Coach Tony Elshaug walks out on Saints

Legendary wrote:... he's a mate of Lyon's, so it's definitely personal reasons why he is leaving.
What does that mean?

Saintsfan

rodgerfox wrote:
Legendary wrote:... he's a mate of Lyon's, so it's definitely personal reasons why he is leaving.
What does that mean?
He has not fallen out somehow with anybody or a group of people at the club then.

Mountain. Moehill.

The Saintsfan Cometh

^^^

Maybe the poster means he was not terminated (being Lyon's friend) - but left of his own volition :shock:

Hold your ground :shock:

Geez, definitely mountain out of a molehill.

All I meant was that I've heard he was well liked by his colleagues (including Lyon his boss) and respected by the players, and most definitely the only reason he is leaving is his personal circumstances.

Devilhead wrote:
Quixote wrote:Left for personal reasons?

Or just politely sacked.
Sorry but what's the point of trying to dig up dirt ... do we really need more controversy??

The club has said he has resigned for personal reasons so lets leave it at that

How about a ... thanks Tony for your dedication and hard work and best of luck for the future .. cheers!!
How about a ... thanks Tony for walking out on us half-way through a premiership tilt ... cheers!!

Fair dinkum, I'm not at all trying to dig up dirt. Just wondering if there's anything else going on.

If you wish to be spoon fed, so be it.

I absolutely wish Tony all the best and have sympathy for him in what's obviously a time of struggle.

Little doubt, TE left us for personal reasons.

However, I do find the timing of the thing funny. Early in the year, I think it's fair to say our midfield struggled big time. In the last month, it has recovered to the point that it's winning us games and carrying the team even.

And then the midfield coach 'walks out'?
Last edited by Quixote on Thu 10 Jun 2010 11:25am, edited 1 time in total.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

what does Leigh Tudor do? -I thought he was midfield coach

longtimesaint wrote:what does Leigh Tudor do? -I thought he was midfield coach
I think he is the forward coach now.

Quixote wrote:However, I do find the timing of the thing funny. Early in the year, I think it's fair to say our midfield struggled big time. In the last month, it has recovered to the point that it's winning us games and carrying the team even.

And then the midfield coach 'walks out'?
But hey, when ya gotta go, ya gotta go! :wink:

Quixote wrote:
Devilhead wrote: How about a ... thanks Tony for walking out on us half-way through a premiership tilt ... cheers!!
Good call.

All I will say is don't forget to close the door behind you Tony.

Quixote wrote:
Devilhead wrote: How about a ... thanks Tony for walking out on us half-way through a premiership tilt ... cheers!!
Good call.

Just maybe he has very serious issues in his personal life. No lets just judge from afar.

Wow.

Will be interesting (and quote possibly in the bad sense of the word) to see how the Saints deal with this.

As time goes on, I'm more and more convinced that your assistant coaches are one of the most critical parts to implementing a coaches gameplan.

I've come to that conclusion in no small part due to the on field impact when Elshaug took over from Rock.

Another area it will amost certainly impact is players like Geary, McQualter, (would have impacted) Armitage... Elshaug IIRC managed the rotations did he not?

Quixote wrote:
Good call.

Just maybe he has very serious issues in his personal life. No lets just judge from afar.
P66....you should know by now that everyone on here knows better!

Footy is bigger than anyone's health. Anyone's personal problems. Family issues.

Get your priorities right.

:stinger: :stinger: ffs

In my experience, there is usually a combination of home and work factors at play when somebody walks out in the middle of a job like Elshaugh just has done.

So I find it had to believe that his decision will be "purely" for personal reasons. But what's the point of speculating on the basis of zero information? Assistant coaches come and go, it's not that big a deal.

Rumour has it his replacement will be chosen from the ranks of Saintsational.

One of you nuffy armchair coaches dreams are about to come true!

You always knew this day would come....

meher baba wrote:In my experience, there is usually a combination of home and work factors at play when somebody walks out in the middle of a job like Elshaugh just has done.

So I find it had to believe that his decision will be "purely" for personal reasons. But what's the point of speculating on the basis of zero information? Assistant coaches come and go, it's not that big a deal.
So would him being diagnosed with something life threatening change your theory? Or like when James Clement walked away due to his wife's illness?

It happens.

markp wrote:Rumour has it his replacement will be chosen from the ranks of Saintsational.

Can we still go to the bar at half time? :)

Squizzy makes an interesting point on BF:
Someone will probably be able to advise what he brings to the table anyway (as opposed to say a Brian Royal). Players like Armitage, Steven, Geary, Eddy and Heyne have not been able to have the sort of impact some of us expected when they have broken into the team (and they are better than that).

TE has been around footy clubs for more than thirty years. He's been in coaching, for what, more than twenty of them?

I just sense it was perhaps a time for fresh air. And TE might be a casualty (mates or no mates) in Lyon's cold, determined and at times ruthless pursuit of a Flag.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

markp wrote:Rumour has it his replacement will be chosen from the ranks of Saintsational.

Can we still go to the bar at half time? :)
Only if you take your players with you.... do they still serve mids?? :wink:

gooner

I happen to know that there a some serious family reasons why he has left. I won't go into them here. The reason I posted this was to assure that it was certainly not a falling out with Ross or players. As for leaving us midway through a season well sometimes family is more important.

"The humble improve" Wynton Marsalis

Hmmmmmmm, I am not a fan of players retiring mid season or coaches for that matter either. If he or his family have a servious illness fair enough. Just want some stability, to much to deal with this year, its not good. Poor Ross will have no hair by the end of the year.

gooner wrote:I happen to know that there a some serious family reasons why he has left. I won't go into them here. The reason I posted this was to assure that it was certainly not a falling out with Ross or players. As for leaving us midway through a season well sometimes family is more important.
Thanks for that. All the best to TE and co.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

gooner wrote:I happen to know that there a some serious family reasons why he has left. I won't go into them here. The reason I posted this was to assure that it was certainly not a falling out with Ross or players. As for leaving us midway through a season well sometimes family is more important.
If thats true then our wishes go to Tony and his family. Will be a test for the coaching group but I back them and royal to step up.

I'm happy to say that I will be replacing T.E. My first order of business is "release BJ"

na exa

....... when ya gotta go, ya gotta go!
best of luck to everyone concerned.

go us.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

SENsaintsational wrote:
So would him being diagnosed with something life threatening change your theory? Or like when James Clement walked away due to his wife's illness?

It happens.
If I am reading between the lines of your post correctly our thoughts and prayers are with him and his family !!