Chivers our first pick, Miles second .. McQualter third

Oh When the Saints wrote:
vacuous space wrote: I'm not a fan of drafting pockets and wingmen.
How do you suppose we acquire them then?
MSG and SaintBot have covered the topic beautifully. The only thing I would add is that a lot of the outside players in the AFL weren't drafted to play that game. Melbourne were hoping for a much more rounded player when they selected Travis Johnstone. Same for North Melbourne with Daniel Wells. Most teams that take specialist small forwards hope they'll eventually move onball. Very few of them actually do. For every Gary Ablett or Nathan Brown there's an Ashley Sampi or a Cam Faulkner. There's a whole bunch of guys in between, like Daniel Motlop, who have had decent careers up forward but never really starred there and probably won't ever shift to the middle.

I think we're better off sticking with drafting skilled inside mids and using them wherever they're needed. Guys like Xavier Clarke and Jason Gram weren't drafted to play an exclusively outside role, but that's how things have panned out. Joey started his AFL career on the outside and has grabbed his opportunity to play a more inside role. I expect Schneider to play a similar role to Joey next year. I'm not saying we should never take an outside guy. Losing the skills of Heath Black and Aussie Jones has really hurt our forwards IMO. But I don't think Connors will ever be that type of player though on account of his tiny body. I'd have much rather have had someone like Joseph who has at least handled onball duties as a junior.

Jaz

Sorry wrong post
Last edited by Jaz on Tue 11 Dec 2007 11:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

I did not realise that skilled inside mids were in such overwhelming supply?????????

Jaz

saintsRrising wrote:I did not realise that skilled inside mids were in such overwhelming supply?????????
unskilled inside mids are,

but Skilled inside mids arn't

SaintBot

saintsRrising wrote:I did not realise that skilled inside mids were in such overwhelming supply?????????
at this stage

aaron joseph > eljay connors
skillful insider > skillful outsider

hopefully Eljay can shock us but to me at the moment it looks to be another hit and miss pick

Saints Premiers 2006 wrote:
LTN16 wrote:Well here's some good positive comments from homework
homework wrote:Why didn't we select David Gourdis with any of our National draft picks (70)
homework wrote:So we could have selected Gourdis or Joseph?
homework wrote:Why couldn't we select them?
homework wrote:Have a sook geez why would I read anything that idiot has to say
:roll: :roll:
ltn16 dont bother

its a waste of time

and if you keep on shooting him down a few of the more 'mature' posters on here will have a go at you for doing so
I have a right to say my own comments or ask questions I don't see how i'm doing wrong there I'm getting better at spelling, being nice- but its hard when you got Sp06 and LTN16 on your back all the time- geez give me a break

SaintBot

homework wrote:
homework wrote:Why didn't we select David Gourdis with any of our National draft picks (70)
ltn16 dont bother

its a waste of time

and if you keep on shooting him down a few of the more 'mature' posters on here will have a go at you for doing so
I have a right to say my own comments or ask questions I don't see how i'm doing wrong there I'm getting better at spelling, being nice- but its hard when you got Sp06 and LTN16 on your back all the time- geez give me a break
have you moved recently homework?

last time i checked you were BEST friends with Eljay Connors out in Echuca

and now suddenly your in frankston? i thought they were trying to clean up the place :wink:

SaintBot wrote:
homework wrote:
I just wrote that location for fun what should i really write harvs 350th vic or echuca?

ltn16 dont bother

its a waste of time

have you moved recently homework?

and now suddenly your in frankston? i thought they were trying to clean up the place :wink:

constant attacking of one poster will result in warnings.....give it a rest guys.

HarveysDeciple wrote:constant attacking of one poster will result in warnings.....give it a rest guys.
Thanks for that

LTN16

SaintBot wrote: have you moved recently homework?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

LTN16 wrote:

Thats not even funny ltn 16

HarveysDeciple wrote:constant attacking of one poster will result in warnings.....give it a rest guys.
What can't you read LTN16!

Dont stress homework... Im actually a big fan of yours.. your one liners are to the point and clear... unlike many others around here you always talk football... keep it up...

Cant believe how many people have written off Eljay over a handful of blokes that were overlooked by every other team in the National Draft.. give both the kids a break..

Sobraz wrote:Dont stress homework... Im actually a big fan of yours.. your one liners are to the point and clear... unlike many others around here you always talk football... keep it up...

Cant believe how many people have written off Eljay over a handful of blokes that were overlooked by every other team in the National Draft.. give both the kids a break..
Thanks I don't nead LTN 16 & SP 06 making negative comments to me 24 7 it gets really annoying

LTN16

homework wrote:
LTN16 wrote:

Thats not even funny ltn 16
homework wrote:
What can't you read LTN16!
Yes it is im aloud to laugh if I want to !!

Go on then give me a warning for laughing then... jeeez :roll: :roll:

A wise man once said: never argue with a drunk or a fool... they just bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

BallBanger

mad saint guy wrote:
Teflon wrote:Mcqualter was a wasted pick IMO - to small, slow and cant lay a tackle nor kick further than 30.....much of that aint gonna change even as back up material
Mini is one of the best tacklers at the club and I don't hink his pace is a problem. It certainly isn't a strength, but he's no slower than Dal Santo or Hayes. A 21 year old kid who wins lots of the footy, tackles like crazy and has safe (although not hugely damaging) disposal is definitely worth a spot on the rookie list.
"Mini no slower than Dal"....ffs MSG you should call yourself mad not madSaintGuy

mad saint guy wrote:
Teflon wrote:Mcqualter was a wasted pick IMO - to small, slow and cant lay a tackle nor kick further than 30.....much of that aint gonna change even as back up material
Mini is one of the best tacklers at the club and I don't hink his pace is a problem. It certainly isn't a strength, but he's no slower than Dal Santo or Hayes. A 21 year old kid who wins lots of the footy, tackles like crazy and has safe (although not hugely damaging) disposal is definitely worth a spot on the rookie list.
Ofcourse pace is a problem when lets face it you play in a side that aint inundated with it? And tell me what Mcqualter has for overcoiming a lack of pace AND THEN compare that with what Dal Santo has?????? (CLASS).

He cant kick over a jam tin, and is not a noted goal kicker. Doubts about his engine also - Kerrs small......massive engine, great penetrating kick with (and for goal) with some speed.

No we arent gonna recruit 4 Kerrs - but its no excuse to simply say "he finds the ball, has ok skills so therefore hes worth a rookie spot"...thats not adding quality depth IMO.... - Mark Mcgough found the ball better than most, won a Anzac medal...so what ? he aint no use - even as depth.

IMO if your gonna add depth players at least look to depth players that give you some sort of upside in your overall sides weaker areas - has some speed, can kick a goal etc etc - West Caost lose a Kerr, Cousin.......and now Judd - and wheel in QUALITY depth of Roza/Pridis......thats the difference...we roll out Mcqualter.

I hope the guy becomes Robert Harvey and Im not attacking him personally , I just feel the club knew his deficiencies....and IMO speed/size/engine ?/footskills arent gonna change ...so why not take a different angle with a new rookie????

SaintBot

BallBanger wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:
"Mini no slower than Dal"....ffs MSG you should call yourself mad not madSaintGuy
im willing to put a buck or two on mcqualter winning outright at any distance

dal santo is acctually no quicky...his excellent ability makes him seem quicker than he is - great evasive skills along with a cool head under pressure

mcqualter, while he is no sprint king, almost has the tank of a young robert harvey. mini also is brilliant at agility, this is why iv always held hopes for him.

not quick off the mark but can run all day - gathers the possesions, especially with confidence - excellent agility...gee sounds too similar to harvey

install that confidence back in him and prepare to be surprised

The rookie draft ticks all the boxes for me, someone with pace in miles, a backman that could play fb and a inside midfielder.

I agree with marto, we have a lovely balanced squad

SaintBot wrote:
at this stage

aaron joseph > eljay connors
skillful insider > skillful outsider

hopefully Eljay can shock us but to me at the moment it looks to be another hit and miss pick
I'll back your judgement, just harsh on eljay I reckon when he has had probably 2 pre-season training sessions in the big league.
It reaks a bit of the Brad Howard syndrome amongst fans.

I'm a big fan of the McQualter pick. A guy who is a known quantity and can play AFL if (heaven forbid) injuries strike the midfield, still has lots of untapped potential, and has just received a firecracker where the sun don't shine telling him he's gone from sure thing to slinging to his career by a thread in the space of 24 months.

This is a security pick, and at that kind of place in the rookie draft, that's fine by me. He'll know from his own experience that 12 months from now, he could be occupying the spot on the main list occupied by Clinton Jones, who took his spot by being able to get an AFL game when he couldn't. He'll also know that the game Ross Lyon has asked of him is one that Attard, who also occupies a rookie list spot, can already play.

The task before McQualter is not necessarily to dominate every VFL game he plays, but to ensure he beats his opponent week in week out. Play some Cameron Ling style footy where he looks after his own game by beating his opponent, whether that means getting 30 possessions to their 20, or 12 possessions to their 7... take up the tagger/shutdown mantle, and play it in the middle, where Attard isn't necessarily best suited. He's got the skillset, but it's very much outside the game that Thomas used to espouse, so the pressure is on him to make sure that 12 months from now he's not another washed out 1st round pick.

BallBanger

SaintBot wrote:
BallBanger wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:

dal santo is acctually no quicky...his excellent ability makes him seem quicker than he is - great evasive skills along with a cool head under pressure

mcqualter, while he is no sprint king, almost has the tank of a young robert harvey. mini also is brilliant at agility, this is why iv always held hopes for him.

not quick off the mark but can run all day - gathers the possesions, especially with confidence - excellent agility...gee sounds too similar to harvey

You just confirmed my assessment of your footy smarts

SaintBot

BallBanger wrote:
SaintBot wrote:
BallBanger wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:

You just confirmed my assessment of your footy smarts
enlighten me...