week 1 finals

wasaintsfan

week 1 finals

any idea what day we will be playing geelong on??? interested in flying over and watching it

stkildathunda

Friday or Saturday Night you would have to think

mohannair

Re: week 1 finals

wasaintsfan wrote:any idea what day we will be playing geelong on??? interested in flying over and watching it
My guess would be a Sat. night

Saturday arvo. Surely they will want the pies Saturday night. Actually with North losing today we may be Sunday.
Last edited by plugger66 on Sun 15 Aug 2010 8:56pm, edited 1 time in total.

#1GILL

mohannair wrote:
wasaintsfan wrote:any idea what day we will be playing geelong on??? interested in flying over and watching it
Correct. Collingwood are entitled to the Friday night game.

I thought the top team was entitled to the longest rest, therefore Collingwood on Sunday.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

mohannair wrote:
8-)

We'll be Friday night or Saturday Arvo. Mark my words

dcstkfc wrote:We'll be Friday night or Saturday Arvo. Mark my words
Or Saturday night. Your words have been marked.

Seeing as we play Adelaide interstate on a Saturday, I dont think we 'll be playing before Sat night at earliest

Cats play early Sat afternoon, Pies play normal Sat afternoon, Saints play late Sat afternoon and Dogs play Sat night.

Logically you would play Geelong v St Kilda Sat night and Collingwood v Bulldogs on Sunday afternoon.

However, that creates problems for the following week when the loser of the Pies and Dogs may have to face a 5-day break.

Therefore, I would imagine that the Saints v Cats would be Sat afternoon, and the Pies v Dogs Sat night ... with the other finals Fri night and Sun arvo.

Legendary wrote:Cats play early Sat afternoon, Pies play normal Sat afternoon, Saints play late Sat afternoon and Dogs play Sat night.

Logically you would play Geelong v St Kilda Sat night and Collingwood v Bulldogs on Sunday afternoon.

However, that creates problems for the following week when the loser of the Pies and Dogs may have to face a 5-day break.

Therefore, I would imagine that the Saints v Cats would be Sat afternoon, and the Pies v Dogs Sat night ... with the other finals Fri night and Sun arvo.
They cant do that.

Seeing as Saints v Cats and Filth v Buldogs are both in Melbourne, they will not be held on the same day

They cant do that.
Suppose it's too close together to have both at the MCG?

Saints v Cats on Friday night and Pies v Dogs on Sat night then I reckon.

No way St Kilda will get a Friday night agme after playing interstate on the Sat before

St Kilda v Geelong will be on a Saturday, probably night.

No way would they give both the Pies and Dogs a 6-day break by playing them on Friday night?

Moorabbin Saints

It will be interesting to see what they do.

A MCG game has to be on Friday Night, Saturday and on Sunday.

If the ladder stays as is:

Friday Night: Geelong v St Kilda (MCG)
Saturday Afternoon: Fremantle v Hawthorn (Subiaco)
Saturday Night: Collingwood v Western Bulldogs (MCG)
Sunday Afternoon: Carlton v Sydney (MCG)

The Subiaco game will have to be on Saturday. Collingwood may get the Sunday game as a result of finishing first. Also Carlton are coming back from Perth the week before.

'Because we've got unfinished business'
....................Official Saintsational Banner Designer....................

Moorabbin Saints wrote:It will be interesting to see what they do.

A MCG game has to be on Friday Night, Saturday and on Sunday.

If the ladder stays as is:

Friday Night: Geelong v St Kilda (MCG)
Saturday Afternoon: Fremantle v Hawthorn (Subiaco)
Saturday Night: Collingwood v Western Bulldogs (MCG)
Sunday Afternoon: Carlton v Sydney (MCG)

The Subiaco game will have to be on Saturday. Collingwood may get the Sunday game as a result of finishing first. Also Carlton are coming back from Perth the week before.
Pies will get the 8-day break to the Sunday

I'd say switch Carlton v Sydney and Collingwood v Dogs and that could easily be it

must remember theyare most likely to play the perth game at night and probably Sydney game also if one.

Perhaps as they stand

Carl v Syd - Sat night game better for ratings and if in Sydney also
Freo v Haw Friday night footy - No competion with Wafl and time difference lets 7 run it live no BHG problems
Geel v Stk - Sat afternoon as poor crowd against local footy if day game
Coll v WB - Sunday - biggest break for finishing 1st as per last 2 years

Liam_G

Obviously based on my final ladder predictions...

Friday Night: Carlton vs Sydney/Hawthorn (MCG)
Saturday Arvo: Geelong vs St.Kilda (MCG)
Saturday Night: Fremantle vs Sydney/Hawthorn (Subiaco)
Sunday: Collingwood vs Bulldogs (MCG)

older saint wrote:must remember theyare most likely to play the perth game at night and probably Sydney game also if one.

Perhaps as they stand

Freo v Haw Friday night footy - No competion with Wafl and time difference lets 7 run it live no BHG problems
sounds sensible to me.

After the completion of Round 21, there may only be a handful of combinations available.

The AFL should be able to outline then when the games will be played.

It annoys me they don't get their act together a bit earlier - I may have to organise babysitting to go the footy in the first week of finals!

older saint wrote:must remember theyare most likely to play the perth game at night and probably Sydney game also if one.

Perhaps as they stand

sounds sensible to me.

After the completion of Round 21, there may only be a handful of combinations available.

The AFL should be able to outline then when the games will be played.

It annoys me they don't get their act together a bit earlier - I may have to organise babysitting to go the footy in the first week of finals!
Another thing to be taken into account is the match-ups for week 2.

e.g. they'd try and avoid having 5v8 on the Friday and 1v4 on the Sunday as this would give the lower ranked team a 2 day break for week 2.

This actually happened last week and was widely criticised.

ThePunter

It will be

Geelong v St Kilda Friday night
MCG Elimination Final Saturday afternoon
Interstate/Etihad Elimination Final Saturday night
Collingwood Qualifying Final Sunday afternoon

If we are playing Friday night after a six day break from playing Adelaide at AAMI the previous Saturday we should rest a few for the last game and give a few hopefuls a run.

The result won't mean anything.. will still finish 3 rd unless we lose to Richmond and the Crows and the dogs win their last 2..

Then we would play the Pies...so nothing to lose either way.

This thread is getting me fired up, bring it on! 8-)