks for the update...glad to here the boys are keen, they must be itching to get out there.

Milan Faletic

Re: I went down to the Riva

Enrico_Misso wrote:Greg Rightaway right spoke about the 09 season right, and whilst right we didn't win the Premiership right it was still a successful year right.
He thanked the sponsors right and the coach right and said right that the foundation for future success had been laid on and off the field right.
He also said "right" about 50 other times - right.
LMAO Enrico. Greg Rightaway. That's gold :lol: :lol:

goodie wrote:Craig Willis was good, especially during the raffle draw.

Some of his wisecracks were hilarious.
Something about he "sweated out 3 kg during the President's speech and will soon be reduced to the size of a block of flats".
Whilst spilling raffle tickets out of the cup he said "we are drawing this under government supervision - the Nigerian govt".
The last prize was dinner for two in the restaurant upstairs "Maybe they have air conditioning up there?"

I spoke mostly to Raph and Bakes.
But also had the pleasure of meeting "The Tomminator".
Hell of a nice bloke and what a fantastic physique.
Says he is still mastering the shape of the ball and the rules but is loving it so far.

Enrico_Misso wrote: He referred to the changes in personnel at the club, and obliquely referred to Lovett by mentioning they had tried to boost midfield pace with a short term solution that hadn't worked, and would now look to Peake and others to step up.
If it wasn't already in any doubt then this confirms it, Lovett will not play one game for us!

Mentioned he now had a group prepared to give their all for the club.
While taking a sideswipe at Ball at the very same time it would seem, if that reads word for word and Ross Lyon does choose his words carefully which is pleasing!

goodie

Enrico_Misso wrote:

Something about he "sweated out 3 kg during the President's speech and will soon be reduced to the size of a block of flats".
Whilst spilling raffle tickets out of the cup he said "we are drawing this under government supervision - the Nigerian govt".
The last prize was dinner for two in the restaurant upstairs "Maybe they have air conditioning up there?"

Says he is still mastering the shape of the ball and the rules but is loving it so far.
I've been upstairs, I don't remember air conditioning. Admittedly it was a party and I don't remember much.

Walsh is enormous. Found him at the bar with Gilbo, an Irishman at the bar, who'd have thought? Only had a quick chat (and a photo), but seemed nice. Strong handshake too. Apparently Dawson has found him something of a handful in drills.

I spoke mostly to Eddy and Heyne. Really nice guys.

Selhurst Saint

Enrico_Misso wrote:

Bloody hilarious, I was lucky enough to win the raffle and as I collected my prize he took the p1ss out of my tie. :(

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Only the Saints would treat Player Sponsors so badly that they would have a launch in the middle of February at a place with no air-con.

Which Board Member owned the place?

Or was it really really cheap?

Enrico_Misso wrote: He referred to the changes in personnel at the club, and obliquely referred to Lovett by mentioning they had tried to boost midfield pace with a short term solution that hadn't worked, and would now look to Peake and others to step up.
If it wasn't already in any doubt then this confirms it, Lovett will not play one game for us!
Whilst I think you're probably right I don't think RL has any choice other than to answer in this manner. We are now only one week out from the NAB Cup. Even if AL is cleared and somehow is able to come back, the club simply has no option other than to prepare for a season without AL regardless of what the eventual outcome is.

GrumpyOne wrote:Only the Saints would treat Player Sponsors so badly that they would have a launch in the middle of February at a place with no air-con.

You been to Riva before. One thing it aint is cheap.

GrumpyOne wrote:Only the Saints would treat Player Sponsors so badly that they would have a launch in the middle of February at a place with no air-con.

I'm not sure that we have anyone at the club who can control the weather, especially the tropical conditions we have had over the past few days !!

besides the point, the place would have been booked months in advance

goodie

And it's nice to have a function in/near St Kilda for a change. Here's some pic of our sponsored players for those interested (didn't catch Raph and only spoke to Rhys for two minutes)

I look at that picture and wonder if Walsh ever gets any Frankenstein's monster jokes.

agreed, the humid conditions buggers up our air con

thanks for the reports guys

I wonder how much Willis cost us as an MC?

I reckon he'd be fairly pricey.

Selhurst Saint wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:

Bloody hilarious, I was lucky enough to win the raffle and as I collected my prize he took the p1ss out of my tie. :(
And so he should have Selhurst - wear it long enough and it may just come back into fashion... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Tommy Walsh is very very imposing physically. He and Gilbo seem to be hitting it off really well, hanging sh1t on each other as part of conversations. If Tommy can get the hang of this game he is going to be a bloody hard unit to match up on.

Spoke a fair bit with Big Blake McGrath - he is a ripper, very nice young bloke and has put on 6.5kg since this time last year. Still coming to grips with the change from basketball and the enormous following of the footy down here. Couldn't believe the crowd at training before the GF. Loves being part of the Saints.

The venue was fine if not a tad warm, but the outside area eased the conditions - I think Craig Willis was feeling it more than most.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Raph spend more time forward of centre this year with Peake playing Raph's old role.

Kosi looks huge, seems broader and bigger around the chest and arms.

The players were incredibly relaxed, yet very focused on the year ahead and really eager for the intra-club - they just can't wait for the season to start.

Iceman234 wrote:
Wouldn't be surprised to see Raph spend more time forward of centre this year with Peake playing Raph's old role.

ooooo like that one, that makes my pre-season if true

did raph mention it?

Solar wrote:
Iceman234 wrote:

did raph mention it?
I'm not sold on Peake. However this time last year I wasn't sold on Dawson and Ray either. So I am happy to be proven wrong again.

Iceman234 wrote:
Peake is going to be the new scapegoat?

Furtius Quo Rdelious

IluvHarvey wrote:
Solar wrote:
Iceman234 wrote:

did raph mention it?
I'm not sold on Peake. However this time last year I wasn't sold on Dawson and Ray either. So I am happy to be proven wrong again.
it's more the theory to it then whether peake will be good or not.
raph found so much space as a half forward in the qualifying final against the pies and his ability to be creative lead to a couple of goals. On the other hand we were asmall quick defender short in the grand final and I have hoped over the pre-season that we look to develop another quick small back. This would allow BJ and raph to move forward.

St.Rob8

I'd expect some improvement from Ray and Zac this year. Both young kids and it often takes a year for young players to settle in from new clubs.

Iceman234 wrote:Tommy Walsh is very very imposing physically. He and Gilbo seem to be hitting it off really well, hanging sh1t on each other as part of conversations. If Tommy can get the hang of this game he is going to be a bloody hard unit to match up on.

Spoke a fair bit with Big Blake McGrath - he is a ripper, very nice young bloke and has put on 6.5kg since this time last year. Still coming to grips with the change from basketball and the enormous following of the footy down here. Couldn't believe the crowd at training before the GF. Loves being part of the Saints.

The venue was fine if not a tad warm, but the outside area eased the conditions - I think Craig Willis was feeling it more than most.

Kosi looks huge, seems broader and bigger around the chest and arms.

The players were incredibly relaxed, yet very focused on the year ahead and really eager for the intra-club - they just can't wait for the season to start.

they are relaxed all right......was told by someone talking to bakes that he asked them who their first up opponents were...in the real season...and where were they playing..... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

goodie

I'm curious, how did you get tickets Iceman & Enrico?