Tom Lee Traded for our pick 12

Re: Tom Lee Traded for our pick 12

Old Mate wrote: Cos he was previously listed with an AFL club (Crows). GWS have the rights to up to 10 pre-listed AFL players.
Is that the reason? Why did we get Saad and Milera then?
I think ILuvHarvey is on the money. They get access to players through zones, NT players, pre-listed etc. All kinds of strange concessions.

MCG-Unit wrote:
Cos Lee was previously listed with an AFL club (Crows). GWS have the rights to up to 10 pre-listed AFL players.

Is that the reason? Why did we get Saad and Milera then?
Looks like it's open slather for GWS pre-listing players then - seems like they have the rights to anyone not AFL listed !!

Bottomless pit, much like their (and GC) 'salary cap'
Seems like it... We gave picks to GWS for Saad and Milera now Lee.
It seems like the AFL default is - if ur not connected with a club than you are GWS property.

SaintSimmo wrote:The recruiters know what their doing....i'll leave it at that
Exactly.

And as Burt Bacharach would say:

"We've only just begun..."

70s sainter wrote:Hopefully he's our Tom Hawkins . He was close to being shown the door in 2011 and look how he turned out b& f in 2012. Some of these big forwards take a while to match it with the big boys but when they turn the corner - look out.
Yeah, but pick 12? Maybe our second round draft pick and also involving a swap of picks, maybe..
for....sake

He was not for pick 12 only

24 and 43 came with him

Tommy Lee - our new sharpshooter.

St Ick wrote:Not sure I am convinced trading 12 was smart. But if we did something like this...

24 for Jacobs or...

24 & Cripps for Stevens and Brown...then

43 for Hickey... it starts sounding great. So pick 12 & Ray for Hickey, Brown, Lee and Stevens is a lot better than pick 12 for Caddy.

Dunno, just trying to see the positive side of this trade as I'm still in a bit of shock to be honest (considering he was pick 60 & delisted & not picked up last year)...
24 for Hickey 90% likely only thing holding up that trade is the possibility of getting Caddy as part of the deal. Pick 13 & 24 for Caddy and Hickey still a strong possibility. Saints happy to part ways with draft picks to securing good 21 year old players.

HitTheBoundary wrote:Image

Tommy Lee - our new sharpshooter.
I hope he doesnt turn out to be two faced

Looking at that video he doesn't look anywhere near as tall as 194cm.

I hope he's a good'un. :)

OK so this could part one in a two part deal, like Saad and Milera...

No way of it backfiring is there?

Jacks Back wrote:Looking at that video he doesn't look anywhere near as tall as 194cm.

He plays short.

SainterK wrote:OK so this could part one in a two part deal, like Saad and Milera...

No way of it backfiring is there?
Was that a two-part deal?

Jacks Back wrote:Looking at that video he doesn't look anywhere near as tall as 194cm.

Perhaps because he is so good at ground level also - looks very similiar to GWS Jeremy Cameron to me, hopefully he does just as well !

I think the Saints have found there next generation CHF - looks impressive I can understand why they were so keen to get him before the draft.

Why are so many saying Lee too expensive ........cost pick 12 .................

Lee ..PLUS PICK 24 PLUS 43 for 12

watered down pick 12 maybe

the use of the extra picks impotant in the whole outcome though!

St Ick wrote:Not sure I am convinced trading 12 was smart. But if we did something like this...

24 for Jacobs or...

24 & Cripps for Stevens and Brown...then

43 for Hickey... it starts sounding great. So pick 12 & Ray for Hickey, Brown, Lee and Stevens is a lot better than pick 12 for Caddy.

Dunno, just trying to see the positive side of this trade as I'm still in a bit of shock to be honest (considering he was pick 60 & delisted & not picked up last year)...
24 for Hickey 90% likely only thing holding up that trade is the possibility of getting Caddy as part of the deal. Pick 13 & 24 for Caddy and Hickey still a strong possibility. Saints happy to part ways with draft picks to securing good 21 year old players.
I think 24 for Hickey or 13 & 24 for Caddy and Hickey is paying overs to be honest. If 13 & 24 were used I would want more Suns players like Toy or Mav, either way I think I am still in shock...

We need to see what happens to pick 24, before we are uup in arms about trading pick 12 for lee...
Because it is really pick 12 for Lee + Brown, or Lee + Jacobs or Lee + Hickey
+ whoever we get for 43

then, we can assess (although it may take 5 years to assess!!)

Watch his highlight VIDEO people before bagging our recuitment team. He will be an excellent pick up and chances he would have been drfated well before Selection 12 at the draft. Lets not kid ourselves the AFL clubs are finally onto the benefit of drafting quality state league players over kids. PLUS we have the other two selections to work into the Brown and Hickey deals.

Well done SAINTERS !

WinnersOnly wrote:Watch his highlight VIDEO people before bagging our recuitment team. He will be an excellent pick up and chances he would have been drfated well before Selection 12 at the draft. Lets not kid ourselves the AFL clubs are finally onto the benefit of drafting quality state league players over kids. PLUS we have the other two selections to work into the Brown and Hickey deals.

Well done SAINTERS !

I am certainly not bagging the recruiters as i know nothing of him. What I do know is highlights videos are a bit of a waste of time after all it is a highlights video. I also know one phantom draft had him 30 to rookie so so I doubt he was going before pick 12. We lost 12 picks in the draft. We will probably never know if we are in front or behind unless he is a star or a hack.

chook23 wrote:Why are so many saying Lee too expensive ........cost pick 12 .................

Lee ..PLUS PICK 24 PLUS 43 for 12

watered down pick 12 maybe

the use of the extra picks impotant in the whole outcome though!
Dont worry about it Chook - either there are more trolls on here than I thought or some just dont have the brain capacity to read a full sentence.

As I see it we have lost Goddard (an aging past his peak 27 year old - turns 28 in the middle of next season) for Tom Lee (a fast improving 21 year old KPP) + first pick in the 2nd round draft + first pick in the 3rd round draft + salary cap space/relief

So as it stands we have lost Goddard but we have Tom Lee + picks 13 (TBC), 24, 34 (both 2nd round), 43, 53 (both 3rd round), 71, 89, 107, 125 + salary cap relief/space

WinnersOnly wrote:Watch his highlight VIDEO people before bagging our recuitment team. He will be an excellent pick up and chances he would have been drfated well before Selection 12 at the draft. Lets not kid ourselves the AFL clubs are finally onto the benefit of drafting quality state league players over kids. PLUS we have the other two selections to work into the Brown and Hickey deals.

Well done SAINTERS !

I am certainly not bagging the recruiters as i know nothing of him. What I do know is highlights videos are a bit of a waste of time after all it is a highlights video. I also know one phantom draft had him 30 to rookie so so I doubt he was going before pick 12. We lost 12 picks in the draft. We will probably never know if we are in front or behind unless he is a star or a hack.
So Highlight vids are a waste of time but someone's phantom draft should be relied upon??

Tom Lee - some nobody from WA.

Will be this decades Barry Brooks - paid a fortune over the odds for someone that could have been picked up for a 3rd rounder.

Shocking trade.

But hey he is from WA so Watters would think the sun shines our of his arse.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

is there a link to any T Lee highlights ??

He plays short.

How many times have you seen him play a full game? None I bet. Wanker alert!

Brendan I hope you enjoy watching Tom tear your Bombers apart next year !

I believe players who leave chasing money rarely end up playing as long as they would have at there oroiginal club. As it works out their greed works against them extending there careers and in the end making less $$$ out the game than if they had remained.

Bye & thanks Brendan !
Last edited by WinnersOnly on Mon 08 Oct 2012 6:39pm, edited 1 time in total.

joffaboy wrote:Tom Lee - some nobody from WA.

Will be this decades Barry Brooks - paid a fortune over the odds for someone that could have been picked up for a 3rd rounder.

Shocking trade.

But hey he is from WA so Watters would think the sun shines our of his arse.
:o

Bit rich from you?

TAC future stars phantom draft had Lee going at pick 11