OFFICIAL TEAMS

St Ick wrote:
noob wrote:so what that dempster got 5 disposals.. its his job to defend isnt it?
Oh, another one who thinks it's okay for defenders to have no possessions. This is not the '60s, '70s, '80s, '90s or even the noughties, this is 2010 and you are expected to get your hands on the ball and have an impact on the game.
Yes, but a lot of defenders who get big numbers simply junk it up down back. Doesn't necessarily mean they have played better or worse than a player who has played a more defensive role in stopping an important player.

A quality quote that I have used my whole adult life is this one....

"Statistics are like a bikini, what they reveal is suggestive - but its what they conceal that is vital."
A quality quote? Says more about you than anything else.

I reckon this weekend's team has "Team v Hawthorn in Launceston" written all over it.

Hopefully so.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

And by the way I would love to know the EXACT percentage of Saintsationalists who have actually witnessed Al Smith play a game of football.

I say <1% ...

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Hey look! Synchronised angry Ross!

Sorry...

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Wed 20 Oct 2010 3:29am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.

Thinline wrote:And by the way I would love to know the EXACT percentage of Saintsationalists who have actually witnessed Al Smith play a game of football.

I say <1% ...

I have, but I'd say the percentage is much less than 1%.

Bernard Shakey wrote: A quality quote? Says more about you than anything else.
Oh, so its personal, right, if you can't see the bigger picture, maybe it went over your head... :roll:

St Ick wrote:
Oh, so its personal, right, if you can't see the bigger picture, maybe it went over your head... :roll:
Not personal. All I'm saying is bugger all on here have ever seen him play.
I have and think he deserves a game right now. So what are you saying?

saintnick12

Thinline wrote:And by the way I would love to know the EXACT percentage of Saintsationalists who have actually witnessed Al Smith play a game of football.

I say <1% ...

I have...but only 1 I think. In the NAB. Or did he play two NAB. Haven't seen him at Sandy as with kids sports it hard enough to get to the saints every week - :wink:

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

St Ick wrote:
Not personal. All I'm saying is bugger all on here have ever seen him play.
I have and think he deserves a game right now. So what are you saying?
Sorry mate, but I wasn't referring to any specific player with my op, pretty sure we are talking two different things here. I was just saying statistics lie, sometimes a players game cant be measured on the number of kicks he got. Just think of Maxy, never got huge numbers, but was our most important defender throughout his career.

I say <1% ...

no.....he played in at least one pre season match.....

True Blue Sainter

I say <1% ...

I've seen him play in the flesh thrice!

The Saints are coming!

True Blue Sainter wrote:

I say <1% ...

I've seen him play in the flesh thrice!
Nude footy!

And I thought that Grid Iron Lingerie league was something...

Who is Alistair Smith?

Saint4Eva

plugger66 wrote:Who is Alistair Smith?
wasnt he the full forward for the lions a few years ago???

Saint4Eva wrote:
Is he finally back from suspension from that GF?

Saint4Eva

Saint4Eva wrote:
Is he finally back from suspension from that GF?
yeah his suspension just ran out so he's clear to play

crap. he played three nab cup games, and starred in the first against collingwood. most on here would have seen one or more of those games.

NAB Cup? Come on...Even Gaertner and Cahill (I think) had a run in that!!!

Granted I could have been clearer. I actually meant at Sandy where he's played pretty much all his preparatory footy.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:when i see the names "eddy", "mcqualter" and "dempster" in a starting 22 - i know i'm not looking at a top 4 side.

we need to improve in the next 4 weeks.
Good call, Con.
agreed

flipping eddy
ffs
dempster too

and steven gets the chop
gears too :?

bernard you have no idea. Thats like saying a defender has done a good job by getting 20+ disposals but has let in 10 goals. get a clue

matrix wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:when i see the names "eddy", "mcqualter" and "dempster" in a starting 22 - i know i'm not looking at a top 4 side.

Good call, Con.
agreed

flipping eddy
ffs
dempster too

and steven gets the chop
Did Steven get the chop, or having a rest....like all the other newbies in the AFL this year?

Gears, it's tough, I love the kid....but I am pretty sure he sat out last time because he is asked to apply defensive pressure, and against Essendon he didn't even lay a tackle...

I'd hope to see him a late change back in, I'm sure he would of got the message :)

OneEyedSainter77

Just quietly, I have a suspicion we are going to get reamed this weekend.

Just quietly.

matrix wrote:

Good call, Con.
agreed

flipping eddy
ffs
dempster too

and steven gets the chop
Did Steven get the chop, or having a rest....like all the other newbies in the AFL this year?

Gears, it's tough, I love the kid....but I am pretty sure he sat out last time because he is asked to apply defensive pressure, and against Essendon he didn't even lay a tackle...

I'd hope to see him a late change back in, I'm sure he would of got the message :)
he'll be back.

I say <1% ...

does that include pre-season games :wink: