Steven SALOPEK on the market...

David PARKIN on Fox League teams was confident Steven SALOPEK is back in Melbourne out of contract and not returning to Port. He was a mad Saints supporter as a kid and IMO could be the in and under midfielder support we need.

Hawthorn will have their hooks into him but I reckon he is worth a look !

Thoughts....

If we can get him for our second round pick, then yep absolutely.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't he as good as at the Saints in the lead up to draft week, then Blues got caught cheating which gave us pick 1 with which we got Goddard. That was that year wasn't it?

I'd be happy with Salopek on our list for sure.

Has bad shoulders and hasnt really come on. Probably havent got the money in the salary cap anyway.

footynut

Yes, ended up with Goddard instead. However couldnt we have also selected did Salopek at pick 6 but we decided to trade it to Port as part of the Brooks deal???

He would be great on our list, as long as we dont have to give up to much for him!!

footynut wrote:Yes, ended up with Goddard instead. However couldnt we have also selected did Salopek at pick 6 but we decided to trade it to Port as part of the Brooks deal???

He would be great on our list, as long as we dont have to give up to much for him!!
Oh jeez thats right, haha, Barry Brooks, oh god wasn't that worth the pick 6?! Dodgy shoulders are an issue you are right P66, but then again, didn't that stop us from getting Judd? :wink:

we would be interested......he might not be...

Could have had him in 02 draft ahead of Barry Brooks. Salopek was drafted pick 6 which we got as part of the Peter Everret deal. We gave pick six and pick 31 to Port for Brooks who then used it to get Salopek. Doh.....oh well....

Milan Faletic

IMHO perfect recycled Ross Lyon recruit.

He's not free on Sunday arvo is he ? :shock:

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

I rate him highly, but i wouldnt say he is a tough, hard at it midfielder.

His skills are probably his strength, also his leadership ability, but i dont look at him as being in and under

If we could get him somehow i would be over the moon... He was a Saints fan, but like anything, his faviourite team as we speak would be Port

Fevola was a saints fan as a kid and we know where he ended up. The team has to want him, the team he plays for has to want to accept an offer for him and the player has to want to go...

Although Lenny is our only really hard midfiedler with Jones, Salopek could be a handy addition to add depth to it... Hayes wont be around forever

Carn Saints
Beej

Had a decent spell of games a couple of years back but I can't say I'm a fan.

Not sure what he actually does. Tidy player, can use a footy decent enough but he just seems to coast through games without ever having a real impact.

widereceiver

Injury-prone.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

plugger66 wrote:Has bad shoulders and hasnt really come on. Probably havent got the money in the salary cap anyway.
excuse my ignorance but i though we would have a fair bit of cap space spare ?

widereceiver wrote:Injury-prone.
We'll definitely pick him.

#1GILL

Assuming we finish top 4, our first pick would be in the 20's. We would need to give this and probably a player as well.

I think we should go for it though. A fresh start could have him living up to his potential.

#1GILL wrote:Assuming we finish top 4, our first pick would be in the 20's. We would need to give this and probably a player as well.

I think we should go for it though. A fresh start could have him living up to his potential.
I'd like to get him, but after last year, do we really want to give up our first draft pick for a recycled?

#1GILL

St Ick wrote:
#1GILL wrote:Assuming we finish top 4, our first pick would be in the 20's. We would need to give this and probably a player as well.

I'd like to get him, but after last year, do we really want to give up our first draft pick for a recycled?
Maybe not. It depends if the coaching staff believe we are anaeriois contender next year. If we are, then go for it, if they think we might just slip behind then draft picks are the only way to go.

anaeriois contender?

Beej

that is the worst attempt at spelling the word "serious" I've ever seen in my life.

Bernard Shakey wrote:anaeriois contender?
?? *shrugs* beats me, maybe 'a serious'? :lol:

Batnoe wrote:I rate him highly, but i wouldnt say he is a tough, hard at it midfielder.

His skills are probably his strength, also his leadership ability, but i dont look at him as being in and under

If we could get him somehow i would be over the moon... He was a Saints fan, but like anything, his faviourite team as we speak would be Port
. The team has to want him, the team he plays for has to want to accept an offer for him and the player has to want to go...

he's gone from sth australia already and he ain't returning there.....

St Ick wrote:

Yes, the AFL has guaranteed that we wont get anything out of this year's draft.

Probably just out-sprints Stephen Powell in a foot race.

SaintPav wrote:Could have had him in 02 draft ahead of Barry Brooks. Salopek was drafted pick 6 which we got as part of the Peter Everret deal. We gave pick six and pick 31 to Port for Brooks who then used it to get Salopek. Doh.....oh well....
I forgot we also squandered pick 31 also.

Geez, Brooks must have been a superb player to be worth picks 6 and 31 in an uncompromised draft. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: