Games in the U.S of A

Saintsfan

Games in the U.S of A

Heading to the states late June and all of July.

Are games readily available and if so what channels?

I hope so....any help would be great

Peace out

A town

The Saintsfan Cometh
walski

Re: Games in the U.S of A

Saintsfan wrote:Heading to the states late June and all of July.

Peace out

A town
Only bigpond tv i'm afraid

The afl deal with espn expired some time ago from what i remembered

Saintsfan

walski wrote:

Peace out

A town

ESPN360?

You are shitting me...

The Saintsfan Cometh
walski

Saintsfan wrote:
walski wrote:

Peace out

A town

ESPN360?

You are shitting me...
My bad its on espn360 again

Did expire sometime last year but renewed it again... Sorry to give you a fright..

markinUSA

Only a few games a week on ESPN360.com
Maybe 3, I think.

But you can watch them both live and liva replay.

The AFL international site wasn't great when I used it two years ago... buffering problems and also the games were shown on a 12 hour delay. I wrote and asked this year if they would be shown live or not (cause I would be happy to pay to get a live view) and never got an answer. This was similar to my previous experience... not very good service with them.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
Milan Faletic

Probably just as easy going on afl.com.au and getting the radio coverage.

Saintsfan

Milan Faletic wrote:Probably just as easy going on afl.com.au and getting the radio coverage.
That is a bit boring. I am happy to get up at 5 in the morning on the west coast to watch a few games...at least on the east i get a bit of a sleep in

The Saintsfan Cometh

There are some pubs that get satellite feeds in if itspossible. Best to do abit of research. Ill be there in August / September (June / July in Europe) so im going to have the same problem!

Yep,I'm in Vegas rounds 21-22.

Would make my day if I found an establishment with the game on there somewhere

L.A. Saint

Games in US

G'day mate.

I am an LA based Saint and you will be struggling to get any pubs to have any footy on, even in Vegas.

The only place you get "live" footy in the US is via ESPN 3, ESPN's web site.
However you either need to be a subscriber or receive your internet through one of their "preferred" suppliers, such as AT&T.

The "streaming" of games via the usual sites has been really cracked down on, so it is harder and harder to find games.

The new OmniSports web site via the AFL is not too bad.
It is about US$7 a game to buy and watch live, and the quality is pretty good.
You may need to refresh a few times if the signal freezes, but otherwise it is pretty good.

Apart form that, footy is still gaining momentum over here.

The local leagues are growing, and this new reality TV show, American Footy Star could be interesting for the growth of footy.

Once the finals roll around, ESPN 2 is supposed to play around 4 games including the Grand Final.

Have a good trip.

LA Saint

Re: Games in US

L.A. Saint wrote:G'day mate.

I am an LA based Saint and you will be struggling to get any pubs to have any footy on, even in Vegas.

However you either need to be a subscriber or receive your internet through one of their "preferred" suppliers, such as AT&T.

The "streaming" of games via the usual sites has been really cracked down on, so it is harder and harder to find games.

You may need to refresh a few times if the signal freezes, but otherwise it is pretty good.

The local leagues are growing, and this new reality TV show, American Footy Star could be interesting for the growth of footy.

Once the finals roll around, ESPN 2 is supposed to play around 4 games including the Grand Final.

Have a good trip.

LA Saint
Thanks LA.

Well I doubt I'll be in any state to be able to sit in front of a computer and watch the game :lol: ,so I may have to miss out.

If it was on tv,we'd give footy good growth! Half of the country would hear us!

L.A. Saint is correct about the coverage.

I watched Saints V Dogs on ESPN360 (now ESPN3) on Sat morn local time and it was very good. The old official AFL site was just terrible. Unwatchable.

ESPN3 looks great, sounds great, buffers very well, can be paused and replayed. There are a lot of ads that you cant skip over but I do not mind I just go and make a cup of coffee. By the way, wasn't Lenny and Joey brilliant.

I believe some local cable companies have footy games replayed on ESPN2. They are not available here but I believe some are. I may be wrong on that.

The best site for USA TV footy info is www.afana.com

And finally my rant. I have lived here 10 years and visited for 20 years. All of my local young sports loving friends watched Aussie footy when it was broadcast on their local ESPN 2 cable channel every Thursday nite at about 11:30pm. It was huge. That was about 15 years ago and they all remember. The AFL has been very badly advised is their approach to TV coverage in the USA. American guys love footy and would watch it regularly if they could. The number of fans, exposure, good will and potential income is very high if the games were telecast regularly on basic cable.

Enjoy your trip to the United States of Amazement. There is a lot to see and the people are very friendly.

markinUSA

LA Saint, are the games on Omnisports live now? If so, I will definitely watch! I specifically asked about that, intending to purchase it for the season, but they didn't reply.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

torrents

its how i catch that show on monday night with hutchy and carro and GT.
stuff is usually up around the next day

Saintsfan

matrix wrote:torrents

its how i catch that show on monday night with hutchy and carro and GT.
stuff is usually up around the next day
While we are on that topic, please PM me with where you get your torrents for Footy Classified as I need my weekly GT fix of honesty.

Cheers

The Saintsfan Cometh

I'm in New York for the next couple of weeks, had a scare with that Times Square nutter and I'm off to Alaska for six weeks. I am really missing the Saints!

I was in Texas a couple of months ago and watched our pre-season game against Freo on my laptop in the hotel room.

Just did a google search it was being streamed for OS viewers by the AFL. Don't know of the same applies in the regular season.

Re: Games in US

jonesy wrote:
L.A. Saint wrote:G'day mate.

Have a good trip.

LA Saint
Thanks LA.

Well I doubt I'll be in any state to be able to sit in front of a computer and watch the game :lol: ,so I may have to miss out.

If it was on tv,we'd give footy good growth! Half of the country would hear us!
Jonesy, I didn't read your above post, and for a minute I thought you and Saintsfan were one and the same poster :shock:

L.A. Saint

Omni Sports

Mark,

I purchased the Freo game earlier in the year.
It was as live as it gets.
For some reason not every single game is always available.
It was worth the $7 though.
Not to say I will do it for every game, just some of the big ones I cant get via ESPN or streamed by someone else.

Might be worth it for games coming up.
I noticed we are not on ESPN again for at least a month after the Blues game.

Will be a tough few weeks scrounging for streams.
Other wise I will have to lock myself away for a few days until I can download it.

Cheers everyone.

Good to hear so many keen supporters around the world, especially here in the US.

: )