Akermanis

millarsaint wrote:Acker's a pratt and made his own bed.
I'm glad we don't have any attention seeking pratts like that in our team. Only problem now is we'll have to put up with more of the homophobe in the media.
You're not my pal if you use a media position to have a crack at St.Kilda players. No way.

plus one...

gringo wrote:If you had Aker working in your business you would be really pissed off if he was constantly speaking his mind in a public forum. I like the fact that the guy stirs the pot but he could have waited until he was out in the media and not an AFL footballer.
He's paid more as a media personality in 2010 than as a Bulldog, where he offered them a minimum wage deal so he could take one more tilt at another flag. I've no doubt some of the kids at the Dogs thought it reasonable to ask him to give up one for the other, but it's naive.

I've found the whole Aker-bulldogs thing (going right back the the handstand) to be somewhat cringe worthy... did they really think Aker was going to turn into mr. good-clubman? as good as he's been, this isn't Chris Judd, premiership Captain, this is Jason Akermanis, premiership headcase.

Their handling of these minidramas apes the Cats with Stokes and Johnson, but where the Cats come off as a strong group which knows where it's heading and how to put the group ahead of the individual, the Dogs come off as being threatened by Aker.

It's not necessarily the wrong move - but unlike another suspension (which would have told Aker they're serious) or even burying him in the V (which may have shamed him eventually), they've done something they cannot take back. If it doesn't have the desired effect, they'll have muddied the final year of one of a decorated career for nothing.

i see the future........

sammys handball on sundays
and
akers mailbag on thursdays

SinCitySaint

The big problem I see for the doggies is that by sacking him they have given him Carte Blanche to say what he wants in the press. While he was a player he would not have said anything overtly detrimental to the club. None of the articles up to now were all that bad, a little illadvised perhaps but nothing directly targetted at the club. That restriction is now lifted and as long as it is written as opinion he can say whatever he likes.

saintspremiers wrote:I feel sorry for Akker.

He would not have got sacked from Brisbane had he played his career 10 years earlier.

He is a victim of the media power in football, nothing more, nothing less.

His fault was not being able to adjust to censorship like most players have.

Akker comes across as a good, honest person.

He is not a drunkard, not a thug, nor a woman basher.

He also appears from reports to be a decent father also.

A quality person, a brilliant footballer, let's never forget these things about him.

All the power to Akker in his media career, it should be a ripper!
Nup. He's a flea on the arse of the lowest echelon of popular media who believes he has something relevant to say simply because it's often contrary to what he perceives most to agree with.

Football is a team sport. Team players live longest. Individualistic publicity sluts get what they deserve - fat donuts...

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Thinline wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:I feel sorry for Akker.

He would not have got sacked from Brisbane had he played his career 10 years earlier.

He is a victim of the media power in football, nothing more, nothing less.

His fault was not being able to adjust to censorship like most players have.

Akker comes across as a good, honest person.

He is not a drunkard, not a thug, nor a woman basher.

He also appears from reports to be a decent father also.

A quality person, a brilliant footballer, let's never forget these things about him.

All the power to Akker in his media career, it should be a ripper!
Nup. He's a flea on the arse of the lowest echelon of popular media who believes he has something relevant to say simply because it's often contrary to what he perceives most to agree with.

Football is a team sport. Team players live longest. Individualistic publicity sluts get what they deserve - fat donuts...
Ummmm... yeah... listen... you might want to sit down for a sec. Remember when they told you about those fat donuts? Right after they told you life was fair? That it wasn't if you won or lost it was how you played the game?

Turns out they were lying - the donuts are made of freakin gold. GOLD!!!

To make things worse, it turns out that the whole "the Saints are due" thing? Conditional probablity! B-tards!

Akermanis is drinking Johnny Walker blue label from Jennifer Hawkins navel right now...

dsreg1

matrix wrote:i see the future........

sammys handball on sundays
and
akers mailbag on thursdays
I like your thinking....very clever.

rodgerfox wrote:
dals_da_bomb wrote:I agree with RF and SP.

From all accounts i have heard good things about Aker.

Any one else hear Nova100 this morning, Aker talking about a meeting the players had in reference to his book. He made it sound like they were off the mark.

It is good to not be the team in the lime light, but i dont like seeing anyone getting treated like this.
I'm not really an Aker fan, but I just get amazed by the train of thought of 'he has a big mouth' and 'he shouldn't be so honest'.

When I see that BJ or Lenny, or anyone is 'On the Couch' or whatever, I honestly think to myself 'big freakin' deal', 'so what? They're not going to say anything new, not break any news, and repeat adnauseam the same old boring shiit about structures and crap that we've heard 1000 times before'.

The AFL has sanitised the game to the point that it's just plain old boring. And the worst part is, the gullible footy fan now suddenly tows the line and gets huffy when a player or coach dare say something outside the popular standard garbage we hear all the time.
I agree RF - next time I see Dal on TFS I don't want to see stale old cliches. I want to hear him say something that will stir up the footy world, get ppl talking, put all the focus and pressure on our players. Who cares if it destabilises our team, as long as Dal get's his name up in lights.

If Aker had any brains (which he hasn't) then he would realise that once he retired he can say what he likes about anyone. People may have even respected his opinion. It's the gullible ppl like you that buy this 'Aker is just a good honest bloke speaking his mind.' He's an attention seeking fool, who became redundant the moment he lost form. What's worse (for him) is that he will be a 2 year wonder in the media and, similar to GT, ppl will eventually lose interest in what he's got to say.

Akermanis was requested many times to adhere to the player code of behaviour. By coaches, captains, players, welfare officers, administrators, and managers. Verbally and in writing. At two clubs. Over many years. And he always decided that everybody else was too stupid to be right.

And his latest quote in the Herald "I’ve gotten punished for something I haven’t even done yet" shows his inability to connect with reality.

I have no sympathy for Aker at all

The guy is an idiot who cant keep his mouth shut and its now cost him his second club and possibly his carrer.

Moods wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:

Any one else hear Nova100 this morning, Aker talking about a meeting the players had in reference to his book. He made it sound like they were off the mark.

It is good to not be the team in the lime light, but i dont like seeing anyone getting treated like this.
I'm not really an Aker fan, but I just get amazed by the train of thought of 'he has a big mouth' and 'he shouldn't be so honest'.

When I see that BJ or Lenny, or anyone is 'On the Couch' or whatever, I honestly think to myself 'big freakin' deal', 'so what? They're not going to say anything new, not break any news, and repeat adnauseam the same old boring shiit about structures and crap that we've heard 1000 times before'.

The AFL has sanitised the game to the point that it's just plain old boring. And the worst part is, the gullible footy fan now suddenly tows the line and gets huffy when a player or coach dare say something outside the popular standard garbage we hear all the time.
I agree RF - next time I see Dal on TFS I don't want to see stale old cliches. I want to hear him say something that will stir up the footy world, get ppl talking, put all the focus and pressure on our players. Who cares if it destabilises our team, as long as Dal get's his name up in lights.
I couldn't give a shiit was Dal says. I don't pay attention to AFL media. It's the most boring thing in the world.

This concept of being honest 'putting pressure' on the players and 'destabilising the group' is rubbish. Do you think hypothetically, Dal saying something honest on the The Footy Show would be worse than a couple of players bed hopping and getting accused of rape?

You've got to be kidding me. This bullshiit these days about people keep their mouths shut is just ridiculous.
Anytime anyone speaks openly and dares say something out of sync with the popular view, there is outrage.

Yet guys deal drugs, get themselves into precarious situations with young women resulting in sexual assault allegations, take drugs, bash people at clubs - and supporters defend this stuff. But don't dare go on radio and be honest!! Oh no, that's going destabilise the club!!!

I don't like Akermanis. I think he's a w*nker.

But he comes from a mindset of professional success under a guy like Leigh Matthews, who didn't associate or socialise with his teammates when he played. He was a professional footballer who played football for his team to the best of his ability.
What he did outside of the field, was his business and not the concern of his work colleagues.

That's the way Akermanis sees it too.

The Bulldogs, like most clubs these days, believe that everyone must be like brothers off-field and be a tight knit unit on and off the field to be successful on it.
Akermanis disagrees.

In this case, that's the Bulldogs prerogative and they are within their rights to tell anyone who won't conform to this to leave.

Akermanis believes that as long as he conforms on the field and helps win matches, he's doing what he's paid for.

So really, I agree with Akermanis, but I also agree with the Bulldogs decision to give him the arrse for not buying into what they were trying to create.

Moods wrote: If Aker had any brains (which he hasn't) then he would realise that once he retired he can say what he likes about anyone. People may have even respected his opinion. It's the gullible ppl like you that buy this 'Aker is just a good honest bloke speaking his mind.' He's an attention seeking fool, who became redundant the moment he lost form. What's worse (for him) is that he will be a 2 year wonder in the media and, similar to GT, ppl will eventually lose interest in what he's got to say.
You honestly cannot be that naive?

People losing interest in GT? Where have you been for the past 4 years? There's a thread on here everyday about him. There's newspaper columns dedicated to him.

The same will go for Akermanis. He has the score on the board in a footy sense, and isn't afraid of upsetting anyone. That's a recipe for media success. Whether people like him or not, people will react to what he says - and that's what sells papers.

Akermanis is drinking Johnny Walker blue label from Jennifer Hawkins navel right now...
Link??

InkerSaint

rodgerfox wrote:The Bulldogs, like most clubs these days, believe that everyone must be like brothers off-field and be a tight knit unit on and off the field to be successful on it.
Akermanis disagrees.

In this case, that's the Bulldogs prerogative and they are within their rights to tell anyone who won't conform to this to leave.

Akermanis believes that as long as he conforms on the field and helps win matches, he's doing what he's paid for.

So really, I agree with Akermanis, but I also agree with the Bulldogs decision to give him the arrse for not buying into what they were trying to create.
Except that the Bulldogs are trying to espouse Leading Teams philosophy, yet they can't bring themselves to be honest in public about why they sacked him, or how they brought about the decision. Brad Johnson led the stitch-up, smiling assassin indeed. They took a hypothetical question and framed the answers as responses to a real situation.

They should never have involved the playing group in that bit of skullduggery, they should never have publicised it, and Campbell Rose should never have appeared on The Footy Show last night because at the end of the day he couldn't walk the walk.

The only person who appears to embody Leading Teams philosophy in this scenario is Jason Akermanis. And that's a disaster for the Bulldogs.

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."

If the Dogs were unsure about whether they had made the the correct decision or not. I think Akers footy show performance would have them vindicated. He is as I said before, a termite eating away the fabric of the organisation. He seems to have not heard the message, just keeps swiping his teammates. He says they won't go so well without him, then shows Rose the texts from his friends at the club. I think those guys that texted Aker would be wishing they had kept quiet. He is even more toxic now he has left the club though.

The equation is simple... Aker's employer decided that what he can do with is feet is no longer greater than what he does with his mouth.

Imagine if he'd been at the Saints over the last year, with all our off-field issues.

He made his bed, now he can go **** himself in it.

rodgerfox wrote:
Moods wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:

I couldn't give a shiit was Dal says. I don't pay attention to AFL media. It's the most boring thing in the world.

This concept of being honest 'putting pressure' on the players and 'destabilising the group' is rubbish. Do you think hypothetically, Dal saying something honest on the The Footy Show would be worse than a couple of players bed hopping and getting accused of rape?

You've got to be kidding me. This bullshiit these days about people keep their mouths shut is just ridiculous.
Anytime anyone speaks openly and dares say something out of sync with the popular view, there is outrage.

Yet guys deal drugs, get themselves into precarious situations with young women resulting in sexual assault allegations, take drugs, bash people at clubs - and supporters defend this stuff. But don't dare go on radio and be honest!! Oh no, that's going destabilise the club!!!

But he comes from a mindset of professional success under a guy like Leigh Matthews, who didn't associate or socialise with his teammates when he played. He was a professional footballer who played football for his team to the best of his ability.
What he did outside of the field, was his business and not the concern of his work colleagues.

The Bulldogs, like most clubs these days, believe that everyone must be like brothers off-field and be a tight knit unit on and off the field to be successful on it.
Akermanis disagrees.

Moods wrote: If Aker had any brains (which he hasn't) then he would realise that once he retired he can say what he likes about anyone. People may have even respected his opinion. It's the gullible ppl like you that buy this 'Aker is just a good honest bloke speaking his mind.' He's an attention seeking fool, who became redundant the moment he lost form. What's worse (for him) is that he will be a 2 year wonder in the media and, similar to GT, ppl will eventually lose interest in what he's got to say.

People losing interest in GT? Where have you been for the past 4 years? There's a thread on here everyday about him. There's newspaper columns dedicated to him.

The same will go for Akermanis. He has the score on the board in a footy sense, and isn't afraid of upsetting anyone. That's a recipe for media success. Whether people like him or not, people will react to what he says - and that's what sells papers.
You are delusional Rodg. You think that GT is respected in media circles? You really think the broader public want to hear from him? He's great media fodder. A 10 sec grab to discuss, nothing more. Where's all his media gigs? He was sacked from The Age b/c he couldn't keep his mouth shut. He was sacked from SEN for the same reason. Some would say he was gagged - the same ppl who believe the 'I'm only speaking my mind' bulldust that Aker is feeding us.

Don't get me wrong - I love reading/hearing forthright views, whether I agree or disagree with them. I also know from playing team sport that you can't have one individual saying and doing whatever he likes. You reckon Aker was all for the team? You reckon when when he divulged lappin's injury to the world just prior to the 03 GF that the players cared? They wre ropeable, and I heard from a good source that if the lions had of lost that game he was in real danger of being assaulted afterwards. Wouldn't it have been great if Aker played for us and divulged to the world the Thursday prior to the GF that Roo had torn his abductor muscle? That wouldn't have put any pressure on the team or on Roo would it?

I will almost guarantee that within 2 yrs Aker will be a side show on some radio station. He will never be a heavy weight media personality. He's a Shane Crawford amusement show - that's all. Your opinions need to carry weight for people to really respect them - LIKE leigh matthews. And BTW comparing AKER to Lethal is one of the funniest comparisons I've ever read. Lethal has been quoted numerous times about the best lesson John Kennedy taught him. Player is subservient to team needs. Lethal may not have been the biggest socialiser, but he would NEVER go outside the team ethos. Lethal coached Aker for many years - pretty sure that if he believed that all Aker did wrong was not conform with team mates off field, that Lethal of all people would more than tolerate that. My brother who lives in Qld has told me he has heard Lethal speak numerous times at sporting nights - and he NEVER said anything complimentary about Aker. In fact I have barely heard one person who is respected in footy come out and support Aker's behaviour...

markp wrote:
Imagine if he'd been at the Saints over the last year, with all our off-field issues.
Christ, I'd much prefer Akermanis' 'off-field issues' compared to ours!

Really, what are his issues? He wrote an article about gays, he called a ressies player a 'dribbler', he said he was in the Bulldogs best 5 players.

Surely they can't be referred to as 'off-field issues', compared to what happens at other clubs - Saints included.

The Dogs have improved since he's been at the club.

Anyway, it's a Bulldogs issue. Good luck to them both.

rodgerfox wrote:
markp wrote:
Christ, I'd much prefer Akermanis' 'off-field issues' compared to ours!

Really, what are his issues? He wrote an article about gays, he called a ressies player a 'dribbler', he said he was in the Bulldogs best 5 players.

Surely they can't be referred to as 'off-field issues', compared to what happens at other clubs - Saints included.

The Dogs have improved since he's been at the club.

Anyway, it's a Bulldogs issue. Good luck to them both.
My point is he regularly discloses and discusses in-house issues, and if he'd been at our club through our many recent travails... it would not have helped, to say the least.

A pr!ck like that could pop the St Kilda bubble!
Last edited by markp on Fri 23 Jul 2010 12:49pm, edited 1 time in total.

I reckon what markp was inferring (and I don't mean to speak for him) is that with all our off field issues Aker would have had a field day commenting on everything and quite possibly divulging information that the public have no right to, but may find titillating all the same. He would have made things 10 times worse. That bubble that the players refer to all the time would have been burst in 10 sec flat with Aker there.

Link??
To watch Aker sip?

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
bob__71

rodgerfox wrote:
Moods wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:

Akermanis disagrees.

Just because the same people in here never stop discussing GT doesnt mean that people out in the real world give a toss what he thinks. Most common thing I hear about GT in the real world is people wishing he would shut up....much like the blonde weasle....a much fairer comparison than comparing him to Leathal

Moods wrote: You are delusional Rodg. You think that GT is respected in media circles?
No. I don't think that at all.

To be honest, I tihnk the word 'respect' and 'media circles' don't go together at all.

Anyone who respects a membe of the footy media is a deadset idiot.
Moods wrote:You really think the broader public want to hear from him?
You're being naive.

The media isn't about respect and people wanting to hear from you. The media is about selling papers and/or ads.

Moods wrote: I will almost guarantee that within 2 yrs Aker will be a side show on some radio station. He will never be a heavy weight media personality.
I'm not sure of the relevance of that. I couldn't care less about Akermanis and his career.

My only issue the public outrage that follows a footy person daring to say 'controversial' or 'unpopular'.

It's just ridiculous.

bob__71

Its almost as rediculose as someone getting all fired up about other people getting fired up.

Aker doesnt like it when people say controversial things about him. He didnt like the "controversy" of him being unwanted at the club being made public.

Bit like GT or Rodger Fox....people who like being the ones with all the great "controversy" or "truth" but get all sooky when people have a go back again.

rodgerfox wrote:
Moods wrote: You are delusional Rodg. You think that GT is respected in media circles?
No. I don't think that at all.

To be honest, I tihnk the word 'respect' and 'media circles' don't go together at all.

Anyone who respects a membe of the footy media is a deadset idiot.
Moods wrote:You really think the broader public want to hear from him?
You're being naive.

The media isn't about respect and people wanting to hear from you. The media is about selling papers and/or ads.

Moods wrote: I will almost guarantee that within 2 yrs Aker will be a side show on some radio station. He will never be a heavy weight media personality.
I'm not sure of the relevance of that. I couldn't care less about Akermanis and his career.

My only issue the public outrage that follows a footy person daring to say 'controversial' or 'unpopular'.
It's just ridiculous.
I see where you're coming from now but I don't agree with you. The footy industry only get their feathers ruffled if it's one of their own making the controversial remarks. Remarks made by Kevin Sheedy were given the cold shoulder as well. Bagging people in your industry is fraught with danger, and I don't think it's the public that are outraged by Akas comments. Most people actually support Aka or take the view that he's entitled to speak his mind and have turned Brad Johnson into the bad guy. People within the industry are the ones who are turning on Aka. Sam Newman (who I also reckon is a twit) has been making controversial comments for years. He's as popular as ever.

And why are you an idiot if you respect someone in the footy media? I respect Leigh Matthews point of view, in fact there are quite a few ex footballers in the media whose opinion I respect. I don't always agree, but I respect their point of view.

If Aker had been at the club when we had our off field issues little bits of "leaked" comments about how the players were coping who was doing what to hide the fiasco from the media could have further damaged our already suffering brand. He is not a clubman just a selfish loudmouth, his media career was more important than footy.

I like the fact that it will get the conspiracies going again, channel 9 gets little bits of Aker comments out, pretends to back his position. Gets him on the footy show asks him about the Bulldogs players, disunifies them coming into finals. Watch out Cats your next. Perhaps little leaks about Ablett flying to queensland a little too often.