Vilification will earn you a lifetime ban

Re: Vilification will earn you a lifetime ban

The_Dud wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:29pm
But one thing you did bring up; do you think every Australian has now, and in the past had, equal opportunity to succeed?
No - I do not

But over-correction does not fix the past

Annoyedsaint

happy feet wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:45pm
Annoyedsaint wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:35pm
Ghost Like wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 7:37pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 7:07pm
chook23 wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 6:13pm
My father served AUSTRALIANS
Well written chook23!

As did my father, his father and his father before him, as did my mothers side of the family.
Both great grandfathers were killed in WWI & one grandfather in WWII.
An uncle blew his own brains out a few years after returning from Vietnam, as we now believe he suffered PTSD.
I am lucky that I was from a generation that did not have to serve.

It appears Anglophobia is alive and well on this forum :lol:
I thank them all for their service and sacrifice D.B. & Chook. My father was similar, wounded in PNG by the Japanese. Barely spoke about the war. In fact, the only 3 three things he spoke of in his ailing years was;
The Japanese Imperial Forces were not small men.
He gave blood to a Japanese POW, even knowing the atrocities the man's fellow soldiers were commiting on their surge to Australia.
When he died in 2012, he had recently been watching the news and mused to no one in particular, "This is not the country I fought for." I believe it was simply a thought out loud.

Make of this what you will but every day in this country has some value and merit, even if we do not agree with how we got to this day or what we want from tomorrow.

The strip for this year's Indigenous Round is a cracker & one I'll happily add to my collection.
The country is slipping to the socialist dogs.
But….things have been good for a long time so perhaps people need to struggle a bit again (goods & services prices, home loans, etc) to realise that socialism is a cancer and has not worked or been beneficial for anyone.

Great in theory, terrible in reality.
I think our country still has a lot going for it, but I think we are losing the long held notion that everyone who deserves a fair go gets one.

My Dad served with Tom Derrick VC in New Guinea and Tarakan. Dad never talked about the war much, but he said Derrick was Aboriginal and the bravest man he had ever met.
Comraderie. How it should be.

Everyone gets a fair go if you make a fist of it.
But it might mean getting out of your comfort zone or moving away from home. Find a way.

All I’m going to add to the Adam Goodes thing is that he got boo’d every disposal in every game for like 12 weeks or whatever that was.

It was unprecedented and extended for beyond a perception that he was a thug.

Barry Hall didn’t cop that level of boo’ing despite straight out knocking Staker out and punching Maguire in the stomach
Milne, arguably the most hated Saint to opposition supporters never copped that. That annoying Freo player whose name I can’t recall etc, Aker, none of them were close to that severity.

The stuff that happened with Goodes went far beyond ppl finding him annoying or thinking he was a thug

Annoyedsaint wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:45pm
Ample opportunity to at least attempt to do something with your life rather than wallow in self pity
Just in case you think I am wallowing in self pity and not doing anything about it - you could not be further from the truth.

My life is fantastic - I live a fruitful life with Love from family and friends

I also do not hide my light under a bushel

At the end of the day - Love given and received is the measure of a person

Annoyedsaint

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:51pm
Annoyedsaint wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:45pm
Ample opportunity to at least attempt to do something with your life rather than wallow in self pity
Just in case you think I am wallowing in self pity and not doing anything about it - you could not be further from the truth.

My life is fantastic - I live a fruitful life with Love from family and friends

I also do not hide my light under a bushel

At the end of the day - Love given and received is the measure of a person
Definitely not directed at you.
What you posted was terrific and should be the goal for everyone. Family and financial freedom and simple values.

skeptic wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:50pm
Milne, arguably the most hated Saint to opposition supporters never copped that. That annoying Freo player whose name I can’t recall etc, Aker, none of them were close to that severity.
Aker was a Lion - then a Dog - I think you mean Ballantyne or Crowlley (Freo's Bakers)

But - I agree - people did not boo Milne as much as Goodes - but I had to explain to a 6 yo in the Medallion Club why he was continually called a rapist (with a p not a c) by opposition supporters - one even hanging over the fence when he was taking a shot at goal.

Do you think Milne retired because he was cooked??? Do you reckon he might have wished this woman was Booing him?

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/ ... r.1012037/
In contrast to the Goodes issue; the commentators laughed the abuse off and humorously suggested that Milne was somewhat deserving of the horrible abuse he so often suffers at the hands of morbidly obese and chronically ******* stupid 'fans'. The footage was played on the big-screen at the ground and the Collingwood crowd, as a collective, joined in the laughter.

Please boo - I would rather that!
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Thu 11 May 2023 10:19pm, edited 5 times in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:47pm
But one thing you did bring up; do you think every Australian has now, and in the past had, equal opportunity to succeed?
No - I do not

Would you deny anyone the same opportunity to build the life you have?

The_Dud wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:56pm
No - I do not

I would not - AND THAT IS MY WHOLE POINT - it has got to the stage that SWM's cannot achieve - even if they are the best candidate - simply because of quotas.

Just see people as people - that's all I asked - but you cherry pick my post and think it is having a go - all I want is equality

Equal Opportunity should be that - not giving someone (no matter race, creed, religion) a 'leg up' to the exclusion of all others.

I also feel extremely pained by the Stolen Generation - but it was not only Indigenous mothers who had their children taken - It has been happening for generations that the daughter goes to visit the Cousins and comes back 'all better'. It was not done as genocide but by misguided people thinking they knew better.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:55pm
Aker was a Lion - then a Dog - I think you mean Ballantyne or Crowlley (Freo's Bakers)

But - I agree - people did not boo Milne as much as Goodes - but I had to explain to a 6 yo in the Medallion Club why he was continually called a rapist (with a p not a c) by opposition supporters - one even hanging over the fence when he was taking a shot at goal.

Do you think Milne retired because he was cooked???
Ballantyne that’s it.

No argument what they did to Milne was horrific too.

I wish ppl wouldn’t make things personal at the football. It’s a game after all.

skeptic wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:10pm It’s a game after all.
Sorry Skep - I thought you were a level headed person - It is not a game - It is TRIBAL

As I said in another post - my colours run right to the bone!

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:01pm
No - I do not

I would not - AND THAT IS MY WHOLE POINT - it has got to the stage that SWM's cannot achieve - even if they are the best candidate - simply because of quotas.

Just see people as people - that's all I asked - but you cherry pick my post and think it is having a go - all I want is equality

Equal Opportunity should be that - not giving someone (no matter race, creed, religion) a 'leg up' to the exclusion of all others.

I also feel extremely pained by the Stolen Generation - but it was not only Indigenous mothers who had their children taken - It has been happening for generations that the daughter goes to visit the Cousins and comes back 'all better'. It was not done as genocide but by misguided people thinking they knew better.
You agree that not all Australians have equal opportunity, and say you would not deny anyone that opportunity, but then seem very angered about modern society trying to close that “opportunity gap”?

The_Dud wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:18pm
No - I do not

You agree that not all Australians have equal opportunity, and say you would not deny anyone that opportunity, but then seem very angered about modern society trying to close that “opportunity gap”?
Woah Up There - where did I say I say that I was very angered about modern society trying to close that “opportunity gap”

I want equal opportunity - but that also applies to my 20 something White Son who is straight and not beaten!

Again Cherry Picking and mis-representing

Give us all the same opportunity - If a woman does the job as well as a man - pay them the same - if a man does the job worse - don't promote him - but DO IT BASED ON EQUALITY - not some bias.

Seriously - go and re-read my post - not through your 'hate' glasses and quote me where I said that PEOPLE should not be given the same opportunities

Then when you can't find it - stop looking at PEOPLE as being different - and start seeing them as PEOPLE - that is all the under-represented voice wants.

And maybe sprinkle in a bit of Love and Respect for EVERYONE
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Thu 11 May 2023 10:28pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:16pm
skeptic wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:10pm It’s a game after all.
Sorry Skep - I thought you were a level headed person - It is not a game - It is TRIBAL

As I said in another post - my colours run right to the bone!
Mine too but I don’t really hold genuine animosity for people due to their antics on the football field or carry on in the media.

Barry Hall is my most hated footy figure and I took some delight in watching him get knocked out in 60s by Sonny… but I’m sure he’s pbly a nice enough person in real life and I wouldn’t wish any will on him and nor does he make me scathe.

After 6 pages and it would appear most are in furious agreement that racism and bigotry doesn't exist.

And there's a lesson about the sacrifice of war in there somewhere too.

Have a listen to the old farts on the internet.

Surely it boils down to...

Try not to be a Kent.

Oh BTW

In Australia we don't experience true racism - where it runs to the bone

You may hear "I don't like Indigenous people - but Jimmy is cool" or words to that effect.

Try walking down the wrong street in Arkansas and being told "Thank goodness you spoke and we recognised your accent, because if we hadn't you were not walking home tonight"

Or I don't litter, I cannot afford to throw a can on the ground with my DNA on in case a white women is murdered in the area and my DNA pops

Or - I have to live - so I can teach my child the CORRECT way to speak to a policeman unless he says something wrong and is beaten to death

That does not excuse Australia's casual racism - but as I keep saying - See People as People and through Loving Eyes and the problem goes away.

Vortex wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:35pm After 6 pages and it would appear most are in furious agreement that racism and bigotry doesn't exist.

Try not to be a Kent.
And woe betide anyone who is a Dean Kent!

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:40pm
Vortex wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:35pm After 6 pages and it would appear most are in furious agreement that racism and bigotry doesn't exist.

Try not to be a Kent.
And woe betide anyone who is a Dean Kent!
and ironically it might have been the topic of Dean Kent that last grew 6 pages of vitriol on SS, and that was back in the day when there was more than 20 active contributors to SS, hell even the match day threads are flat out growing to 6 pages these days.

Racism is a marketable commodity. just ask Rupert.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:23pm
No - I do not

Woah Up There - where did I say I say that I was very angered about modern society trying to close that “opportunity gap”

I want equal opportunity - but that also applies to my 20 something White Son who is straight and not beaten!

Again Cherry Picking and mis-representing

Give us all the same opportunity - If a woman does the job as well as a man - pay them the same - if a man does the job worse - don't promote him - but DO IT BASED ON EQUALITY - not some bias.

Seriously - go and re-read my post - not through your 'hate' glasses and quote me where I said that PEOPLE should not be given the same opportunities

Then when you can't find it - stop looking at PEOPLE as being different - and start seeing them as PEOPLE - that is all the under-represented voice wants.

And maybe sprinkle in a bit of Love and Respect for EVERYONE
Sorry, your 50 line post out of nowhere full of capital letters and swear words seemed like it had a touch of anger to it.

Here’s a scenario.

Two people are born, person A and person B. They are born with the exact same capabilities.

Person A is born to a stable home and loving family. They are financially comfortable. Person A goes to the best school in the area where they can be fully dedicated to their studies and receive extra help when they need it. They work hard and earn top marks which gets them into their dream course at their chosen uni. Uni reflects school and they again graduate top of their class.

Person B is born to a broken home and abusive family. They go to the closest school to where they live and at a young age need to get a job to help support their family. Their time is split between work, school and caring for their siblings. They work hard and earn pretty good marks, but not quite good enough to get them into their dream uni course. They settle for something less prestigious, uni reflects school and they graduate with pretty good marks.

SD is hiring someone for a job, there is one position open, Person A and Person B both apply. They are still both equally capable, but one has better school grades, and a more relevant degree with higher marks.

Who do you hire SD?

The_Dud wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:51pm
Sorry, your 50 line post out of nowhere full of capital letters and swear words seemed like it had a touch of anger to it.

Here’s a scenario.

Two people are born, person A and person B. They are born with the exact same capabilities.

Person A is born to a stable home and loving family. They are financially comfortable. Person A goes to the best school in the area where they can be fully dedicated to their studies and receive extra help when they need it. They work hard and earn top marks which gets them into their dream course at their chosen uni. Uni reflects school and they again graduate top of their class.

Person B is born to a broken home and abusive family. They go to the closest school to where they live and at a young age need to get a job to help support their family. Their time is split between work, school and caring for their siblings. They work hard and earn pretty good marks, but not quite good enough to get them into their dream uni course. They settle for something less prestigious, uni reflects school and they graduate with pretty good marks.

SD is hiring someone for a job, Person A and Person B both apply. They are still both equally capable, but one has better school grades, and a more relevant degree with higher marks.

Who do you hire SD?
Depends on the job - but you are inferring for a position that requires a degree/educational standard.

If they are both capable of doing the job - I would hire the one who more closely met my needs - and who could spell - and pass my test:
https://www.studocu.com/en-us/document/ ... ns/4724663

I do not believe in hiring from a 15 minute interview - I like to work with people to get harmony

Do I strive for equality in my life to bring Person B to the same standard of living - absolutely - I have 2 rental properties in the inner SE suburbs - both with houses on 700+ sq metres of land - I ask less than $370 per week for them.

I also rock the thrift stores for bargains - sell the stuff and donate the proceeds back to the Op Shops.

I assume you think I would Hire person A due to the 'Old Boy Network" - and I am a member of that fraternity - but in fact Person B may be the nicer person. The nicest person in my life is a Person B who at 16 was paying the rent on the family Unit.

Oh - and when I was growing up in the 70's / 80's my parents were youth outreach workers to drug dependent people in Clayton and Oakleigh and they often slept one off on our couch and spent the day with us.

"You know Nothing John Snow"

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 11:07pm

Here’s a scenario.

SD is hiring someone for a job, Person A and Person B both apply. They are still both equally capable, but one has better school grades, and a more relevant degree with higher marks.

Who do you hire SD?
Depends on the job - but you are inferring for a position that requires a degree/educational standard.

If they are both capable of doing the job - I would hire the one who more closely met my needs - and who could spell - and pass my test:

I do not believe in hiring from a 15 minute interview - I like to work with people to get harmony

Do I strive for equality in my life to bring Person B to the same standard of living - absolutely - I have 2 rental properties in the inner SE suburbs - both with houses on 700+ sq metres of land - I ask less than $370 per week for them.

I also rock the thrift stores for bargains - sell the stuff and donate the proceeds back to the Op Shops.

I assume you think I would Hire person A due to the 'Old Boy Network" - and I am a member of that fraternity - but in fact Person B may be the nicer person. The nicest person in my life is a Person B.
Their differences when it comes to who meets your needs, spell and scores on your test, how nice they are and how well you get along are negligible. Their only discernible difference is one is much more ‘qualified’ than the other.

No accusations of ‘jobs for mates’ or ‘old boys club’ here.

Who do you hire?

skeptic wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:10pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:55pm

Do you think Milne retired because he was cooked???
Ballantyne that’s it.

No argument what they did to Milne was horrific too.

I wish ppl wouldn’t make things personal at the football. It’s a game after all.
But Collingwood supporters are not people.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 11:23pm

Here’s a scenario.

Who do you hire SD?

I assume you think I would Hire person A due to the 'Old Boy Network" - and I am a member of that fraternity - but in fact Person B may be the nicer person. The nicest person in my life is a Person B.
Their differences when it comes to who meets your needs, spell and scores on your test, how nice they are and how well you get along are negligible. Their only discernible difference is one is much more ‘qualified’ than the other.

Who do you hire?
Are you serious - bating to the extreme - I do not answer you in a way that you can say "Got you" so you keep pushing the question - narrowing the focus

You can keep going - I am not hiring Person A because of their upbringing - I am not Hiring Person B because they are perceived downtrodden

Qualifications in my world mean squat - if a job needs doing - I hire the person who does it best - if they are equal and they are both able to push my business forward - who knows - I hire them both!

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 11:45pm

Here’s a scenario.

Who do you hire SD?

Who do you hire?
Are you serious - bating to the extreme - I do not answer you in a way that you can say "Got you" so you keep pushing the question - narrowing the focus

You can keep going - I am not hiring Person A because of their upbringing - I am not Hiring Person B because they are perceived downtrodden

Qualifications in my world mean squat - if a job needs doing - I hire the person who does it best - if they are equal and they are both able to push my business forward - who knows - I hire them both!
A little surprising you couldn’t bring yourself to answer, tho I understand why.

By all available measurables Person A is the correct one you should hire.

Tho if you, SD, hire Person A, you are keeping your integrity but contributing to the cycle of inequity in society which you claim to be against, and if you hire Person B you are being a hypocrite.

So again, I understand why you couldn’t answer.

In the indigenous population the emergence of Person B was discovered only after 1969.

Person B cannot be a ward of the state or a British subject. That's what ALL Aboriginal people were for 150+ years in this country.

Prior to 1969 indigenous children were lawfully stolen (it was happening for decades) from their family by the Australian government for the purpose of assimilation. ..yes 1969!

A law by government wasn't going to change people's bias and bigotry overnight. Many white folk still had a sign out the front of their shop that stated 'No aborigines allowed '

The racial discrimination Act took another 6 years after that...

That still didn't mean any sort of equality. Most people's attitudes towards the indigenous folk and their prejudice had been ingrained by government policies for 200 years.

The 70's wasn't that much different to how indigenous people were treated for over 100 years. I'm willing to bet that a few people posting in this thread had already turned into adults by the end of the 1970's.

It's funny how people talk about equality and opportunity and conveniently forget that indigenous people did not have the right under law to self determination prior to 1969. They hardly had the right to live and breathe in Australia

The_Dud wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 12:36am
Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 11:45pm

Here’s a scenario.

Who do you hire SD?

Who do you hire?

A little surprising you couldn’t bring yourself to answer, tho I understand why.

By all available measurables Person A is the correct one you should hire.

Tho if you, SD, hire Person A, you are keeping your integrity but contributing to the cycle of inequity in society which you claim to be against, and if you hire Person B you are being a hypocrite.

So again, I understand why you couldn’t answer.
LOL - no - actually - you are the one describing a scenario that is not possible - there are not two people exactly suited for the role

But I am not being a hypocrite or maintaining integrity.

As per current laws - I am literally not allowed to know if someone comes up through hard knocks or through the Old Boys network except what they list on their CV.

So - as I said - if they are perfectly matched, and I can only hire one - I ask them about Umpires in AFL football - and then make my choice :wink:

But please tell me why person A is the person you should hire???? Aside from qualifications, which once you start work usually mean squat, they are after all perfectly matched in their ability to do the job as you stressed!
And please enlighten me as to why I am a hypocrite for hiring person B who can do the job as well as Person A?

I think you miss my whole philosophy on life - take away the A & B and you are asking if I hire Person or Person - and that, my friend, is how I see the world - PERSONS who make up HUMANITY

Maybe you do not have the same tolerance and understanding of the real world as you profess!